We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read all the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 34 San Diego B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I stayed at this bed & breakfast for one night. I did not make the arrangements, and usually do when I travel. I am very sorry I did not read the reviews....had I read them, I would have made other arrangements. I suggest before you make your reservations, read the reviews.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank bijou59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2008

This was our first B&B experience and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our studio was surrounded by a mexican tile garden which I used to read in the mornings. Carole's is in a nice residential neighborhood with easy acces to the beaches, including Coronado beach, and downtown. It took us 10 minutes to get to the beaches. We are not early risers, but woke up every morning for the delicious breakfasts cooked by Michael, the co-owner, who by the way is a wealth of information. If you like being away from crowds and like the feel of staying with friends, this is the place to stay. The gardens are lovely. Although it was a little cool for swimming, our 8 year old enjoyed one evening swimming in the pool.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank ehshuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Cozy and delightful, Carole's B&B is centrally located. We enjoyed privacy, but could have just as easily socialized around the yummy breakfast or warm living room. The salt water pool looked inviting, but the weather was a little chilly for us. Carole had plenty of info on local restaurants and nightspots, many within walking distance in this charming community.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandCSandiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

Carole's B&B is a decent place to stay if you enjoy the B&B concept. Carole and her son Michael have two properties across the street from each other; part of the B&B is in the house itself and the other half is across the street. We stayed in the Garden Studio 1 for three nights ($139/nt), which is not located in the main property, but across the street, with parking behind the second property. It was a little dingy, dated, and did not include typical amenities such as air conditioning. The bathroom is tiny, so it runs on a one-person-at-a-time concept. There is a small TV with cable and ample space for luggage. The furniture is not contemporary at all, and the decor is sort of old-timey, faded, and garage-sale-y. The beds are OK, the pillows are great, and the linens are somewhat dated (a quilt and a sheet, pretty much). At least for the studio, the pictures on the website are accurate.

The charm of the studio property is that you have your own entrance, a small refrigerator, a very small kitchen sink, some utensils, and a microwave, so it's not bad for an extended stay. Our garden studio had one queen bed and a sofa. There is small bistro-style seating and nice landscaping right outside your door. There is also an extensive garden out front of both properties and it is like staying in your Aunt's house in a typical San Diego neighborhood, but one where a housekeeper comes around 10 AM.

The main property has several rooms and a formal dining room, where small portions of fresh fruit and a hot breakfast item are served in the morning. Our chief delight came from the new saltwater pool, which has been remodeled recently. There is a pump and ample flotation toys, and we spent hours in there after coming back from the beaches. Carole was knowledgeable about the major San Diego attractions and was able to give us good directions to everywhere we wanted to go.

The biggest reason to stay here is the convenient location, within 8 minutes from downtown and 5 minutes from the Zoo and the museums on Pershing Drive. There are plenty of all-night diners and restaurants nearby as well, right past the North Park area. We have stayed in much nicer, upscale B&Bs, but this one was adequate for our needs and we had a pleasant stay thanks to Carole and Sean.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I really enjoyed my stay at this unique B&B. Carole's gracious hospitality and delicious simple breakfasts were a real delight. I also met some really interesting people. If you are looking for the typical modern or upgraded historic B&B chic, this is not the place for you. Carole, a lovely elderly lady, has opened her home and a few other rooms across the street to the world - a home bought decades ago and not modernised in any way. It reminded me of the homes of some of some of my aunts and uncles. I felt quite comfortable, even though it does have a very old-fashioned feel to it. Although not a bright space, I saw no dirt, was not bitten by anything, and my needs were adequately met. I used the economy room, and although it was tiny in a house across the road, it was perfect for me because I was at a conference all day and needed to sleep there only. When it was hot I was able to use the fan provided, and slept really well. Thanks to Carole for her hospitality and willingness to help her guests feel at home!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revbethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Carole, the owner, was a very nice lady and her home is a lovely old house. However, this bed and breakfast has so much more potential. The house needs a lot of TLC. It could use a thorough cleaning and is in need of repair.

Although the room had a ceiling fan, the abnormal high temperatures made the heat in the room uncomfortable. A portable fan may have made it more pleasant. The mattress was uncomfortable and the bed was noisy.

The bathroom was not filthy, but it obviously had not been cleaned properly recently. The pool is uninviting and obviously pretty old. The water was not clean and there was an oily residue floating on the top.

Breakfast was a plus! We were served baked french toast that was delicious! I should have had seconds!

Carole is a sweety, she waived the minimum two night stay fee and was more than willing to answer questions. However, I am real particular about cleanliness and this bed and breakfast fell way below my expectations. I would not stay again. Nor would I recommend a friend.

Thank Yuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se proprio ci volete andare esigete le stanze della casa principale
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#66 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 3227 Grim Ave, San Diego, CA 92104-4656
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range: £112 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely historic home in North Park has been home to Carole's BNB for over 28 years, where guests from all over the world have come to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Carole's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing