We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, a perfect wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #145 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My fiancé(at the time) and I stumbled upon this little gem one day last year when we were looking for a place to have our wedding. It doesn't look like much from the outside but once you walk through the doors to the courtyard, it's absolutely magical!

That day we talked with Gavin the manager and found out they do weddings there. We looked at two other places the next day and we decided The Inn at Sunset Cliffs was the place for us. We went back and booked the entire hotel for our wedding date of October 20th, 2012. They stayed in contact with us over the many months leading up to our date and were SUPER helpful in directing us to various vendors nearby who all turned out to be great. They also hosted a "mock" wedding one afternoon to showcase vendors and give you ideas on how to set the place up. That was a great idea and was very helpful to us.

They do lot's of cool little things also if you get married there. They asked us for a picture of the two of us and they put that picture on all the room keys for the day of our event. They let us store all of our supplies and decorations in the storage room a few days before the event so everything was on hand for the big day. This helped a bunch during set up. We put up lights over the pool between the two sides of the hotel. Augustine who is their main groundskeeper helped me do this which was awesome! They also ask you what you want the staff to wear on the day of the event and they will color code the outfits to your wedding if you wish. It's all the little touches like this that make this place so special. You just don't get service like this anywhere anymore.

On the day of our wedding, the staff was amazing! They are like a well oiled machine and had everything under control so we could just enjoy our day with our family and friends. I can't express to you all how helpful this was and how smooth it made everything go. There was literally not one thing I would have don'e differently, not one regret.

If you're looking for an amazing place to get married that is not overpriced but is fun and friendly, this is the place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice actually, just depends what you want to spend and if you need a kitchen or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlairSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Sunset Cliffs is the ideal place for a wedding in San Diego. As I told my son, the beach is the best place if a church is not an option. The staff was great, friendly and helped create a beautiful wedding. On the day of the wedding the entire property was reserved for us alone, so nice to not have strangers wandering through.

Room Tip: Room 208 with the full kitchen, living room and two bedrooms is great if you want to have a room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked a "Pool side Queen". The room was very small with just enough room for a queen sized bed and a small desk. The bathroom was adequate with a good sized shower. The room and bath had been recently renovated. The size of the room was OK with us as we spend very little time in the room. If you need more space suggest you book a larger room. The noise problem mentioned in some of the other reviews was not an issue as the hotel was almost empty during our stay - we were there on a Thursday/Friday. The hotel was well maintained with beautiful flower gardens pool side. The staff was helpful. Not much with in walking distance, though there is a good breakfast place one block away. Free wifi and parking. Good value for the price. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

It's a great place to unwind and be still. After our crazy Nevada, Arizona, to all over California road trip, it was a perfect treat to reconnect, watch the waves, and just be.

My husband and I booked the presidential suite as a treat for our first visit in San Diego. It was literally heavenly. I was happy to just sit on the comfy leather couches, with the windows open, covered in one of the soft blankets that they provide, and just listen to the waves and watch the pelicans go by.

Only wish the presidential suite had a kitchen as well. I think all the other suites did.

Service is great, and place has a feel of your own rented little villa. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Treat yourself, and get one of the rooms with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamRobardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great place to stay if you like the beach. The rooms are like small apartments with tiny living room and efficiency kitchen. Parking is easy. The only potential downside is that the bars are a little far to walk. This could also be a good thing since you are away from all the noise.

Stayed: November 2011
1  Thank sailor1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is the ONLY place to stay when in San Diego. The manager Gavin and his friendly staff were superb. You feel like you are staying in a private villa right on the ocean. The beautifully maintained flowers, and grounds make you feel like you are in Paradise. This is truly a peaceful, tranquil incredibly beautiful hotel. Trust me, you do not want to stay anyplace else in San Diego. You will come back time and time again, as I do. If I could give this property 10 stars I would. You cannot go wrong!!!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is superb. The view itself is worth everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is beautiful small hotel overlooking the ocean near Ocean Beach. The view of the ocean is amazing and we always tried to get back in time to watch the sunset. There are plenty of chairs and tables spread out around the two patios to soak up some sun, relax and enjoy the beautiful views. They also have a nice little heated pool to swim in. The landscaping around the hotel is filled with beautiful flowers. We stayed in nicely decorated and clean two bedroom unit with a living room that had plenty of room for a family of four. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. There is no direct beach access from the hotel but if you want to go to the beach there is a sandy cove that can be accessed from a stairway after a short 1 block walk.

This is our second time that we have stayed here and we would definitely stay here again on our next trip to SD.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank psc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#137 of 286 in San Diego
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#156 of 286 in San Diego
764 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 286 in San Diego
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £106 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing