We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but small!”
Review of La Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Pensione
Ranked #135 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This little hotel was very nice. Quintessential European style. The rooms are very very tiny. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and updated. The shower however, is horribly small and has a rainfall water head-which means there's no place to stand but right under the water flow. Might want to ask for a room with a bigger shower if possible, to avoid drowning feeling.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Katherine,

Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback. We have a couple of room choices, and it sounds like you had one of our smaller room options. Next time you're in town, please give us a call directly and ask for one of the larger rooms, or if you're traveling with others, we have rooms with two beds which are very large for a boutique hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I believe I am starting to run into identifiable categories of boutique hotels. One, over the top and expensive boutique, and two, not so over the top boutique at a modest price point and still offering good design. Design schools everywhere say good taste does not cost more, and the La Pensione I believe walks that talk. Do not pay up for a convention hotel or down for a budget hotel, when a 100 bucks (or so) can beat those options. The room, small, but clean, with modern furniture, designer lighting, European shower, and a peak at the ocean from our window. All we need – just some fresh air in hotel design.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us this design-driven review! We spent so much time thinking out our design, how it would effect our guests' experience, and how to stay in line with our awesome room rates. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it as much as we did working on it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here last month and I left an item in my room. We called the next day and they had not found the item yet. We were told to call again because sometimes housekeeping had not turned it in yet. We called the next day and they said they had the item and we could send a self addressed stamped envelope. We sent the envelope and waited. We called to check and see if they had sent it yet. The gentleman we spoke with said he would look into it and get back to us. We never heard back from him. Its been 2 weeks and we still have not received it. We called again today to check and the girl who answered the phone said that the item wasn't there so "it must have been sent". We asked if they kept a log of items sent out and she replied they didn't do things that way. I thought maybe it would be a good idea to keep track of these things since many lost items are important to people. She didn't seem concerned at all. The item holds huge sentimental value to me. It was given to me as a child by my grandmother.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello,

Thanks for leaving us your feedback about your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience and the wait to get your item back to you. As you can imagine, we have a steady flow of items that are left behind by guests to stay with us, so thank you for your suggestion of a log to better track when the items are sent back.

I know you have received your item back by now, and am happy that it is at home where it belongs! Please feel free to ask for me directly if anything else goes array on any future visits with us. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As a solo traveller this one ticked all the boxes for me. Small room, yes, but beautifully decorated and laid out for the size. Location-wise it was perfect as it was just a couple of blocks to the trolley station, and the hotel is literally in the heart of Little Italy so plenty of facilities and restaurants and it felt pretty safe. Would definitely come back here again. Loved the little lobby and fireplace, and having a good coffee and pizza shop right underneath was a great benefit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Julie,

Thanks for staying with us and for leaving us your great review! We're thrilled our hotel was able to 'tick off all of the boxes'! We know how important safety and location are for solo travelers. In fact, if any of my friends or family were traveling solo, I'd want them to stay at a hotel like ours, too! We hope you'll visit Little Italy again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here April 13-15/2014 and found it to be a friendly, charming place. The front desk folks were very helpful and friendly with any questions we had. The hotel's location is GREAT, it was a $14 cab ride from the airport, it's within walking distance of the embarcadero, tons of restaurants and shops near by and it's a great value! The rooms are small...not gonna lie, but the beds are super comfy, clean and the room is nicely decorated. Parking can be tough in this neighbourhood but there is a bit of underground parking if you're lucky enough to get a spot (we were!). Also there's an awesome coffee shop downstairs! We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shmoopie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the cool value we offer. We know parking can be tough in any downtown, so we're happy you found a spot. Thanks for staying with us and for leaving us this great review. Hopefully, you'll get to visit us in Little Italy again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Right on the corner of Little Italy. Great atmosphere. plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Can walk to and get cab back from Gaslamp District
Room small but clean and functional. Staff friendly. Recommended.

Room Tip: Lower floor maybe better as elevator slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobfromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks for summing it up for us! We love being in the middle of Little Italy, makes it so much easier for our guests to walk to everything. We appreciate your choosing us, and for the review. Hope we see you in San Diego again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Well... I took a chance bought the Groupon deal and was very happy ! This paid off 100 fold for my risk ! This place reminds me of an Italian hotel we stayed in in Florence. Small compact modern decor. The best part it is IN LITTLE ITALY in San Diego ! Excellent coffee bar down stairs that serves the best Espresso in San Diego. adjoining that is an outstanding Pizza Bar and of course the remainder of Little Italy which is a delight to behold ! Only downer is the sub-garage is tiny, I mean TINY. built for the Fiat 600 and Mini Coopers we tried to park a Ford Expedition and it was a challenge every time. Other than that... this hotel is perfect ! and at a perfect price value ! They even have a "Hotel Dog" as a pet ! C&H

Room Tip: All seem excellent, higher floors (we were on the 3rd) have more breeze from the beach which is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahdiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#57 of 286 in San Diego
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#79 of 286 in San Diego
1,459 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W Date St, San Diego, CA 92101-2526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £85 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing