We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the weather was better...........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Ranked #148 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Have been to this resort twice in the past (across from Sea World) so when I saw it on skyauction.com I tried for it and WON! Stayed for 2 nights & 3 days. The grounds are just gorgeous; it's like a mini Hawaiian island. If only the weather was nicer it would have been perfect, but it was rainy, foggy and overcast. We had a Bayside Lanai room so you just walk out your door to a beach on the bay. Lot of good that did us this time! We had dinner at the Barefoot Grill & Bar which was yummy and satisfying. We have friends in San Diego so we got together with them & had a good time and our highlight was getting to see our son who had driven down from Eureka, Ca. for a friend's wedding.
The room had a mini-fridge (no microwave) that made a noise & we had to unplug it at night to get to sleep but we brought a cooler so that worked out. Also they charge $25.00 per night fee for parking but I had read another review where someone asked for a reduction, so I did too & they reduced it to $12.00 per night. Hopefully next time will be better weather!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepi4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,987 - 4,993 of 5,737 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of our recent honeymoon. On mentioning this, we were upgraded to accommodation with our own section of private beach. Fantastic! Staff were very friendly. Not a single cleaner passed us by without saying hello. Breakfast was beautiful and dinner in the Baleen was out of this world. We liked it so much we stayed an extra night! Perfect location for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

oK, too much $ for what you get which is: rough towels, no phone book, or paper or pen. $25/day to park, come on now! You have to PAY for internet . ONE soap. I do not like shower gel. NO blankets, except a light one on the bed. But great location and as they say location, location, location! And at least they did not charge for tennis.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31230Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Pros:
- great location, minutes from Sea World
- nice pool for toddlers

Cons
- Poor service: When we went to the room that had been given to us at check-in, we found that the "garden" suite had no garden but rather the patio looked onto a wall. We called the front-desk who said that they would send a bellman who didn't come. A security person came by who thought we were locked out and provided perhaps the only good service we received in a week stay. He stayed with us until we got a different room and called the front desk several times when a bellman didn't show up. Oh, one bellman who did show up, told us that he was "too busy" to help us.
- Not kid-friendly: Beach has no showers to wash of sand, doesn't provide beach towels, walking from room to restaurants is a hike
- Check-out: Tried to charge us for an upgraded room even though we were repeatedly told it was a complimentary upgrade
- Room: "suite" is a misnomer for some of their rooms, sofa-sleeper in our room was stained and is impossible (very uncomfortable) to use as a sleeper.
- Spa: My wife got an allergic reaction to the products they used!

Overall - I wouldn't go back there

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNtraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ParadiseResort, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience at Paradise Point. We pride ourselves on being a family-friendly property with our proximity to SeaWorld and multitude of activities that adults and kids can enjoy together. I regret that you did not feel you experienced that.

I apologize profusely for the lack of follow-through on the bellman and miscommunication on your room change, as there is no excuse for it. I’ve talked with our front desk and bell staff to review the communication process between the two and ensure this does not happen again.

We’re sincerely sorry that your wife experienced an allergic reaction during her spa visit. While we cannot predict how our products will interact with each guest’s skin, we do try to correct the issue should it arise. I spoke with my Spa Director and she mentioned that your wife received a product to help calm the reaction, as well as put her in contact with the product company. I hope that these steps taken have helped remedy the situation.

All of us here at Paradise Point are here to serve you so please feel free to contact the front desk or any of our team members at any time by calling (858) 274-4630.

Sincerely,
David Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This is the nicest resort we've stayed at in any city. The desk clerk suggested a room we'd like, and she was right!! It had to have been an upgrade from what we paid for, but the bill did not reflect that.
The design of the resort made you think you were on a tropical isle - and indeed it was an island. You could walk along the foliage lined paths and enjoy the wildlife in the lagoons and trees or walk on the sandy beach and enjoy watching the sailboats. We were also able to walk along sidewalks across the bridge to restaurants and stores in Crown Point. (We found the restaurant good but expensive.) We could have continued to Pacific Beach if desired.
Comfy bed with perfect pillows. The room was inviting and clean with a back patio to view the bay. Lots to do -we didn't have time for it all. We mostly enjoyed a pool & hot tub reserved for adults. (There were 3 or 4 more pools for families.) The staff were very helpful and pleasant and made us feel that we were valued guests.
The only drawback were the thin walls. Our 2 room bungalow had a rather loud voiced lady in the next room the first night. We could clearly hear through the walls. Outdoor partiers were annoying another night. Other nights were quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyResorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband and I took our 2 year old son on a 5 night/6 day trip to San Diego and wanted to stay close to the water so we booked a stay at Paradise Point. We paid $500 a night for "Bayside Bungalow." When we were taken to our room by one of the staff, we were told that the resort had recently been updated. If that is the case, I would hate to see what it looked like before. Here is our pro/con list and keep in mind the cost per night when reading the list.

Pros:
-Very good food. We ate several meals (including all of our breakfasts) at the resort. Everything was very good.
-Helpful, courteous staff. Everyone was very nice and they went out of their way to give us excellent restaurant recommendations.
-Location next to the bay with easy access to sand and water. This is helpful when you are traveling with a small child, especially one who likes to play in sand!

Cons:
-Poor quality physical environment. For the price we paid, we were VERY disappointed with what we got. It simply looked like they redecorated rather than refurbished these rooms. We have stayed in far nicer hotels for about half the price. Even our honeymoon at a luxury resort in Anguilla was cheaper and far superior to this one.
-Poor quality amenities. Towels were hard and uncomfortable. Not many extras in the room. No notepad and pen. No lotion/mouthwash. One phone. These things don't sound like much but when you pay that much money, they had better be in the room. Even the Days Inn has a notepad in it.
-Paper thin walls. We could hear the baby crying next door to us (as I'm sure they heard our son crying as well). Wasn't expecting an exclusive Bayside Bungalow to be connected to another one (perhaps this was my own fault).
-Everything was extra. I know this is common for resorts, but parking was $25 per night. The gym was $12 per visit (hence we didn't workout) and internet access was $12.95 for 24 hours (also didn't use it).
-Location is not the best. It wasn't bad and not hard to drive downtown but there is not much going on immediately outside of the resort.

If we were to do it again, I would have either stayed in La Jolla or at a hotel downtown. Don't waste your hard earned money here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinw9912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ParadiseResort, General Manager at Paradise Point Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Thanks for taking the time to share both the positive and negative aspects of your stay with us.
I’m thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our dining venues, and that our staff exceeded your customer service expectations. I will certainly be sharing your comments with them as we have been diligently working to improve the quality of our interactions with guests.

While I regret that you felt our recently renovated rooms fell short of your standards, I’m excited to share that the property is under new management and we are already working to fix and prevent some of the problems you mentioned above. We apologize for the unsatisfactory quality of our towels, and have used your feedback as a basis for ordering new linens for the entire resort. We are also currently reviewing our pricing model regarding on-site amenities such as internet access, the fitness center, and recreational activities.

To address your concerns on our location, Paradise Point prides itself on offering the unique experience of staying on a serene, private island where you can feel secluded, dig your toes into the sand, and take part in our many on-site activities - all in all an experience that is hard to find when staying in a high-rise downtown. Should you want to experience and explore the city, we’re the closest accommodations to SeaWorld, only 6 miles from the airport and downtown San Diego, and minutes from many other area attractions.

Paradise Point would love to welcome you back, so please let me know when you are planning your next trip to San Diego. As always, I appreciate the feedback regarding your stay. Should you want to discuss your concerns more in-depth, please contact the Paradise Point team at (858) 274-4630.

Sincerely,
David Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel is in a nice setting spread out over quite a huge piece of property. There are pools around each cluster of rooms as well although the main pool was a hike from our room but worth the walk. The lagoon area by the main pool was in disrepair but had potential.

The outside of the rooms were not very inviting which made us nervous at first. However, the interior of the rooms have had a facelift (new pillows, furniture, etc.). The bathrooms needed more work - lighting, ventilation, tile.

The front desk staff was very pleasant and service & food at the restaurant was fine. Also, the gift shop was quite extensive and was run by a very efficient and friendly manager. There was a neat coffee cart with yummy muffins and drinks each morning.

We were traveling with our 10 year old daughter and 7 year old son so the proximity to Sea World was nice. The Zoo and Airport weren't far either. Our kids loved the pools.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjrd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 279 in San Diego
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Point Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Point Resort & Spa

Address: 1404 Vacation Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Green Hotel in San Diego
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#49 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Family Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £116 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Point Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gentle Mission Bay, this luxurious 44-acre island resort features comfortable, California bungalow-style rooms amidst lush, tropical gardens and lagoons. Here at this AAA Four-Diamond San Diego hotel, you can explore one mile of beach, five swimming pools, and enjoy various amenities including tennis courts, an 18-hole putting course, beach cruisers, bonfire pits, and a private marina equipped with sailboats, jet skis, and kayaks. Dine at one of two waterfront venues, then relax and refresh at the plush spa with a treatment from Hawaii, Fiji, Thailand, or Bali. Secluded yet centrally located, the hotel is minutes from top attractions including SeaWorld, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, and Gaslamp District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Point Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Point Hotel San Diego
Paradise Point Resort And Spa
Paradise Point San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing