We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #144 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to San Diego for a Sea World weekend. Paradise Pointe is located right next to Sea World. They have a "water taxi" that takes you from the resort to a back entrance at Sea World. We spent one of our days lounging around the resort, swimming, sailing and rented a jet ski. Our room looked like it was recently remodeled.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coachep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,469 - 3,475 of 5,903 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family along with others had to wait in the lobby for an in ordinate period to get our rooms. The property is outdated and the hotel employees, particular the front desk people, are unfriendly and indifferent. Complete and absolute waste of money. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeromewashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Jeromewashington, we greatly appreciate your review but regret hearing your disappointment. We sincerely apologize for the check-in experience you described, and can assure you it is not an accurate reflection of our friendly and courteous staff who typically receive rave reviews as seen here on TripAdvisor and other hotel review sites. We have passed on your comments to the front desk manager to review, and hope that you return for a chance to experience the superior customer service we are known for.

Best,
David Hall
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were just there for a week. The resort is in a mission bay area. Close to many beach activities. Sea World is five minutes away. Down town and many activities there are only 15 minutes away. La Jolla, Dan Mar beaches are just 15 min north.
With the resort the pools, hot tubs are great and the best is gas fire pits in the night to relax in the evening.
Resort has rentals for Boats, kayak, Stand Up Board surfing. The attached beach is good for stroll, jog or just enjoy the beach and the beauty of the city, sea.

This hotel is not for adults who are looking for a night life. It is a cute/quite family environment.

Room Tip: Rent a car if you want to do more than the resort. Everything is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrempalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisePointGM, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

PremplaSingh, your review is greatly appreciated. We’re delighted to hear the details of your recent visit, especially about how you enjoyed the hot tubs and gas fire pits located at some of our five pools. As your review states, Paradise Point is minutes away from many of San Diego’s main attractions. We hope to see you back soon for anther memorable vacation is Southern California.

Best,
David Hall
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were initially excited to stay at Paradise Point for a relaxing three days while in San Diego.

The resort grounds are fairly well kept and scenic. The rooms on the other hand are terrible!

After checking in at the front desk, we proceeded to our room. After driving around the resort a few times (the resort is hard to navigate around for the first time visitor), we finally found our room. Once there, we discovered someone parked in our room assigned parking space. We parked outside the front door and unloaded our bags. Next, we tried to open the front door. After sliding our room key in the lock, we got a green light but, the door would not open. We had to bang the door open with our hip as it was sticking. Can't believe this could be a problem left unfixed with the maid entering the room daily.

Once in the room, we were met with a musty smell. Parts of the room were very old, worn, and dated and in no way worth $400+ per night (including parking and resort fee). The bathroom doors are probably original to the property (1950's or 60's) as with the bath tub and tiles. The room was also filthy. After a shower, we put a hand towel on the floor and shuffled to the bed. When we looked at the towel, it was filthy from all the dirt on the floor. Obviously, mopping the floor on a daily (or weekly?) basis is not part of the maid's responsibilities.

The leaver/lock to the patio door was broken and the door and door frame were rusting.

We noticed that we had no deck chairs on our patio, so we called the front desk. They said that would have a couple delivered to us. Three calls and a day later, they arrived.

The wireless internet was slow and we had very poor reception when sitting outside on the patio right outside the patio door.

On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets were clean. Also, we were left eight bath towels daily, more that we could use.

We were very, very disappointed with this resort. Aside from renting a paddle board for an hour, we didn't spend another dime there. If we hadn't prepaid for the room upfront, we would have left after our first night and stayed at one of the far better hotels/resorts in the area probably at a far cheaper price.

At best, this resort is a two star resort being sold at 4 star prices. In my opinion, if you choose to stay here, do NOT pay more than $150 per night for their best room including parking and resort fees, it is just not worth anything more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank road_tripper_14150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Paradise Point for 4 nights in July with our 5 year old and 2 year old. When we arrived we were quite disappointed at the standard of the resort as we were led to believe by the website and price that it would be quite smart.

The first room we were shown was by the highway and was noisy, run down and smelt damp. When I complained the Manager kindly upgraded us to the Presidential Suite (with a small extra to pay) for the first two nights and then we were moved to our garden view suite for the rest of the stay.
The Presidential suite was fantastic, huge patio overlooking bay with sun loungers and table. Huge living and dining room, kitchen and lounge. If we could have stayed there the whole time it would have been perfect! The Garden view room was fine, spacious and basic bathroom.

Ideally you want to book a bay view room as these rooms have their own patio and have more light.

There are lots of pools around the property which the children loved along with crazy golf, bike hire etc

The restaurant is in a great spot looking out onto the bay and it is lovely for breakfast and dinner. The staff were really friendly and helpful with children.
However many of the families self-catered as there is a basic kitchen in the room.

We enjoyed our stay at Paradise point but it is expensive for the standard of the rooms you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muzzalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

There was a group of us staying here and upon arrival, the place seemed spectacular. However, looks can be deceiving!

Customer service was horrible. We arrived and only one of our rooms was ready. We were told it would only be about 10-15minutes and someone would be to our other room, with the key, to the second room. No one ever came. We called down to the front office and were told someone would be right over. Again, no one came. When we called back, we were met with hostility from the woman at the front desk. Finally, after over an hour of waiting, we were brought our keys.

And don't even get me started on the service at their barefoot bar and grill. From the time we got there, until we paid our bull, was over 2.5hrs. We waited for our food for over an hour, before someone finally came out and told us that computers had gone down. What I find odd about that, is that everyone else around us was getting their food. Once we got out food, it was pretty good and the chef even offered us a complimentary dessert or drink. Once we were finished, our server came and got our plates, only to disappear for almost 20min before bringing us our bill. Before he had come back, I had gotten up to see where he was and what was going on. Several people walked right passed me, as I was standing there, and no one bothered to ask if I needed assistance with anything. I looked in the walkway area and saw the hostess swinging around a pole, while licking food off of a spoon. It was quite literally the most bizarre thing I had ever seen, when it comes to customer service.

The bar area was great, however. Bartenders were very attentive and friendly.

Our rooms APPEARED to be quite clean and nice, from a quick look. However, I found a used bar of soap in the shower and our beds had sand in them.

All-in-all, I probably wouldn't recommend this resort. At least not until tey do some serious cleanup on their customer service.

The best part, was once we received our final bill, there were charges on their for things we never even used. One of the bartenders at the poolside bar had even tried charging us twice for one of our drinks. Charged my card once and then tried putting on our rooms bill as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holls131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall we had a wonderful stay at this property but it was largely in part to the bungalow we had. Initially, we booked a garden bungalow because space was very important to us since we had our two young children but when we arrived I immediately asked if they had something on the water. We ended up going with their premium Lanai bayside suite. This was a smaller room but I have to say, this is what made the trip for us. Our room sat right on the water and we woke up to a beautiful view every morning. Our kids could easily step outside and play in the sand or in the water while we sat comfortably and watched. We paddle boarded right outside of our room, took daily walks on the beach, and enjoyed s'mores with our personal fire pit we had (again- right outside of our room) My 6 year old joked that we had our very own private beach! I don't think our stay would have been the same if we ended up in one of their other rooms. The property is extremely kid friendly, the restaurants overlook the water, and there's plenty of really fun activities to do. The pool is just ok. I would definitely return IF we had one of their waterfront rooms.

Room Tip: Go with a waterfront room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OfflineFreshAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#46 of 286 in San Diego
2,502 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,049 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £137 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing