We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, limited service”
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Pensione
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It's very affordable, especially for the great neighborhood it's in, but in return you have to expect small rooms and limited service. The parking in the garage is limited, and we weren't able to get in there until the second night of our stay, but because we stayed 5 nights, they waived the parking fee! We also had an issue with housekeeping not coming around until about 4 pm, by which time we were back in our room for an afternoon rest. Other than that, all the staff was nice. The front desk printed our boarding passes for us (as they do not have computers or a printer in their business center). Our room was small but clean and even had a tiny fridge. Lots of great restaurants nearby in Little Italy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank circularmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello - we appreciate your staying with us and taking the time afterwards to write us a review! We're happy that we can offer such great rates, especially compared with other hotels in downtown San Diego. We also have rooms with two beds, which are considerably larger than our standard rooms with one bed. We're happy to reserve one of those for you for your next stay. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for La Pensione
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

I saw a good deal on this hotel from Expedia and booked. The room was small but sufficient, very nice decor and clean. The room also had a mini fridge. The sink was in the room, shower and toilet in the bathroom. The location in Little Italy was great. It was also close to the County Line/Little Italy San Diego trolley station (3 blocks). I would recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank legacytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for selecting us on Expedia and for taking the time to write a review! Glad you took advantage of the trolley line. It's one of our favorite ways to get around without a car. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My Husband And I Had 3 Days In San Diego And Were Looking For a A Quaint hotel Within Walking Distance To Shops and Restaurants. This Hotel Was Perfect! The Rooms Are Very Clean And Homey! The Bed Was Very Comfortable And The Shower Was Fantastic. The Pictures From The Web Site And The Virtual Tour On The Web Site Represent This Hotel Exactly As It Is. The Staff Had Great Recommendations For Restaurants And Trolley Information. We Couldn't Be More Pleased That We Choose This Hotel. We Love The Family Atmosphere Of Little Italy And This Hotel. If You Are Looking For A Place To Stay For A Romantic GetAway... You Will Not Be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for the glowing review! It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband and we hope you have a chance to visit us and the rest of Little Italy soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

What can I say? We had a great time in this hotel! It was a great find and we had such a great experience there. When I first saw the hotel listing for LA Pensione, I was skeptical because the rooms looked small. Luckily, it was offering 50 % off at the time so I decided on staying since it was a one night stay. I was not disappointed! We arrived and the check in crew was fantastic! Andre (or Andrei I'm not sure) was the best! He was very friendly and personable and made sure that I got my I. D. when I accidentally dropped it in the lobby. Very great service! He deserves a raise! Now on to the room! The room! It was very cozy and clean. Small but clean. The perfect size for a couple to just relax in. Everything was clean and tidy and the decor was modern but homey. The bathroom was also very clean and featured a rain shower which was awesome! The proximity to the bay was great but the neighborhood was better! What's not to love about little Italy! And I definitely recommend NApizza if only for their canolli's which were awesome and fresh just like everything else in the restaurant! Being in a prime spot in little Italy, we were able to just walk around and enjoy our time stepping into the bars and pizza joints (which are all amazing) in little Italy. All in all one of my best trips to san diego! I am definitely looking forward to staying there again! To anyone from LA Pensione reading this, your staff is great we love you guys! Grazie tanto!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Grazie tanti to you, too!

You made us smile knowing that this was one of your best trips to San Diego. Thank you for picking us as your hotel and also for taking the time after your trip to write us a review. Fingers crossed that we'll see you again soon!

PS. We love the cannollis too. Can't get enough of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is in a really good location and looks to have been renovated recently. The room was tiny though so fortunate that were were only there to sleep.

The service on check-in was poor, we asked the lady about parking and it seemed like she really couldn't be bothered telling us. We had to go out onto the street to ask people about the parking restrictions.

There are plenty of great restaurants nearby and the area has a really relaxed vibe.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying a little more for a larger room if you plan on spending time in the room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi, we're glad you had the chance to visit us from across the pond! Thanks for the review, as well. Yes, definitely if you want to spend more time in your room, we have rooms with two queens that are pretty spacious (there's a picture on our Website). So, we have options. So sorry about any perceived rebuffing at the front desk, we'll discuss that with the woman who checked you in.

Thank you again for visiting us and for leaving us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Loved proximity to Harbor, a few blocks walk, and easy drive a few miles to zoo. Parking underground,was great for us as we wanted to walk.most places..Little Italy great food, Buon Appetito and Mona Lisa.for market items too.

when signed in, were in one room, then another clerk assigned us to a different room. Above street leveln ,noisy, burnt odor in room. Three trips to desk, finally moved to 4th floor room after 10:00 pm, quiet inside, could hear hum from above though, maybe roof h/c system, but we slept some. Each modern room was lovely, bed fine. If you are not a light sleeper, and hvac works well, then this is a perfect place, Parking fine under hotel. Staff also very considerate.
Little Italy Restaurants excellent.

Room Tip: Away from street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsnetnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review! Sounds like you had quite a fun time exploring San Diego and the restaurants in Little Italy. Thanks for your patience with moving your room and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was lovely - small rooms, but well decorated and with great AC. Lovely staff - so friendly! Made me feel at home.

The only negative that I found was the lack of in-room wifi, but moving to the public spaces was not a big deal as the people were friendly and the cafe had hot coffee. :) The business centre was also well equipped and useful for wifi use.

Location-wise, the hotel can't be beat - it is right on India at West Date and the whole block is restaurants and nightlife. In the morning, the cafes and streets are filled with locals speaking English and Italian, giving it a very Euro vibe.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinospizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for your feedback! We're happy that you were able to take advantage of the cafe's free wi-fi and their stellar coffee (you'll find us there often too!). Thanks for your flexibility with the Wifi - we're currently looking at options for our guests, but agree that working downstairs in the courtyard definitely gives off a Euro vibe. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#128 of 278 in San Diego
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W Date St, San Diego, CA 92101-2526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £90 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing