We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Pensione
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
170
256
98
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
256
98
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallfarmers marketindia streetlittle italygreat locationcoffee shop next doorthe cafe downstairsquaint hotelunderground parkingtrolley stationbudget hoteleach morningbalboa parkrestaurants and barsgaslamp districtqueen bedclose to the airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel, dead smack in the center of Little Italy, is not a bad choice. The rooms are very small but are clean, comfortable and modern. Mine had a queen bed, small fridge, and flat screen TV.
Since it was just a place to sleep while in San Diego it worked out fine.
Step out the door and you are in Little Italy, restaurants and coffee shops galore, if you are here on a Saturday the green market sets up directly in front of, almost in, the lobby.

Room Tip: The street can be noisy, and there are not room darkening shades, so bring sleep mask.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuscany1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello from Little Italy! Thanks for your visit and for leaving us your review. The farmers market couldn't have picked a better place, right? We love having it right outside the hotel, it's one of the most visited in all of San Diego, so it gives guests like yourself a chance to mingle with the locals. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We loved this hotel, only complaint was the parking and not having enough time to spend here.
The parking didn't turn out to be a huge issue, but the underground garage which we were prepared to pay $25 a day for was full. Luckily we found a parking spot, which can be difficult in the city, but we parked a couple blocks away and dragged our luggage back.
The rooms are VERY quaint... some people would say tiny, but after traveling through Europe, I appreciate the simplicity and loved the decor. Very high-end finishes, a ridiculously comfortable bed and a waterfall shower made our stay enjoyable. The Wi-Fi was very spotty, as you're sharing from a connection in the cafe below... so just beware if you're on a business trip, you might have to go elsewhere for a better connection.
All-in-all, we definitely plan on revisiting this little gem, in the PERFECT location on Little Italy, walking distance to tons of shops and great restaurants, and only a 5-10 minute drive to downtown and all the great sites of San Diego!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for the review! We know parking can be a hassle, especially in a bustling neighborhood like ours. So, thank you for your patience with that. We're continuously looking for solutions, and we're happy we can offer such modest room rates in the meantime. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a lovely little hotel with lots of character in a buzzing little area.
The rooms are really attractive and very funky, but they are a bit on the small side. The shower in the bathroom was excellent. The hotel does seem to get a bit noisy at times as there is a courtyard below which goes through to the sidewalk. I would definitely stay here again as it's a really nice hotel and a very nice area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louweasle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello - thanks for visiting us all the way from across the pond! Next time you stay with us, feel free to request one of our larger room types, or even our double-queen rooms if you have more guests with you. We hope we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We picked La Pensione based on previous ratings and everything was bang on. Small rooms but spotlessly clean with basic but adequate amenities. Poor WIFI, but a quaint cafe below with good wireless (were offered a LAN cable for room access). Friendly staff. the location is fantastic, within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping. Half a block from Prepkitchen and across the street from Cafe Zuccaro (great for breakfast). Reviews of restaurants to follow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, street noise can be a bit loud.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeGirl4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks for the review! Glad we were "bang on" with your visit. Just like our guests, we love being in the smack, dab middle of Little Italy! Thanks for your patience with the Wifi, we're currently working on other options and in the meantime the LAN cables are always available to our guests. Another tip, if the city noise outside is a bother, is to request an interior room that faces our open-air courtyard. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you can stop by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I attended a medical conference in San Diego. I was out all day at the conference so spent very little time in my room and had no need of anything luxurious. For a good value, fairly basic hotel this was excellent. Probably not ideal for a family holiday. Beds were very comfortable. It is in Little Italy so several excellent restaurants are nearby. It is quite far from the convention center so I had to walk a long way, but this was fun and good for fitness. There are more luxurious hotels nearer the conference center but for good value this one is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Not really
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello - thanks for choosing us during your convention. We're happy that we can provide visitors, especially those traveling for conventions like youself, excellent value on your trip. If ever you want to rest your laurels (we know how tiring those conventions can be), we are just a block from the trolley stop, which takes you right in front of the Convention Center.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews