We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Cabrillo National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Coastal Tour of San Diego
Ranked #8 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stately monument honoring Cabrillo, discoverer of San Diego Bay, is located in Point Loma that overlooks the city and the Bay.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,340 reviews
1,843 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,904 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The views here are astounding, the monument itself is very interesting, and the exhibit at the visitor center is very informative and holds your interest. There are many other interesting things to see there, too--a light house, military barracks, and exhibits for both.

Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    1,107
    171
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Detroit
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Do if you're going to SanDiego”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The surrounding area and beautiful ocean views is what really makes this special in our opinion. There is an area for kids to explore sea life and the walk in the surrounding area includes some breathtaking views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Intothenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great View”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This monument is at the tip of Pt Loma which provides amazing views of downtown, Coronado, the San Diego Bay and the Pacific Ocean. This is a park that has great hiking trails with access to the bay side and the ocean side with stunning views all around. This is a must see stop when you visit San Diego or a continuous stop if you live here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOhn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was such a nice surprise. I found it on Groupon (the Groupon didn't work, but it got us to the park-LOL). Only $5 per car and a nice view of the area, the lighthouse and the museum. We took the hike down the hill, which wasn't as bad as it looked because the path was very gradual and well maintained. A seal entertained us while we rested on one of the benches that were spaced nicely throughout the hike. As we glanced over the bay, my husband noted that we were staying across the bay, pointing out our resort. This was the exact cliff we had been admiring from our beach-LOL! Don't miss this gem.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is out of the way but worth driving to in order to see the lighthouse. There's a sign that says "tide pools" but on the day we were there, there weren't any.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CentauraHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabrillo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing