We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to stay unless want a noisy and very small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center
Ranked #155 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent one night at this comfort inn. I have to say the front desk personnel were friendly and the hotel was clean. However, the room is extremely small. When earplugs are provided for you on the nightstand, you know it isn't going to be quiet place to stay. It was clean and sufficient but unable to open the window for fresh air.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evans1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Welcome the the center of the city. Yes, It can be noisy outside. However, the only rooms that get a little noisy face the street. All of the other rooms are very quite. I am glad you found our hotel clean though. Best, Cris Vasquez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the AACR annual meeting. Before reserving I knew that the location was prime in downtown, and close by convention center. It is like 10 minutes walk to the convention center and lies in the middle of live city.
Like all my review I will break it down in Pros and cons as follows:

Pros: - Located in a prime location, in the center of the city.
- All the restaurants are at walkable distance as well as the easy to get a cab too
- The hotel has a huge complimentary breakfast
- Bars and other hangout places are close by as well so that you can enjoy the live city
- Staff is very friendly
- Very neat and clean hotel
- I think it has been renovated so all the room have new TVs, microwave and fridge.
- Our room had Flat TV, fridge, microwave, brand new seating chair and good furniture

Cons: - Since, the hotel is in downtown location the rooms are smaller (really not a "con")
- during weekends the city tends to be loud so you might hear noises outside the room
- Really nothing else I can think off, every thing was perfect

Overall, it is a good hotel except the rooms are smaller and the hallways are little darker. Other wise the hotel is good for the money in a prime location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepkamal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

This is a very nice review. I appreciate your business. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you are looking for a place with convenience, the Comfort Inn Gaslamp is a great choice. it is just a block away from the main bars/restaurants of the Gaslamp district. The area is safe and also a fairly easy walk to catch the San Diego Trolly Train.

The hotel itself is a bit old but has been remodeled. Only so much you can do with an older hotel though. The rooms are a little small and the sink is near the bed. The rooms can be a little loud at night with the AC running but it isn't terrible. The breakfast is good with a great assortment. It is the typical hot breakfast that you find with Comfort Inn hotels. No pool and not balcony...so you will have to find alternatives to get sun :)

But overall, if you are looking for a good value and your main focus is location, this is a great place to stay (especially if you don't have a car).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-Rad_TwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very centrally located in San Diego's famous Gas Lamp district. Tons of bars and restaurants within walking distance. This is your basic, no-frills budget hotel. The rooms are small, but clean and well maintained. The interior looks a bit dingy but it's clean and suitable. The hotel staff seemed helpful. No complaints here. Because the hotel is centrally located near so many bars, it can get a little noisy at night so you may want to bring earplugs. There is also $14 day parking across the street if you have a car.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Clean and well maintained.... That has always been are number one priority. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A perfect little hotel in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp, fantastic for getting around on foot.
Very close to transit (easy way to get about SD) and Balboa Park, Petco Park, etc. Super friendly staff, rooms are clean, just the right size, fridge and nuker included for those who don't feel like eating out every day/night.
It'll be the place to stay next time I'm in San Diego.

Room Tip: Make use of the earplugs provided if staying in a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheaplaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

more than 60% of the people who stay with us have stayed with us before. We really appreciate your business and look forward to you stays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights while attending a medical convention. The location was walkable to the convention center. The price was 20% less than other hotels. They offered a free buffett breakfast.
All true.
But the hotel gets very ugly the moment you step past the lobby. The halls, carpet and doors look like a dilapidated YMCA. You feel "unsafe" because of the ghetto look. The room was tiny. The A/C was a noisy window unit. You can hear all kinds of sounds all night. The bathroom has a plastic floor and cheap shower/bath insert.
Worst of all the carpet was old and sticky....yuck.
You could do better for $20 more or a few more blocks of walking out from the convention center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneezenwheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We apologize. We are a very busy hotel and we take any opportunity we can get to steam clean our carpets. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of the hotel. This month alone 60% of the hotel carpets have been steam cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We weren't sure if we were going to stay another night in San Diego having moved on from a cool and misty Coronado so we hadn't booked a hotel. We came across this Comfort Inn whilst walking around the Gas lamp area and decided to go in on spec to see if they had a room for the night. We were shown a couple of rooms by a really helpful member of staff and decided on a room at the back overlooking the hotels car park as it was likely to be quieter. The room was well appointed it had a fridge and microwave although we didn't use the latter, not even to make the popcorn which is the 1st time I've ever seen sachets of that in a hotel room!
Breakfast had the best selection of food available in any of the hotels or motels that we stayed in during our time in California.
I can definitely recommend this Comfort Inn and would certainly stay here again if ever in San Diego.

Room Tip: Liked this 3rd floor corner room overlooking the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseybean50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcomfortSanDiego, General Manager at Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Horton Grand Hotel
#68 of 278 in San Diego
870 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center

Address: 660 G St, San Diego, CA 92101-7029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £71 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Items served for breakfast: Regular scrambled eggs, eggs with cheese, hard boiled eggs, sausages, regular waffles,strawberry waffles, fresh strawberries, three types of juices, coffee, tea, SIX types of cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, Yoplait yogurt, danishes, Thomas English Muffins, bagels and condiments galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gaslamp / Hotel San Diego
Comfort Inn San Diego
San Diego Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing