We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #147 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This resort is awesome!!! We stayed at the resort in January and were more than pleased! This is not the traditional "hotel" as your room is a unique "bungalow" style room. This means you do not have to deal with the rowdy teens making noise or listen to someone else's loud television. We stayed in a bayside bungalow that overlooks the bay. It was amazing.

It was obvious the room had been recently renovated creating a more modern feel with 2 flat screen T.V.'s and a huge bathroom. There was even a small kitchen area with refrigerator and microwave to keep leftovers cold and reheat them in the morning for a nice snack.

The bay has several fire pits available to the guests to have your own fire pit to roast marshmallows right on the bay. The private coves are exclusive to the resort guests which makes this portion of the bay very private.

The hotel staff are very friendly, we even got a welcome call from the front desk to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The gals at the gift shop were very helpful, even very knowledgeable of the the local attractions and the best way to get around town.

Kuddos to Paradise Point and their staff!! They made our vacation a pleasurable one!!!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask the staff questions. Everyone is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,781
    1,369
    971
    584
    534
See reviews for
2,209
1,054
84
1,127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The really great thing about Paradise Point is location, location, location! It's very clean, self contained, close to any amenities you'd want, the service is great, the spa is unforgettable and each unit is like it's own little property with wonderful views no matter which unit you get. Unlike staying in a hotel, this is property has the charm of individual dwellings spread througout the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lanai facing the ponds or the beach away from the pools and main pathways. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is truly a resort hotel on it's own island. The rooms are spread out so you really feel like you're on some tropical isle. The plantings help. My room faced right on to the water. What a treat to be able to walk right out the room door and be on the beach in literally two steps. The room also had a refrigerator and microwave. I have to admit I enjoyed using both and just enjoying my own little bit of paradise. There is a very nice restaurant right on the water with terrific views, a exciting menu, etc. But, a bottle of wine, some cheese and bread and I wasn't goin' anywhere. There's an outdoor place near the restaurant that serves breakfast right on the water. I'd love to know if there's anywhere else in San Diego where you can have breakfast outside on the water.

Room Tip: Remember this is a resort. IF you need hotel services, you might think about a room closer to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd2PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We loved the bay views. Full Capricorn moon over the bay just made our morning. Bed was so comfortable and room large with every need met.

Room Tip: Pick a bay view to appreciate the island experience. All are one story bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is clearly an old resort that has been very well maintained. We were able to upgrade to a suite upon arrival and we were pleased to find it was a bungalow, on the sand, with a fire pit perfect for roasting marshmallows. Our kids loved that part. We loved that it was modern and stylish.

Drawbacks: the little kitchenette has zero supplies. So don't expect as much as a paper napkin.
The TV get's terrible reception.
The door locked us out one night and we had to call maintenance. Thankfully we had a cell phone on us. We were at the fire pit and needed to go in due to light rain. They were able to fix it pretty fast and brought us two bundles of firewood to make up for the inconvenience.

Tip: if you are going to Seaworld, buy your tickets from the hotel shop. When we took them into Guest Services to get them converted from Length of Stay tickets to the year long pass the man at the counter said tickets bought at the hotel are the best because they come without a name printed on them. He said they can be used all week and then converted in to anyone's name for the year long pass. If you knew you would not be coming back but have a friend who is, you can put the friend's name on it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheClems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Great place to stay away from the main hotel areas of San Diego. Great restaurant for dinner there too.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the exterior grounds. That will give you a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo4unions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here a few times. Not cheap, but really nice. Pools, jacuzzis, even some waterfront sand. Service not bad, and the beds comfy. Nice tropical village feel, even on dry, cold California nights.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#153 of 278 in San Diego
3,311 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing