We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$282
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
US$674
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,056)
Filter reviews
6,056 results
Traveller rating
2,057
1,555
1,142
685
617
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,057
1,555
1,142
685
617
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarefoot bar and grillbayside bungalowcaveman pizzatidal restaurantmain poolsea worldmission bayfire pitbike rentalstennis courtsconference centerbeautiful propertyfamily vacationla jollapoolsduckshawaii
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,822 - 3,827 of 6,056 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Although the grounds are nicely kept, the rooms leave a lot to be desired. There are NO drawers in the room so you don't unpack your suitcase unless you want your clothes all over the small couch! The bathroom was very dated and soiled looking. The tile was stained and the woodwork rotten at the bottom as if there had been a flood and they hadn't bothered to repair the wood. The lanai (overlooking nothing but bushes) had two chairs that were so mildewed that you would dare not sit on them! Sort of a tired feeling about the whole place. Have to pay to park your car when there is plenty of space around!!!It is not like you are in a downtown location where space is a premium. Would NEVER go back or recommend it. VERY expensive for what you get...

Room Tip: Don't bother...you'll be disappointed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grateful66traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are repeat guests that had our last stay here. The grounds are still beautiful, but the interior of our (upgraded) bayside bungalow was that of a VERY cheap motel:
1. Hard flooring was so filthy the soles of my socks were black dirty after a couple of hours in the room.
2. Couch was worn out and broken - when sitting, one sank into a hole behind the front rail.
3. Vinyl covered chaise was dirty and so worn out my tailbone hit the wood frame.
4. Most other furninure was worn out, scratched and generally beaten up.
5. Electric outlet in the living room did not work.
6. Heater in the living room did not work.
7. Shower head sprayed over the closed curtain and flooded the bathroom. Showe head corroded solid, cannot be adjusted. Aftyer attempting to adjust showerhead, the whole assembly fell onto my wife's foot.
8. Curtain by front door provides no privacy from people walking by the door. (Had to hang it on adjacent curtain hanger). All courtains were grungy.
9. Bathroom caulking and tile grout had accumulated caked on dirt (as did the wood floor).
10. Dirty windows.
11. Patio chairs had caked on dirt. Had to cover with bath towels before sitting on them. But then we were short on towels...
12. Bar refrigerator too small for its built-in space, leaving dirty, unfinished cabinet in full view. No ice maker in room, none within pajama walking distance.
13. Interior has been repeatedly painted by amateurs with no preparation, even painting over the door hardware.

As for service:
1. We fully prepaid a guaranteed bayside suite with king size bed. When we arrived (around 6pm) we were informed a king would be available only for the following night - which we declined because it would have required us to move (when the point of staying there was to relax). They agreed to upgrade us to a bayside bungalow with a king bed, but it was not ready until 7:30 - very disappointing after a long drive when we just wanted to shower and relax.
2. We woke up at 4 am cold, then noticed the living room heater was blowing cool air. Turning up the heat dial to the max still did nothing. Called the Consierge who promised to send someone, but by 6 am nobody came. When I called again, I was told the "engineer" they are sending will not be available until 7 am. When he did come, he discovered the heater controls were apparently wired backwards and showed me that to get heat I must turn the temperature dial DOWN. Since he did not fix the reversed wiring, I suspect it still does not work right.
Upon check out on the morning of March 9 I explained all this to the manager on duty as I handed him the broken shower head, He graciously waived some of our charges. As I told him, even if our next stay was FREE I would not risk stay here again unless I first saw, touched and felt everything in the room - which is not going to happen because we are not locals. I will not trust this place for a planned rest again until the rooms have been thoroughly and professionally remodeled and the place is competently managed.

Room Tip: The management of this place either cannot be trusted to inspect the rooms before renting them or they simply don't care about their terrible condition. Be sure to personally check out the room before committing to stay.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hunbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hunbaron, your detailed TripAdvisor review is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize that we did not deliver the quality of stay you expected when booking; the experience you described is certainly not indicative of that which we aim to provide our guests. We greatly value your comments and will use them to improve our accommodations and customer service so future guests can have a more comfortable stay. We hope you were still able to enjoy the remainder of your time in San Diego and that you’ll consider giving our resort a second chance.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a nice resort for relaxing. The "Westcoastfam2014" review as spot on in regards to the rooms being old and needs to be updated, but if you are simply looking for a place to go to relax and see the spend time on the water this is the place. I am not sure if I would bring my children to this location as there isn't a microwave in the rooms and the prices on the grounds for simple things you would need if your kids were with your were far too expensive. The bikes do cost considerably more than on Mission Beach but that is to be expected. We were there 5 days (over a weekend) and we eventually rented a car for the cost of a two day bike rental. The bell service staff even took us to the car rental place and waited until we got our car. We were also able to leave the car at the resort without having to turn it in at the original location--this was convenient. With the car we were able to drive to Mission Beach and the city of San Diego to purchase food etc for less.
It would be nice if there was a separate sleeping areas for families and couples. As most couples would like to be intimate without the noise of children playing or vice versa.
I was there for a conference and the amenities we far beyond my expectations for a business event so I can't/won't complain. The bell service staff were very helpful and always on time for our needs --I didn't need much though.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the water...it will make all the other deficiencies worthwhile.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrichBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Amazing service! Beautiful, tropical ambiance with a flair for healthy lifestyle or to simply relax and enjoy life! Perfect spot for relaxing or getting involve in water sports, taking a scenic walk, sitting by the numerous fire pits, playing miniature golf, riding bikes (available on-site) or hanging out on the beach. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are amazing. Other rooms with a garden view are nice as well, just make sure you request the "most preferred room location available and not looking toward restaurants, or into others rooms. If you're not getting a bungalow on the water, ask for a map of the room locations.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_R_U407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

T_R_U407, thank you for the stellar review of Paradise Point! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the resort’s many amenities, and we’re pleased you enjoyed them all. There’s always something new to explore or do at our San Diego resort, so we hope you’ll visit again in the near future.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to Paradis Point with our family for one week. We are a family of 6 with 4 children under age 9. There are a lot of good things about this resort and a lot of things that need improvement. The resort grounds are beautiful, very lush tropical plants everywhere, ponds with ducks, herons and turtles which makes it very "kid friendly". There are 5 pools on the resort 1 main pool that is very large with a small hot tub, one pool that is adult only and 3 others scattered around the resort (the resort is huge). All the rooms are bungalows which helps keep the resort feeling calm, private and relaxed, no elevators no loud noises from other rooms etc. We had a room in the 200 section it was a Junior suite, there was plenty of space for the 6 of us (they provided a crib and a roll away).
The rooms are old and need to be fully remodelled. The bathroom tiles have not been replaced but painted over and the paint is coming off. The bath tub is very small and the bathroom area smelled very musty due to poor venting. The cleaning service was also poor, they never came at a consistent time during the day and there were a lot of cob webs, fingerprints and dust in the room. We liked that we had a grassy area out our back door and we were very close to a pond and a small pool, however the pool near our room was not heated but the hot tub was. The beaches around the resort are ok not as nice as most beaches in California.
We found the service at this hotel very poor especially for how much it costs per night you expect excellent service. If you call for anything expect it to take at least a half an hour or in our case they forgot our request for some wine glasses and a cork screw (not provided in the room) and after waiting for 1/2 hr I called back and then still had to wait another 20min to only receive regular glasses. One day in the pouring rain my key card did not work for some reason, I did not want to walk all the way back to the front desk in the rain with the kids so I called from the room beside us, it took them 25 minutes to come with a new key...we were drenched! We received no apology but a look from the guy expecting a tip!!! I was not impressed.
Everything on the resort is also very expensive, we liked the caveman pizza but the barefoot bistro food is not worth the price. You can also rent bikes way cheaper right in Mission beach which is a much nicer beach to go to anyway. If you want to have a fire in one of the fire pits on the resort you need to buy the wood and anything else you may need.

The beauty of the resort did make up for the poor service, old rooms and cold pool however I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westcoastfam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks for your comprehensive review of Paradise Point. Both your compliments and critical comments are greatly appreciated. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the resort’s 5 pools, lush grounds, and spacious accommodations, but regret that we fell short when it came to delivering a satisfactory level of customer service. We apologize that you did not receive the friendly and prompt service we are known for, and would like you to know that what you experienced is not an accurate reflection of Paradise Point. We hope that the memorable and positive elements of your stay will encourage you to be our guest again, giving us a chance to deliver the first-class service we have been recognized for in the past.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews