We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpresidential suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
Ranked #146 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous situation on the coast. couldnt fault the view We booked Presidential Suite ..... sadly needs a few improvements before it gains presidential status and the $400 per night pricetag is disgraceful!
Faded heavy ancient drapes hinder the only set of opening french doors and as a result instead of the ability to bring the outside in which I was promised.... these doors opened a mere 4inches! The room is very public to the stairs. and to use the jaccuzzi bath youd have needed to deal with all these heavy drapes Nightmare!
The hinges on the bathroom door were totally corroded and no remote for the TV and one measly coffee sachet for the coffee maker
When I pointed these things out no-one cared a hoot!
A bit of time and investment would make the whole place a lot better!

Room Tip: sea view room a must but not the presidential its not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fabulous location on cliffs. Lovely rose garden around the pool terrace and out front. Staff were very helpful and friendly. No breakfast options, and so a long walk or drive to Ocean Beach necessary.
Issue is with the room. Poolside on ground floor- it was small, not absolutely clean and definitely in need of a makeover. Cracked sink; wallpaper re-stuck to wall poorly in bathroom; paintwork knocked about; tv lop-sided on its bracket. Appearance of lower terrace overlooking ocean was off-putting, too. It needs some building work, painting and some aesthetic improvement.
Overall, apart from the views, roses and staff, it appears a bit sad and needy at its current price-point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to go for a morning run alongside the cliffs. So be sure to bring your running shoes.Staff and management is amazing! They know their stuff so if ANY questions I would talk to them first especially if this is your first time in the area. Walking distance to ocean beach.. also if your catching a taxi anywhere..be sure to go through staff. They are contracted with a taxi company..and your less likely to get more charged and screwed. Bus route 35 is right across the street and you can take that to ocean beach. The queeside pool room is Nice and cozy, perfect for two. Like all other reviews the landscaping is amazing..and the deck area is a beautiful place to just kick back and relax. Be careful of the birds.. and yes.. we would stay here again! And also if you can.. try to stay here during a weekday as it is less quite and kids are in school till summer hits. Great place and we'll worth the money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Austin_1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently stayed at this quaint little place with Santorini inspired colors. It sits right at the edge of the ocean with a nice back patio perfect for watching the sunset. U can see the surfers in the distance. At night the sound of the waves lull you to sleep. We stayed in the two bedroom suite with a nice little living room. Rooms are very clean. The grounds of the Inn are so well kept. The lawns are beautifully manicured with lots of flowers. All of San Diego attractions are nearby although you will not want to leave the Inn once you are there. There are lots of nice restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driramhkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I spent two nights at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs this month for a relaxing getaway after a business trip nearby. What a great choice! The property is great -- AMAZING views, nice pool and courtyard patio. (I wish the weather was warm enough to have taken more advantage of it!) I was fortunate enough to be upgraded into a 2-bedroom upstairs, which is basically laid out like an apartment and would have been plenty of space even with another person or two. Some of the decor in the room is a bit dated, but everything is very well-maintained and clean. The mini-fridge and microwave were a nice touch.

The hotel's location is great -- it's in a more residential area, so it's quiet, but just a 10-minute walk takes you to the main strip of restaurants and shops. The manager gave me some great recommendations for food, but there are so many options that you can't go wrong. There's also a little cafe and convenience store right by the hotel, and a coffee shop half a block away. Just down the block in the other direction you hit a trail to walk along Sunset Cliffs, which is beautiful. There's some parking available and it seems like a good amount throughout the rest of Ocean Beach, so if you aren't a walker, a very quick drive will easily get you where you need to go.

Highly recommend the Inn at Sunset Cliffs and would return if I'm back in OB!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindz0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Inn at susnet cliffs is simply amazing. It has a great location next to the ocean with some great views. The staff is excellent, provides wonderful service and are very helpful. The place is surrounded by beautiful flowers which I was told were planted by the owner himself. That is a sign of a person who is dedicated to his hotel. The hotel also has a great location in san diego close to ocean beach, downtown san diego and cabrillo (which has a great view of all of san diego). The rooms are clean and well furnished. At night if you open your windows you can hear the ocean waves. The Inn at sunset cliffs is one of the best hotels i have been to in San Diego, I would definitely go back there again and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking about going to San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaspreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Sunset Cliffs on 3/19 for business. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel sits in the perfect location right on the ocean. The property is well maintained with beautiful flowers and plants throughout the hotel. The views from the hotel are spectacular. The rooms are clean and you go to sleep with the sounds of the ocean waves. The service is great too. You can't beat the location, as it is close to downtown, gas lamp, ocean beach, Sea World, and much much more! We will definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
1,069 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#134 of 279 in San Diego
220 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#160 of 279 in San Diego
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
348 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sunset Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sunset Cliffs

Address: 1370 Sunset Cliffs Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-3840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £122 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Sunset Cliffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Sunset Cliffs located in historical Point Loma, California. We are one of only a few San Diego hotels truly located on the Pacific Ocean, just steps away from Ocean Beach. Originally built in the 1950's, we have completed the hotel remodel in 2011, and the lower terrace in 2016 thus creating a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere to accommodate any San Diego visitor. No other San Diego hotel offers a view as breathtaking as from our spacious terrace overlooking the Cliffs, Ocean Beach and as far as La Jolla. The Inn at Sunset Cliffs is truly one of the only San Diego beach hotels that is actually a waterfront hotel. Oceanfront suites with the sea breeze just outside your door. Sea World is just a few minutes from us! Sunset Cliffs creates scenic atmospheres all year long, with million-dollar views everyday. Being a quiet privately owned San Diego hotel, we support our locals and want to help our community. San Diego Beaches are near, being just a few blocks away from us. Experience the great San Diego surfing with an awesome location to scope where to ride for your session just a few steps away from your room. Wake up to the sounds of the waves crashing onto our property. Look out at the Pacific Ocean to see the beauty San Diego has to offer. When you feel like relaxing, our two ocean view terraces allow you to view out over the horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kick your feet up and let the waves take you away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Sunset Cliffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Sunset Cliffs Hotel San Diego
Hotel At Sunset Cliffs
At Sunset Cliffs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing