We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business or personal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #99 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed at the Hilton for two nights during a busness trip (not a conference). The hotel looks big and beutiful with the pool and spa and haveing a nice trail around the bay but there are too many cons that i would not stay here again.

Pros:
nice looking at the bay but in the middle of no where, nothing nearby that you can walk to. pool and outdoor firepits look nice, they were not on when i went
Staff was friendly
Room was clean
mini fridge in the room for keeping a few drinks cold
nice patio off of bedroom

Cons:
parking is $32/night for self park, no valet
Restaurant is kinda off to the side and very very expensive.
not many TV channels
No WiFi in room, there was a cord stuck to the desk that was dark and had a chair too small for the desk, uncomfortable plus $15/night.
bathroom ventilation was poor, i had to constantly wipe the mirror of steam,
there was no remote control, the clock was broken and when they fixed it they set it to PM so the morning alarm did not go off correctly.
i went to the 'cafe' to get coffee and i bite to eat and all three time it was closed.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the bay
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennir70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hello Jennir70.

Thank you for the comments. While the pros did not hold a candle to the cons, allow us to respond to a few of the concerns. We are definately addressing the communication to the parkting at $32. While we are inline with other beach resorts, we are trying to make sure that guests understand this before arriving. Wi-Fi will be upgraded shortly and hope that you used the breezeway to get complimentary access. Your meeting room should have given you access too- pending group access code. Yes, the restaurant is definately off to the side and hopefully you had a nice beach & bay view while dining. Sorry about the fixed clock and that we did not reset it correctly. That can be frustrating. Lastly, we are suprised to hear that Aroma Coffee was closed all three times that you went there. The hours are open until 1pm. We will look into that.

We hope that you consider returing someday from VA.

Our best.

mjs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,230)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,568 - 2,574 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

While the adage in real estate is location location location, it seems during this exhausting recession, hotels need to adopt the adage renovate renovate renovate.

This Hilton Resort has a wonderful location and the lobby, dining, and reception rooms are beautifully done in that Southern Californian Mission style that is utterly charming. However, our room had that 1970s modern look that is pretty cool when fresh, new, and clean, but depressing when dark, musty, and damaged by the ravages of time. It was begging for a renovation.On the positive side, the room was large and the bathroom ample. Sleep came early and lasted long due to the good beds.

The resort had a fairly nice gym, but the weight machines were not the best and were surprisingly cheap for this kind of resort. The locker room was sumptuous compared to the workout room. I also received the "California lassez faire" approach by the staff at the "Spa." As I approached the front desk, the staff person was on the phone engaged in a personal conversation and when I tried to ask her where the gym was located, she continued to talk and simply waved me to the left. I guess I'm "old school," and expect better service. I will say, the person who took our bags up to our original room, we switched rooms searching for better, was engaging and absolutely helpful.

The San Diego Hilton Resort & Spa could provide a memorable holiday experience with an influx of money to foster what the hotel needs to meet current standards. Let's hope this recession ends soon and the rooms can get that renovation.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms are not very nice and should be avoided.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are glad that you do feel the charm of the mission style hotel and feel badly about the additional remnant concerns. We are always trying to update our property and consistently add both soft and hard goods to keep up with both ambiance and technology. You are never wrong for expecting great service and we appreciate your "old school"
thoughts...we feel the same. We hope that you consider us again when looking at a great resort in San Diego.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

You can't beat the location of the property. Located on Mission Bay, the ocean front property offers a nice pool, ocean access, a great beach path to walk the bay, nice grounds and conveniently located to a large number of San Diego's tourist attractions.

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for a conference. The conference facilities were fine, but the the nice decor, linens and artwork in the rooms couldn't disguise how old the building is. It showed its age by having ill fitted doors(closet door wouldn't stay closed), few and poorly located outlets, and other inconveniences that newer properties don't have to worry about. Several(if not all, not sure) of the accommodations buildings are only stairs and accessed from the outside. Makes it challenging when you have a lot of luggage or event related items to pack in and out.

The food in the cafe was really good, and overall service seemed fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Hello there Bchgrrl.

We are glad that you stayed with us. Hopefully the conference was great success. You are right that the hotel is a bit older and as we are celebrating our 50th Anniversary as Hilton Resort, hopefully you recognize the charm of an established hotel.

Since you are local, we hope that you will come back and join us this spring and summer.

mjs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great hotel, we stayed in the bay front villas, they are very nice, had a bit of a musty smell but I think it was an overall smell of the area not particularly the room. The area is nice, but not really within walking distance to anything...so make sure you have a rental car. There is a great park nearby and the hotel sits on a very wide running/biking/walking path that winds around by the bay. This is nice, but it is very busy, with people using it almost all hours of day and night. To get to the pool, you had to walk on the walkway and us a key card to get into the hotel pool area.

The pool had a nice attentive staff, but it can take forever (10 minutes plus) to get your drinks when it's busy....as well the prices are a bit high for drinks and the restaurant is also a bit pricey.

All in all, we'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kctravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Thank you for the response. We understand our resort location can be a challenge for some, so this year we added shuttles to Old Town and Sea World.

We hope that you return again this Summer. BTW- I recommend the Chimi's at Old Town Mexican Cafe. Although Chef Hermann at the Hilton makes a great Tuna Tartar that is out of this world.

See you soon.

mjs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This Hotel is sweet. Great location. Great breakfast Buffett!
Staff friendly. Housekeeper Rosarita deserves a special mention as she went above and beyond to accommodate. She make me a raving fan! All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Great area to walk bike, run etc. workout room is dark but has everything you need and can be accessed. 24 hours.
Try it They have transportation all over to the sites you will want to see

Room Tip: Some rooms can be dark. Just ask for a brighter location. Your gonna want to enjoy the sun!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lulaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Aloha luluHawaii.

This post is exactly what makes our job worth it. Housekeeper Rosarita is a real gem and we appreciate your mention.

With that said, we hope that you return to use all of the amenity choices....including the sunshine that you rave about.

Sincerely.

mjs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked this hotel through Priceline and got a great rate. We were told about the $32/day parking rate when we called to request a specific type of room. For some reason we were not charged for the parking when we checked out which was a great surprise. The hotel is right off the I5 on Mission Bay, and is literally 5 minutes from Sea World. There is a free shuttle to Sea World that the hotel offers and we took advantage of it to save on the $17 parking fee at Sea World. The room was a nice size and included a fridge and a large flat screen tv, however the tv signal is still not High Def. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool area is great, and the pool is heated. The only complaint I have is there was no wifi in the room, there was an Ethernet cable for internet but it was useless with an ipad. There is free wifi in the lobby, pool and conference area and the connection speed was good. The staffs were friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for families looking to be near Sea World.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckster777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was our first time in San Diego and we booked this place directly through Hilton on a December "sale" rate.

Pros:
Beautiful location right on Mission Bay
Pool and grounds are well maintained
Central to many attractions (minutes from Seaworld)
Staff was friendly
Room was clean
There was a 'mini fridge' in the room for keeping a few drinks cold
There is an in-room small safe

Cons:
PARKING!... OMG $32/night!... no joke (for that rate there should be valet parking in a locked area...which there is not...it is simply self-parking in an unlocked area....)
Only one (nice but expensive) restaurant on site and no other options within walking distance.
Older resort is showing its age.
Very limited TV channels
No WiFi in room. WiFi was available in the lobby only.

Overall, our experience here was good. Kids liked the pool and hot tub. The hidden parking fee is a big detractor. $32/night is ridiculous and they can charge this because there are no other options nearby. Mission Bay Park has lots of parking, but there is a 'no parking' bylaw from 2am - 4am preventing anyone from over-nighting there. The fact that there is no WiFi available in the rooms kind of sucks too... It is 2012 afterall.

It was "off season", so the grounds were very quiet, which was nice, and the staff was very good.

We really only needed a place to lay our heads, so next time we come to San Diego, I am not sure that we would return to this place, especially if they don't correct the cost of the parking.

That being said, it was a nice place to relax after a busy day at the surrounding attractions.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank mbear78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltonmissionbay, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear mbear78

We hope you truly enjoyed the San Diego experience from Canada. The parking fee challenge typically happens when guests are not told in advance. We hope that the travel site, confirmation letter and arrival process helped communicate the fee. In regard to other issues, we strive to improve our hotel several times a year. This includes our newly refurbished conference center and upcoming upgrades to technology: including Wi-Fi, TV channels, etc.

Please come back soon.

Sincerely.

mjs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £142 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing