We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #152 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Went to Paradise Point for a business trip.
The grounds are beautiful. Extremely spread out.

Our room-nice king bed, with couch and two extra chairs, plus a desk and chair. Also had a wood armoire with TV and mini fridge. I liked the bedspread on the bed. It made me think more of home or a bed and breakfast rather than a generic hotel bedspread.

Our fridge did not work. It lacked a temperature knob and wasn't even plugged in. There was coffee left for us, but no coffee pot. I'm sure we could have asked about the fridge and coffee pot, but it really didn't matter to us. You could definitely tell that the place was old.

The last night we were there, the armoire door came off one of the hinges. It was a heavy door and I didn't want it falling off the other hinge in the middle of the night. We called the front desk and someone came to take the door off completely. It wasn't something that was a quick fix because the wood of the armoire was worn and old. Again, it wasn't something that concerned us cause we were leaving the next day.

We did not have a car, but from what I understand, it costs $17-$25 to park your car. ( I don't know the exact number).

The bar/grill at the hotel is WAY overpriced. We didn't want to eat there, but we were starving and didn't have a choice.

The gym is located in their spa. The gym cost $10 or $15 but we had a reduced rate. Small gym, but they had what I needed. All of the machines are brand new. Each bike, treadmill and ellitical had it's own tv and they gave you water, headphones and a towel. The changing room was very nice as well.

The grounds are very extensive and spread out. If you call the front desk, they will send a golf cart to take you to other places in the resort.

You really need a car at this resort as there is no other place closeby to walk to.

I don't feel as though the prices they charge for this place are worth it. They were charging $185. Considering that you have to pay to park, are limited on the food choices and that it is old, I think you could do better in the SD area. If you could get in this place for under $150, I think it would be ok.

The proximity to Sea World is outstanding and that is one positive point. There are lots of restaurants within close driving distance.

One other positive point is that the meeting and banquet facilities at this place are outstanding. The rooms and the restrooms are beautiful.
Also, the staff was always very friendly.

So, I give the 3 circles because we had some good and some bad with our trip. Stay here if you can find a good rate-otherwise, find somewhere else where they don't charge you for every single thing.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ncdeb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,168 - 5,174 of 5,628 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2008

I don't really understand why this hotel has 4 stars, but I'll say that the rooms are decent. I've been there twice - the first time, the room was incredibly humid and border line clean. The second time was a little better. The A/C units are old, noisy and inefficient, and the beds not that comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank smsteffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in room 133. The pool and jacuzzi were right out our door. The resort is very private and secluded. The place had a tropical feel to it because of lush plantings. The place was so charming we really didn't want to leave the resort for dinner but didn't quite want to dine in the high end Baleen restaurant which looked lovely. We asked the desk for a pizza recommendation which was provided promptly. The pizza establishment did a lot of business with hotel guests and delivered right to the room-great service and fun for a change. We stayed here at a very reasonable priceline "name your price" of $90 for a Saturday night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormerUALEXOinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Stayed here from 12/31-1/4. Hotel rated at 4 stars. Should be rated at 3. Service is not great. Pool was unkempt, no towels available. Waited 45 minutes for more towels, they never came. Housekeeping was hit or miss. No robes in room, bathroom like a motel.

Great grounds, unfortunately you have to drive everywhere. Room service was okay, forgot to bring butter for toast.

This hotel needs stronger management, and is missing the small touches. Not a great value for the dollar.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank chops66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Stayed here and thought at first it was going to be a good deal! No soap in the room for the first 2 nights! Rooms were not very clean and to top it all off my wife and baby got food poisoning from the bar and grill restaurant and we nearly lost our baby! Ive spent the last 4 nights in the hospital with my child. I Had to do cpr on him to resuccitate him...doctors said that it was problem someone who handled the food the salad which she had and the strawberries that somehow contaminated it!

Will pass next time, beware!

Todd

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank travelin___man40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Each time we have stayed here has been through Virgin Holidays (you don't pay the outrageous $20 per day car parking!) and we have always enjoyed the stay. The surroundings are lush and relaxing and the staff are friendly. There are, though, certain frustrations: You do have to check that the room type booked is the one you are given, usually it takes 3 tries to get the right room. Expect hefty prices in the restaurants (there are plenty of wonderful places to eat outside the hotel!) and even the coffee cart is expensive. Always check the signs on the beach as the water may well not be safe for paddling. On the last visit we shared our Lanai garden Room with a family of ants (complained about but not rectified). Having said all that, you are on an island so expect your fare share of wildlife. The pools and landscaping are great and the shop is well worth a visit even if only to buy duck food for the kids. This is a great place to stay to get away from the bustle of this wonderful city. Finally, what is it with hotel telephone charges? The local Virgin rep is in Las Vegas.... be seated when you discover the phone charges if you need to speak with them!
I like the place and will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GORUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

I booked same day for a next lower than bay view on Expedia for $111 ! I grew in San Diego and have seen this property change owners more times than...well, you finish it. A lot. I had never been there. I always stay in the Hayatt or the W in the Gaslamp Quarter as I usually am there for conventions these days.

About the hotel, the grounds are as georgous as they are difficult to navigate. What is it with the $20 parking fee? The girl at the front desk must have seen the [--] on my face and she went overboard with "you will parking right next to your room" speil.

Expedia should mention that PARKING WILL BE 25% OF THE ROOM COST.

As for the room. It had obviously recently been refurbished. It was roomy and had a beachy charm. Even at $111+$25 it was well worth it. BTW the hotel could not have 10% occupied. I was the only person in the Barefoot resaurant and the other reviewers are right. Save you money. Way, Way overpriced.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank WorldTrvlrGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#164 of 278 in San Diego
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £122 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing