We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #149 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs recently and had an amazing time. This place is so cute and the views are breathtaking!! In our past trips to San Diego, we would typically stay downtown. I am so glad we decided to try out a new location. This was such a refreshing change!! We were so comfortable and had such a relaxing stay. We will absolutely be going back! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    63
    20
    20
    11
See reviews for
112
128
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently stayed at this beautiful Santorini-inspired hotel while in San Diego for a business meeting. The hotel grounds are excellently maintained with beautiful flowers - step outside and you'll be surrounded by the birds chirping, brilliant flowers, a refreshing ocean breeze and the sound of crashing waves. As someone coming from the East Coast after a long, cold winter, I could not have enjoyed my stay more! All of the hotel staff are wonderful, pleasant and extremely helpful. We stayed in the Presidental Suite and were lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves every night. The room was clean and very well-appointed with simple, classy furnishings.
If you are in San Diego for work, the Inn at Sunset Cliffs is very conveniently located (approximately a 15 minute drive to the San Diego convention center). In addition, Ocean Beach is about a 1 mile stroll from the hotel, with plenty of quirky charm and varied eateries (there's a great farmers market to explore on Wednesday evenings). We will definitely be back to the Inn - thanks for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having grown up on just blocks away, I'd always wanted to stay at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs. Took advantage of a Groupon and was not disappointed. This is a Point Loma landmark and treasure. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. It was like a little apartment: 2 bedrooms, living area with small fridge, microwave and coffee maker and a clean updated bathroom. Furnishings were nothing fancy but the views and cliffside beauty were what it was all about. The grounds were immaculate, well cared for, welcoming and relaxing. The pool, fountain and garden outside our room added color and charm.

Room Tip: A bit of noise outside our northside bedroom window during the night was the only downside. May req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkp9389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma,CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I need to write this because of the price we paid for what we got here. Yes, I was so impressed with the lovely, charming landscaping and cute touches to the grounds here. As well as the lounge chairs to watch the ocean and birds right in front of you. It is an old set of buildings and they have done a great job on the grounds.
But the room....and the price we paid for it. I knew that I needed to let others know. For close to 250 dollars we got a one bedroom "suite" on the bottom floor back toward the beginning of the U shaped building with no view of the ocean. The room had a bad smell to it, which open windows only helped so much with, rust on much of the metal pieces, ripped lamp shades, and a toilet that barely flushed, and once overflowed. Not what I want for that kind of money. Some of the already old furniture was damaged. The TV channels were limited, and the screen was small. We woke up to a loud crying toddler and mom one morning; yes the walls are thin. Even that would have been OK if I wasn't in a tacky smelly...very expensive room.
My husband booked the room, not requesting a kitchenette, but the woman he spoke with convinced him that we would be happy with it. I just could not see how they could charge that much for this kind of room.
The hospitality could not have been better, everyone we met was sweet and helpful to us. But we could not get past the awful dark room.
So just know that you will enjoy your time here as long as you stay outside. Maybe there are other rooms that have been remodeled. If so, ask for them. It is a beautiful area to be in, but I regret paying a hotel price for a Motel 5 room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wine-country-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatSunsetCliffs, Manager at The Inn at Sunset Cliffs, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. Our apologizes go out to you and your guest. We are sorry you did not enjoy the room you were assigned. Remodels have continuously been taking place since new management several years ago. Rust is our worst enemy as we are directly on the ocean. The current remodeled rooms have no rust and I ensure it will not be coming back. I invite you back to our hotel to enjoy one of our recently remodeled rooms. Glad to hear you enjoyed the grounds during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I just returned home from an amazing weekending here for a wedding.
Parking: not much for parking, but to be expected in SD area.
Room: The room was very clean and well stocked with everything that we needed. A little on the small side, but spent so much time outside so didn't bother me. (They do offer bigger rooms)
Hospitality: the staff was very attentive and friendly. Anything that we needed they made sure to get it for us.
The Wedding: this wedding couldn't have gone any smoother. Everything was taken care of by the hotel event coordinator in a friendly, professional way. I would defiantly recommend this hotel for a wedding venue or just a weekend away. Can't wait for our next visit here.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanford, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Inn at Sunset Cliffs offered an amazing experience for our event over the past weekend! The wedding couldn't have turned out any better! The staff was extremely helpful and very patient with all of the guests. Room service was great and the hotel was very clean in every room I saw, which was more than half of the rooms in the hotel! The size of the rooms was another aspect that made it a great place to hold the event... there was more than enough room for all 8 bridesmaids and the bride... and the mother of the bride to get ready! There were a lot of great spots on the property to take pictures! The courtyard... the cliffs... the lower deck! Overall, the entire weekend was as stress-free as a wedding could be due to the helpful staff and the natural beauty of the Inn at Sunset Cliffs! I would definitely recommend it for both a wedding and a regular vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I traveled here with my boyfriend and 2 younger siblings (18 and 16). You cannot beat the price! There were 2 bedrooms and a pullout sofa, which was plenty of room for the 4 of us. There is a living room space, and lots of windows to open to feel the wonderful weather! The grounds are beautiful, and the scenery is breathtaking! The cliffs is a short drive, or walk, and is worth the trip to see the shoreline. It is a few miles to the beach and many of the downtown areas. We did rent a car, but parking was very limited; so we didn't want to lose our spot. We all love walking, so it was easier and more enjoyable. Overall, we had an amazing experience here and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#146 of 279 in San Diego
741 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#174 of 279 in San Diego
325 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
878 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#125 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Property: The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. Almost a brand new hotel and brand new oceanfront patio! No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing