We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 33 San Diego B&B and Inns
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fabulous family visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My recent trip to San Diego to visit my great- nephew was a delightful experience. My sister and I stayed with Carole and her son Michael, the cook. Their home is charming and the hospitality rivals any grandmother's best. They both went out of their way to accommodate us and our quirky, late hours, they helped us secure parking, left the lights on, and in the morning, we were treated to delicious breakfasts, well worth getting up for especially on Sunday when the strawberry waffles made me smile with delight. The place oozes charm with old family photos, memorabilia, lovely antique furnishings, pretty dishes, and they truly made you feel you were welcome to stay and chat, relax and read a good book, or they would help you to plan your day with local tips and travel brochures. Thank you Carole and Michael:-)!

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely, we chose one closet to the bathroom, but none are far in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    20
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
23
47
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Guest Reviews | write a review
At A Glance
100% would stay again
add your review
5 of 5 hearts 1 review

Excellent
1
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0



I had a very nice stay at Caroles Bed & Breakfast Inn in San Diego Carmel. The B&B was very charming, comfortable, relaxing and peaceful. The people were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and very tasteful - I have never stayed in such a comfortable room as their Casita room before. We enjoyed easy walks to wonderful shops, restaurants and easy trips to downtown, Sea World and the San Diego Zoo. They had a delicious breakfast on location that we very much enjoyed! I will come back soon. A very charming and peaceful stay!

Room Tip: The Casita is perfect for a "Great Escape" weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seymore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My partner and I had a lovely time staying at this quaint house on the East side of Balboa Park. I was concerned that it might be to far from the beaten path, but it turned out to be the perfect spot to catch the bus and go all over town. We didn't have to rent a car and only used taxi's a few times. Carole and her family are funny and kind and Mike makes an amazing breakfast! Thanks for the hospitality! We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: this B&B has multiple rooms with different features, there is something for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyRoadBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We like to think we are pretty centrally located which helps out getting around, so it's great to see you found your way around to many places. We will always strive to be the most kind, comforting and humorous bunch of Bed and Breakfast owners, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Charming and comfortable, Carole's B&B Inn is convenient to public transportation for getting around San Diego. Carole's gracious hospitality and Michael's fantastic, home-cooked breakfasts add to the appeal. We stayed a week, visiting the local spots they recommended in the area, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanart1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We really love our city and when guests get to stay a week they really get to see and experience a bit more than the short term stay guests, so we're always happy to get to extend our help in finding things to do and see :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Can't say enough about the beautiful time we had at the Inn!


Three days in San Diego and we chose to stay at Caroles Bed & Breakfast.The amenities were by far the nicest we have ever experienced from any other inn. The Casita is an Oasis, separate from the main house. Secluded with its own private entrance and patio garden. Our stay here made our trip to San Diego special. The Casita house was wonderful and the bed was so comfortable. The bedroom was not enormous but immediately felt like our home away from home. Clean and beautifully furnished and there was a separate lounge & kitchenette area- all to suit most seasoned traveler. Breakfast in the main house was excellent and served by the Master baker Michael O'Brien. Co-owner Carole Dugdale was so helpful and it was interesting to hear the history of the house as well her spot on insights of local dining establishments. We loved San Diego and it was made all the more special by our stay at Caroles Bed & Breakfast. We will be back soon.

Thanks for giving us such a wonderful time!

Robert & Linda

Room Tip: The Casita will always be our first choice but if not avaliable the rooms in the main house are equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orobert4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
So fun to see you enjoyed your little "Oasis". We try and have a nice courtyard in hopes people will see it as another little entrance to their accomodation :) Glad to see you enjoyed your stay in La Casita and hope to see you back in San Diego soon enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have to travel with my job and stay in some amazing rooms but never quite feel rested. i stayed with carol and her son in their b&b and slept like a log from the first night and for 2 weeks beyond, felt like a queen coming down to amazing breakfasts every morning . they were totally accomidating the whole 2 weeks. i stayed in the mayors room which was very large and roomy .the bath room was large and roomy also. i truly hated to leave ,tried to get adopted by carol so could stay. didn't work but i will definitley be going back and stay in my home awaw from home. thank you carol and mike.

Room Tip: they are all great but i like the mayors room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolesbnb, Manager at Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
It was lovely having you for your stay and lovely hearing you enjoy it so much! If we didn't already have such a family involved operation i'm sure my grandma would have loved to adopt you on the fly. Have a wonderful spring and hope to see you again in lovely San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I've been to many B&B's and this one is ranked high. Not fancy, but very comfortable and delicious home cooked breakfasts. Carole and her family run the property and go out their way to make you feel at home. If you like to be in one of San Diego's fun neighborhoods, this is a great central location with parking. Very close to Balboa Park and downtown. Thumbs up!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Hotel Vyvant
#4 of 33 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 3227 Grim Avenue, San Diego, CA 92104
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely historic home in North Park has been home to Carole's BNB for over 28 years, where guests from all over the world have come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing