We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DONT STAY HERE! Front desk staff was horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #140 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE! Front desk staff was horrible!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family of five rented two adjoining rooms. We had a pretty good stay, rooms were big and clean, and we were close to the main pool (which was amazing). We enjoyed the Cantina @ the pool for lunch. We really liked Barefoot's restaurant. It was great. We spent quite a bit of money at the resort also, keep that in mind when I disucss how we were treated @ checkout. We were not a huge fan of Tidal, overpriced food that really wasn't good BUT the service at Tidal was GREAT. Our waitress was amazing. Fast forward to check out and the reason we will never return. I had booked this resort with my travel agent. My travel agent was advised by the resort that they required prepayment in full. I was under the impression that we had paid in full. At check out I was charged for both of my rooms (for what I thought was a second time). I asked girl checking me out (the morning of 6/14/14 @ around 7am) to go over the charges with me b/c I had already paid. She would not look at me and kept reading her computer screen. It was all very odd. She then said my credit card was declined (which it was not) and then she said "you are checked out." I explained to her that I wanted to discuss the charges and she said again "you are checked out." It was like talking to a brick wall. I said to her that I had already paid for these rooms and wanted her to go over the charges with me. She asked if I had anything showing that I had paid in full. I responded that I did and it was in my car. I retrieved the paperwork and came back to the front desk. I waited and waited and waited. She never came back to the desk. I asked a second front desk staff member if she could please go get the girl I was working with b/c I needed to leave asap and get on my flight. She went behind a wall but not before she looked at me like I was out of my mind for needing to leave (at this time I had spent over 10 minutes trying to check out). Neither of them came out from behind their wall and I could hear them discussing that they thought I was mad b/c my credit card was declined (which again it was not and I'm not sure where that was coming from). I waited and asked that they come out and please help me and was then advised (as they remained behind the wall) that security was being called. These girls have obviously not been trained. They were the most unprofessional staff members I have EVER worked with and I would NEVER return to this resort. I do not recommend it to anyone. Security came and told me I had "scarred" the girls. There was definetly a misunderstanding but those girls were lazy and rude and did not want to discuss my charges with me. Period. It was as if I was in the twilight zone. I was so offended and appauled. My travel agent advised me that due to an error on the resorts end they had not previously charged my credit card the full amount. It could have been easily resolved if the front desk staff would have discussed this with me instead of hiding b/c they were "scarred" of me. I travel all the time and have NEVER experienced anything like this every before. I am a mother, I am not violent at all, and I will question charges if I think they are wrong. I assume this was their first day and/or first job. I do hope for their sake this is a learning experience. I have learned that due to the front desk staff at Paradise Point, I will never return.

Room Tip: Dont' stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TravelingB2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    1,327
    912
    545
    506
See reviews for
2,087
1,019
80
1,077
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Over the past ten years, My family has seen rates here go up, up, up. We thought we would never stay again until we got a great deal on Living Social that brought is here this past week. I feel it is just too expensive at $700 per night, and I love staying right on the bay. With our upgrade from a regular room from LS we were at about half that price. I feel that was appropriate for the room. I would have given 5 stars,but I felt the little touches that were here when Noble House owned the property were lacking. The shampoos and accessories are not up to par. I couldn't get lather from the shampoo. I missed the cotton swabs and Q Tips that used to be in the bathroom. The updates inside the rooms are nice though. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The bartender at Tropics is a sweetie. Loved the floors. With another sweet deal, we will be back. The beach is amazing. My kids love playing in be bay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Twinboysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for the candid review on your latest stay at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, and for your repeated business for the past ten years. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of our Living Social promotion, though we regret hearing your disappointment in the bathroom amenities, as they have remained the same. Each guestroom still has luxurious bath products by Gilchrist and Soames, as well as an extensive vanity kit with grooming tools. It sounds as though housekeeping may have failed to replenish these, for which we apologize. We hope you will continue to vacation at Paradise Point, and encourage you to look into the specials and packages on our website to get a great deal on your next stay.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a company retreat in June, 2014. Although it's not an ultra-luxurious resort, we still enjoyed the resort amenities. First let me say, we love the fact that you don't go through elevators or walk through long hallways. You park immediately outside your bungalow in designated stalls. You get your own patio and backyard. It's so easy to get around the island. You can rent a bike or a segway and you are adjacent to the bay as well as a park with a bike path. They also have many fire pits so you can do smores and bon fires at night. During the summer months, be sure to check with Sea World on their fireworks schedule so you can view the fireworks from the resort grounds. I recommend this for families!

Room Tip: Go on the website and download a map, rooms that faces either gardens or the bay are the best. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I loved my bungalow suite. It was amazingly quiet and unforgettable. I would come back again and again. The staff very professional especially Mr Andrew Cooper. He made my trip one of a kind. I ll refer all my friends n family. Love paradise point.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful setting, and lush grounds very well maintained, a true island paradise complete with multiple swimming pools, lagoons and wildlife, a real gem. Excellent food and reasonably priced in both restaurants nestled by the water and well run marina with lots of cool stuff for rent. The bungalows are very clean but a bit dated and in need of minor renovation. Our room for 3 adults included a tired old pull-out sofa that was like sleeping on a sack of "Slinkys" and the coffee table was pointed out as missing upon opening the door which we later called 3 times for with no results, and the broken shelves in the credenza that caused a big spill, and the in-operative coffee maker all would have been tolerable if the coffe table was not just promissed and then ignored. Aside from people ignoring the parking rules and the resort not acting on cars without a $30 per night parking tag parked in our well defined spot and having to park in general parking about 300 yards from our bungalow we had a very enjoyable weekend.Makes one wonder why they bother with the hang-tags for your mirror - aside from the thirty bucks that is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We checked in at 6pm we loved the lay out as we drove in. The lobby is very nice its updated and nice as we got the map to our room the staff was very nice. We headed to our room very easy to know your way. We checked out our room it was very nice but the bathroom needed s little updating other than that we had an issue with our bathroom door not working they sent someone out right away to fix it. Very friendly again. The garden view was a hedge but if you have kids very nice. The next morning I went to the lobby the bed was very lumpy. Andrew was very helpful and was accommodating. Had fun exploring the place recommend the main pool with service and Restaurant Tidal 5☆. Hotel is Close to everything and we loved that .. even gave me a temp key for the pool after I checked out.. Amazing got greeted by everyone we walked by.................but......... they have a resort fee and parking fee....... blah

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avas1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After a friend recommended Paradise Point, the first thing I did was google the reviews. Not going to lie, I was a little afraid to come due to some of the negative comments people left. However, I am so happy I did not listen, because I write this from my beautiful and very CLEAN room! This place is amazing and everyone has been so nice since we arrived. We are in paradise and this is the best desicion my husband and I made for our anniversary. We rented seadoos and went paddle boarding and layed out by the beautiful pool. There are 5 by the way so you choose lol. Yes, it is expensive, but it is very much worth it. We are coming back next year and I have already recommended this place to my best friends so they can come with their husbands!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malizama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Malizama23, thank you for the review, and happy anniversary! It’s wonderful to hear that your expectations were exceeded during your stay at Paradise Point Resort & Spa. We appreciate you recommending our San Diego resort to others, and look forward to providing you with another exceptional vacation next year.

Best,
David Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#149 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing