We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting on dock of Mission bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Ranked #99 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This resort was very nice! On Mission Bay - but still close to the ocean. The rooms were nice with exceptional patios, complete with comfy chaises. Fire pits off some rooms, and two near the pool which added ambiance, firewood sold at the gift shop for use on the beach or near the rooms. Pretty pricey food and beverage options, and they were only just preparing for "summer", so the bar at the pool was just opening, and they were gearing up for fun and games at the bay. We saw the Seaworld fireworks from our patio! Rentals of all sorts of water activities for all ages. It is convenient to freeways and all of the local attractions. Concierge was great- front desk staff was friendly and efficient, pool bar staff seemed busier setting up for "summer" than working the current clientele. Overall a great place - one we will definitely return to soon! Beds were overloaded with pillows and VERY comfortable!

Room Tip: Request single story room and enjoy the tropical settings of the courtyards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveydumplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you to our Hilton Resort and to hear that you enjoyed the experience so thoroughly. As you've noted, there's a world of relaxing and playful amenities to enjoy on site, and we'd love to create a return visit that rivals this first. Please be sure to reach out as you plan your return to San Diego!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 3,258 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel room was nice, the grounds were beautiful & any problems we encountered were QUICKLY resolved. The hot tub in the adult retreat was not working one night @ 9:30 p.m. & someone was there to fix it within 15 minutes. The only drawback was poolside service stopped @ 4:00 p.m. & the pool bar didn't open until 5:00, and I agree the coffee shop closes MUCH too early. However, we had an amazingly relaxing stay and would definitely return to this location.

Room Tip: There are many different types of rooms to choose from here: bay view with a balcony, outside fire p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for visiting and for reaching out with your review, Misty. We're happy to have hosted you and glad to hear that we might see you again. Please be sure to reach out to the team the next time you're headed our way; we'd love to create a return experience to rival this first.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very easy, convenient access to all major freeways..... glad we had a rental car. Stayed for 3 nights. Room was clean but dated. Loved the pool area and the kids enjoyed the Sea World fireworks, kids activities and bike rentals. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrknmom-of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to share such great feedback with us. We love hearing experiences like these, and we're thrilled that your family enjoyed many of the playful comforts of our resort. Join us again for s'mores or a dive-in movie the next time you're in the city; we'd love to welcome you back!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hubby and I headed down for some rest and relaxation. The valet/bellman greeted us and answered all our questions (good spot for dinner, attractions, etc.) upon arrival. Our room was bayside with a firepit (PS - don't forget to ask for firewood and s'mores ingredients (for a small fee).

It was awesome room and great location. Bed was super comfy, flat screen TV, room was very big with a small couch and wet bar. Slight noise from the room next door. Pool was great and we arrived later than we wanted and all the chairs were taken and the pool staff helped gather chairs and place them where we wanted for sun lounging. Lunch poolside was great along with adult beverages - couldn't ask for more.

Perfect room to sit on the lounger by the fire pit the next morning with a cup of coffee and watch all the people go by jogging, walking, etc. was fun. Although if you wanted to sleep in that noise might wake you up along with the people lakeside at night with their own firepits going.

Great stay - can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

It's such a pleasure to have hosted you for this getaway and to hear that our team and site made it such a relaxing one for you. We take great care to afford our guests with an unrivaled experience, and we're so happy to have accomplished this for you. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice rooms, not well located for bussines purposes (too far from some comercial area). Internet service bad coverage and lack of coffee after midday (the coffee shop close too early) and it becomes a little bit ackward to get it from the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We're glad to have welcomed you for this business trip, and we appreciate your time in lending us this review. It's a pleasure to be able to share our site with you, and the team would love the opportunity to showcase some of the transit options that will lend ease to your travels, and even get your paired up with the perfect cup of coffee in the process. Please reach out again the next time you're in San Diego!

Kind Regards,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Horrible experience. Before making reservations, I was told one thing and then after making the reservations, another said that wasn't 100% possible. Second person gave me attitude and continued to cut me off as I spoke. Asked for a microwave and they gave me an extra pull out bed. Called guest services 3 times got no answer. Went to the front desk at 1am to correct it and the doors were locked. Guy up front turned and looked at us then turned his back. Didn't even want to help us. Took about 20 minutes for us to put in our order for breakfast at the restaurant and another 20 minutes just to get our check. There were a couple spiders in the corners of the bathroom. Had a party there on the beach and they wouldn't let us park in an area to load and unload for a couple minutes unless we had a parking pass.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your time in reaching out to us, Anthony, and we apologize for any service shortcomings associated with your stay. This is atypical to hear of our team, and I'm sorry for that. We'd certainly welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experiences, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our management team at your next convenience. Thanks again for your time and continued attention.

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Having our plans change suddenly, I called the Hilton the day before. We needed a three night stay. They were wonderful offering us many options of rooms available. Once we got there, the front desk personnel were great. Explaining what amenities were available, dining, spa services, etc.
Spending a day at the pool was so relaxing. Poolside service, drinks and lunch, then off to the steam-room we went.
A shuttle was available, (a fee was charged that we were not made aware of, my only complaint) that brought us to a function in Coronado.
Turned out to be quite an enjoyable getaway.
We have recommended this hotel to many friends for an upcoming wedding this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonMissionBay, Manager at Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We take great pride in the outgoing efforts of our team, so we're thrilled to hear that their kind expertise made your impromptu visit such a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back and to showcasing even more of our site, city and signature hospitality, and we hope to hear more from you soon!

Kindly,
Don Dennis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,000 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa

Address: 1775 East Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-6801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#22 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Green Hotel in San Diego
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £123 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Resort And Spa
Hilton San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing