We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabrillo National Monument

Cabrillo National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.72*
and up
San Diego GoCar Tour
Ranked #8 of 424 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stately monument honoring Cabrillo, discoverer of San Diego Bay, is located in Point Loma that overlooks the city and the Bay.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Drive to the top and take in the spectacular view of both the San Diego Bay and the Pacific ocean. There is a lot of ship activity to watch as they move in and out of the bay. The tide-pool area is also quite lovely, but you need good shoes to climb around the rocks. I didn't hike, but there are wonderful trails. It's worth the drive just for the views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TehdeeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,244
    1,053
    165
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,237 reviews
1,777 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,876 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The views here are astounding, the monument itself is very interesting, and the exhibit at the visitor center is very informative and holds your interest. There are many other interesting things to see there, too--a light house, military barracks, and exhibits for both.

Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Detroit
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Must Do if you're going to SanDiego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The surrounding area and beautiful ocean views is what really makes this special in our opinion. There is an area for kids to explore sea life and the walk in the surrounding area includes some breathtaking views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Intothenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This monument is at the tip of Pt Loma which provides amazing views of downtown, Coronado, the San Diego Bay and the Pacific Ocean. This is a park that has great hiking trails with access to the bay side and the ocean side with stunning views all around. This is a must see stop when you visit San Diego or a continuous stop if you live here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOhn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was such a nice surprise. I found it on Groupon (the Groupon didn't work, but it got us to the park-LOL). Only $5 per car and a nice view of the area, the lighthouse and the museum. We took the hike down the hill, which wasn't as bad as it looked because the path was very gradual and well maintained. A seal entertained us while we rested on one of the benches that were spaced nicely throughout the hike. As we glanced over the bay, my husband noted that we were staying across the bay, pointing out our resort. This was the exact cliff we had been admiring from our beach-LOL! Don't miss this gem.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabrillo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing