We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but not worth 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #141 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
SFO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok, but not worth 4 stars”
Reviewed 2 February 2008

I don't really understand why this hotel has 4 stars, but I'll say that the rooms are decent. I've been there twice - the first time, the room was incredibly humid and border line clean. The second time was a little better. The A/C units are old, noisy and inefficient, and the beds not that comfortable.

  • Disliked — Humidity in the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smsteffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    1,329
    913
    545
    507
See reviews for
2,089
1,021
80
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, Vermont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in room 133. The pool and jacuzzi were right out our door. The resort is very private and secluded. The place had a tropical feel to it because of lush plantings. The place was so charming we really didn't want to leave the resort for dinner but didn't quite want to dine in the high end Baleen restaurant which looked lovely. We asked the desk for a pizza recommendation which was provided promptly. The pizza establishment did a lot of business with hotel guests and delivered right to the room-great service and fun for a change. We stayed here at a very reasonable priceline "name your price" of $90 for a Saturday night stay.

  • Liked — The tropical plantings
  • Disliked — Needed to unplug the refrigerator in the room as it ran constantly, not a big deal really
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerUALEXOinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Stayed here from 12/31-1/4. Hotel rated at 4 stars. Should be rated at 3. Service is not great. Pool was unkempt, no towels available. Waited 45 minutes for more towels, they never came. Housekeeping was hit or miss. No robes in room, bathroom like a motel.

Great grounds, unfortunately you have to drive everywhere. Room service was okay, forgot to bring butter for toast.

This hotel needs stronger management, and is missing the small touches. Not a great value for the dollar.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank chops66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Stayed here and thought at first it was going to be a good deal! No soap in the room for the first 2 nights! Rooms were not very clean and to top it all off my wife and baby got food poisoning from the bar and grill restaurant and we nearly lost our baby! Ive spent the last 4 nights in the hospital with my child. I Had to do cpr on him to resuccitate him...doctors said that it was problem someone who handled the food the salad which she had and the strawberries that somehow contaminated it!

Will pass next time, beware!

Todd

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank travelin___man40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Each time we have stayed here has been through Virgin Holidays (you don't pay the outrageous $20 per day car parking!) and we have always enjoyed the stay. The surroundings are lush and relaxing and the staff are friendly. There are, though, certain frustrations: You do have to check that the room type booked is the one you are given, usually it takes 3 tries to get the right room. Expect hefty prices in the restaurants (there are plenty of wonderful places to eat outside the hotel!) and even the coffee cart is expensive. Always check the signs on the beach as the water may well not be safe for paddling. On the last visit we shared our Lanai garden Room with a family of ants (complained about but not rectified). Having said all that, you are on an island so expect your fare share of wildlife. The pools and landscaping are great and the shop is well worth a visit even if only to buy duck food for the kids. This is a great place to stay to get away from the bustle of this wonderful city. Finally, what is it with hotel telephone charges? The local Virgin rep is in Las Vegas.... be seated when you discover the phone charges if you need to speak with them!
I like the place and will be returning.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Cost of facilities and parking
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GORUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

I booked same day for a next lower than bay view on Expedia for $111 ! I grew in San Diego and have seen this property change owners more times than...well, you finish it. A lot. I had never been there. I always stay in the Hayatt or the W in the Gaslamp Quarter as I usually am there for conventions these days.

About the hotel, the grounds are as georgous as they are difficult to navigate. What is it with the $20 parking fee? The girl at the front desk must have seen the [--] on my face and she went overboard with "you will parking right next to your room" speil.

Expedia should mention that PARKING WILL BE 25% OF THE ROOM COST.

As for the room. It had obviously recently been refurbished. It was roomy and had a beachy charm. Even at $111+$25 it was well worth it. BTW the hotel could not have 10% occupied. I was the only person in the Barefoot resaurant and the other reviewers are right. Save you money. Way, Way overpriced.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTrvlrGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Let me start off by saying that generally I am not picky about where I stay. We stayed at this "resort" since we were participating in the Mission Bay Triathlon located across the street. The photos on the property website looked great plus it was walking distance to our race. At first glance the property is nice. Then you notice how overgrown everything is. Check in was 3pm. We arrived early gave our information and went to lunch at the Barefoot Bar. This was overpriced, the food marginal and the service slow. We went back to the front desk a little after 3 only to find out our room wasn't ready. We went to meet friends and drop off our gear returning about 4:30 with still no room. We were finally given a key about 5pm but only after my husband kept going to the desk. The room itself was decorated nice but the whole thing was dingy. There was mildew on the base of the armoire and in the bathroom. The patio would have been a nice place to sit if there wasn't a huge spider web with accompanying large spider covering the whole thing. I called for someone to take care of it and 2 days later it was still there. This place could be spectacular if there was more care taken in the property. I wiould only stay there again if the property is remodeled.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mauijunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#148 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing