We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #133 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I traveled with our two young girls (2 and 5) to stay at Paradise Point last summer and we found it to be the PERFECT family vacation spot!

A huge part of our enjoyment was due to the fact that we LOVED our room!!! We had a Bayside Bungalow in Paradise Cove and the room was smack on the sand looking out on the beautiful bay with a fire pit right outside our room for nightly s'more making!

The water on the bay was very tranquil, which allowed my husband and I to actually be able to sit on the sand and relax without worrying about our 2 year old running into the waves. It was a dream! The girls had so much fun playing on the beach and we loved that we could put little one down for nap, and we could sit and read on the waterfront patio and watch our oldest on the sand playing on the beach.

We also loved that there was so much to do! There were 4 pools that we could use (5 total on the resort - but 1 is adult only). My daughters loved picking a different pool to use each day, and to our surprise they actually liked going to the small ones vs. the big main pool, which was fine by us. All the pools had a graduated entry, so my two year old could wade and splash around, which I loved. This is a truly FAMILY-FRIENDLY resort.

One day we rented a surrey bike and cruised around the property, which was a ton of fun, and we just had so much fun exploring the grounds. It is the type of place where once you check in, you don't really have to leave!

But the great thing is that if you want to go "off campus" for an outing, the location is phenomenal as it is close to a ton of San Diego family attractions.

The room itself was amazing. It had a kitchenette, dining table, and separate bedroom, so we could put the girls down to bed early and stay up later without disturbing them. The bathroom was also fabulously designed, as you could shut off the door and be able to use the bathroom without disturbing little ones as well.

It was clean and beautifully decorated. Again, the Bayside Bungalows were AMAZING!

We drove to the resort so we were able to pack our girls' scooters in the car, which was fun to let them cruise around on. And one night we played a little mini-golf which was close to our room.

If you are looking for a family-friendly resort, this property had a ton of activities for all ages. Plus you just can't beat the beauty of San Diego!

Our family will be back!

Room Tip: The Bayside Bungalows in Paradise Cove are a dream! Smack on the sand and protected from the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    1,287
    867
    504
    476
See reviews for
1,993
993
78
994
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just spent 4 days in Paradise...kinda sorta. This resort is so unusual-sort of like Gilligan's Island meets San Diego! Think tikki torches..water falls..palm trees and glitz.
Favorite things:
1. STAFF-extremely nice and helpful
2. GROUNDS-beautiful -especially at night
3. QUIET-you'll sleep great!
4. LOCATION-perfect place to do San Diego from
5. EXERCISE CENTER/POOL-amazing!

Not favorite things:
1-HOTEL PRICE...Crazy expensive!!! (check out hotwire.com for a possible deal)
2-PARKING PRICE...$35!!!!!!!! Really?!?!?!?!?! Can you say...RIP OFF?? (to be fair, I did get comped due to it being my birthday and as I said...super nice staff! advice...go on your birthday!)
3-"RESORT FEE"....$15!!!!!!!! Again..really?!?!?! All you really get for that is internet. Yikes!
4-RESORT NEEDS UPGRADE..I think Paradise Point was probably much nicer back in the day. It's great still, but you can tell things haven't been upgraded in a while. It does look like they are starting do do this (they were ripping up the main lobby when I arrived and redoing it).

Bottom line...I enjoyed the place alot and will go back if ...
1-I get a good deal from hotwire.com again
2-they wave the ridiculous parking fee again
3-they reduce the $15 resort fee/internet fee

Loved the place...just potentially way too expensive!

Room Tip: ask for room near pool or overlooking beach. also ask about parking fee possibilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at a beachside bungalow here. Although the property is old, that just enhances the charm by providing mature landscaping and a nostalgic Southern California feel. Also, old does not equate with dated or run down in this property. Everything is kept up to impeccable standards, very clean and updated for the most part. The bathroom tub looked like it was from the '50's, but that was overlooked by us in favor of all of the positives of this resort. The grounds are beautiful, and make you feel like you are in Hawaii with tropical plants and flowers all around. With 5 pools, I can't imagine they are ever over crowded. So much property to stroll through and very convenient to most of San Diego. It's a great place.

Room Tip: While we had a beach side room, the less expensive rooms all looked pretty nice with private patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay here in early January. The rooms are fairly basic and the resort is in need of a general refurbishment of areas, eg spa flooring, but the Resort exudes a relaxed colonial charm with lovely pools, good tennis and basketball courts, pleasant lagoons and appealing restaurants. To charge for parking in the off season is a bit rude, although we did get a bit of a discount. Bonus was a coin laundry by one of the pools where I could finally get some washing done, in a very pleasant environment! It was pretty quiet being Winter and we had lots of facilities to ourselves which was great.

Staff were all friendly and helpful, especially the Lobby Cafe Barista and the Receptionists.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitzySyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the resort with our toddler on a family vacation. The grounds are lush, manicured and beautiful. The walkways over the lagoons don't have railings so it is a bit dodgy with an energetic toddler. Rooms are basic but comfortable - bring slippers, the floors are hard tile. Easy 15 minute walk to Seaworld. Car necessary though. Had a great stay and will go back.

Room Tip: If not getting beach front, ask for a patio that faces a lagoon. Just be prepared for bird poop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We ended up here after deciding to gamble on Priceline. We were impressed at first, but there were a few surprises and disappointments.

The Good:
Very pretty grounds with lots to do and 2 restaurants
Large rooms
Pool and jacuzzi were nice

The Bad:
*Parking fee (for us it was $32, but I heard another person get charged $27. This was on top of Priceline fee.)
*"Passport" Fee (this is $15/day per person on top of our Pricelined charges... would have been fine if we had arrived early enough to use the services or if we had just known that was a charge on top of the Priceline fee.) This fee is for using the grounds, like playing tennis/etc.

The Annoying:
When we arrived, we instantly liked the hotel and decided to ask them if we could stay another night for around the same price that we got on Priceline. We weren't expecting to win a bid on a hotel with so much to do (spa/tennis/ping pong/pools/etc.) so we thought we might like to stay another full day so we could actually enjoy the hotel instead of just sleeping there one night. The woman at the front desk was friendly but said she wouldn't be able to let me know until later that night or when the manager came in the next morning. I didn't hear from them in the morning, so I called the front desk. A different woman told me that she would need to check, but no matter what, she would call me right back. She did not. I finally decided to pack up our stuff and check out.

We were disappointed to leave, and wondered why no one ever got back to us. The hotel did not seem very busy, we only saw a handful of people during our stay... an extra night seemed like it would work well for everyone, especially if we kept the same room.

Upon check-out I was told that we couldn't have the room another night because there was a conference coming in and all the rooms were taken. I didn't believe this last-minute excuse because if all the rooms were booked, then why didn't they just say that when I first inquired? The woman at the front desk said she was sorry, but whenever I wanted to come back, she would make sure we were taken care of. Sadly, I don't think we'll be going back. It was a cute place and we were excited in the moment about spending the day in the spa and using the Passports for tennis, etc., but we wouldn't go out of our way to return.

Tips:
Ask for the parking fee to be waived. I just happened to read the reviews on Yelp and a few people mentioned the ridiculous parking fees. A few people said that if you asked about it, they usually would waive the fee for you. I did this and it worked. $32/day was a hefty hidden charge in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask them to waive the parking fee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I kind of feel sorry for Paradise Point. It must have been THE spot in the '70s. We specifically asked for a room that was a suite and had a rom that could be closed off so our 21 month old could sleep and we could still hang out. Thats not what we got. Also, the room was musty smelling and their was old food in the refrigerator. Single room, junior suite. Thankfully, they graciously fixed it. The room was ok. It looked as if it was upgraded in the last 3 - 4 years. Again, the amenities were dated. The walls in the bedroom were bare. The bathroom set-up was weird. The room was definitely not small child friendly. The front door had no dead-bolt or "chain", so evertime my son would pull on the handle, he could open the door and walk outside where the water was 100 feet away. That was pretty scary. Overall, everything was mediocre. We really didn't use it as a resort, and we may have missed out on that. One great benefit was it was 5 minutes to Sea World and less than 15 minutes to the San Diego Zoo.

Room Tip: The propert is more in a Harbor and not on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#145 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing