We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, think twice, it's just another day ... in Paradise (Point)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #149 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gilbert, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oh, think twice, it's just another day ... in Paradise (Point)”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Booked one bedroom bungalow ($500 for three nights) that turned out to be on lake/pond. Kids enjoyed feeding ducks - I didn't enjoy avoiding what came out the other end of the ducks.

I appreciate the fact that the rooms are due for an upgrade, however, the standard was very poor. Bathroom needed demolishing - paint was poor standard, bath had seen better days, screws left in wall where handrail had been, saw a few bugs.

As others have mentioned, the furniture paintwork has the distressed look - which doesn't help the overall distressed look of the room. Fridge in closet tried its best to work. The beds were very uncomfortable and squeaked at any opportunity (my wife is currently attempting to re-align her spine and pelvis due to the mattress). $25 a day for parking is a complete rip off, especially when someone parks in your space for the night. We reported it and were not charged for parking for that day.

Looks like the place boosts its income on weddings and corporate functions as it was full on both evenings of the weekend.

'Resort' staff were friendly and did what they could to rectify issues. I think the housekeeping staff do a great job to keep the rooms as clean as they are under the circumstances.

Very disappointing considering the glamorous website and location.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,815
    1,399
    998
    605
    556
See reviews for
2,305
1,070
84
1,137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, ca
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2009

we had a relaxing time at the resort.This time of year not very crowded.The room was a beachfront suite with a nice view of Mission Bay.The room was clean but could use some upgrading in the bath area.25.00 for parking seemed like a lot of money

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpayne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

If you go here hoping for a clean, serene, resort-like atmosphere you will be sorely disappointed. It felt like a campground. The pictures on their web-site are highly misleading. The room's are old and dirty. The furniture is cheap and worn. The room's air conditioning unit was loud and rattling. The bed was uncomfortable and the bedding was old and coarse. I didn't feel comfortable walking around barefoot in the room and there were insects in the bathroom. We paid extra for a bay-side room and the minute we walked out onto the terrace we knew that was a mistake too. We had no privacy. While sitting on our patio, we had people sitting 10 feet to the right and left of us without any separation. Kids were running by us and there were empty cups and bottles littering the area in front of our terrace. How they get away with advertising this place as a 'resort and spa' is beyond me. We were traveling without our children for the first time and this was NOT the quiet, secluded atmosphere we were told it was. We left after the first night and would warn anyone to stay far away. The accommodations were sub-Super 8 and the price was 4 times as much.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Milwaukee, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We splurged and spent extra to have a room on the water. It was so worth it! We woke every morning to a beautiful view and just steps away from the beach. It was great to take a cup of coffee and watch the crew teams practice and enjoy the peace. Then, in the evenings, sat in our chairs and watched the sun set.

The casual restaurant on the water was our usual dinner spot. A nice walk from our room and good food.

You probably want a car while staying there since you have to drive to go anywhere else but it is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada city ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Had a great stay at this resort. I had read some bad reviews, so i was actually on guard. But our room was great. Freshly painted, great carpeting. Everything one could expect.
We did joke that the paint was peeling off the furniture, but it was "antiqued" and in perfect condition.
The only negative is that they chrge you 25.00 per day for parking, even though there is a multitude of spaces on their fabulous grounds. I wish they would just include tha in the room price to be more accurate. Oh well. It seems like this is a trend.
Didn't try the restaurant, but our friends had. They said it was expensive, but really well worth it.
i wouldn't hesitate booking tthis fabulous property.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelersagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Not sure how anyone could give this resort high marks for the grounds, the rooms or the amenities. They would either have to be on the payroll or they are not well travelled. Given what we believed to be the amenities of the resort, our intention was to stay a week and travel around So California from there - knowing there would always be plenty to do right on the resort grounds. I saw the resort on TLC's Jon & Kate Plus 8 and given Kate's stated penchant for clean, we had high expectations.

The place is filthy. The grounds are neglected. There are potholes in the crazy roads that take you around th resort. The rooms are dark, dingy, old, tattered. We had a ferrell cat sitting outside our door on arrival. It was just yucky. We were taken aback by the amonia/urine smell as we entered the lobby to check in. That was the first clue but we decided to proceed. The first room we were given was in front of the main pool with a sandy beach (why this is necessary given their private beach is beyond me. It just makes the pool a dirty, sandy experience). The bathroom had been updated but the floors were dirty with hair and sand, the rest of the room was painted a brash yellow and the furniture - which they call 'distressed' looked like it came from Walton's mountain. The tv was an old 36", there was no coffee pot in the room (you have to schlep to an outdoor vendor cart in the morning to get coffee), and the smell of mold was overwhelming. They graciously offered to move us. I have nothing to say about the staff we encountered. They clearly know that they are the only thing that would keep a guest at the facility. So, we felt as another family did that they try hard to be pleasant. The next room was larger but overall in worse shape. The yellow paint must have been a bargain because it is everywhere. We were afraid to walk on the carpets in bare feet so we put on socks. We put a towel on the floor of the tub so we did not have to touch the dingy, dirty bottom. The black on the socks was something I had never experienced anywhere. But it was the hair on the bathtowel and the bugs we found on the bath curtain that had us spend a day of our vacation in Paradise visiting other area hotels. There are great resorts nearby and they were a better value. We stayed in Torrey Pines and LOVED it.

The hotel is going to undergo renovation but I would suggest that the housekeeping and grounds staff will not likely be renovated. So, if you get in early ... right after the renovation, your experience may be much different. (Though the pictures of the renovation showed that they were keeping the yellow paint which tells me they will not be truly rehabilitating the place but rather putting in new furniture.) I will bet that after one season of tourists, the place will already look worn. There is no way to mask mold, mildew and dirt.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Spent a weekend here once, grounds are beautiful, private, and lovely.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrownUp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#163 of 278 in San Diego
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#34 of 278 in San Diego
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Property: Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing