We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tranquil property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #57 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. Took free shuttle from airport, great driver Bill was friendly and outgoing. Arrived late morning and was able to check in and received a king room facing the parking lot. Room had private patio, plantation shutters on the room, comfortable bed and pillows, shower head, sink area and separate area for fridge and microwave. There was a safe in the closet. The room was very comfortable and the whole property makes you feel like you are on an island. There are palm trees everywhere. Amazing pool area and marina views from the hotel. The hotel bar had great happy hour prices, view, and staff. I will definitely bring my family back here to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wmacetheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

I would have given a higher rate for this hotel except for the surprise at check-out. Staff were very good and the room was excellent. Location is great for watching both private and military boats and ships. But, the nice little "passport" they give you at check-in comes with a sting. The passport is full of useless little coupons--you've seen these types of things. Lots of discounts on things you would never use. The problem with this passport is that they don't tell you, but there is a charge of $9.95 PER DAY on your bill to pay for these useless little discounts. I don't know if they would have taken it off my bill if I had complained--my fault, I didn't look closely until we were on the road. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Colleen74_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a birthday party for my wife and 40 of her friends. The service was excellent,everyone was very attentive, caring and we had a blast. We spent the night and were given a great room.We definately will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I brought my team for a small off site meeting to this Hotel and it was PERFECT! I had a suite located on the bay and it was quiet, clean and comfortable. There were 6 of us and we met in the suite, it was a perfect place for a brain storming casual setting meeting. There are a number of really good places to dine for both lunch and dinner within walking distance. The staff at the Hotel was very friendly and helpful. I would go back for sure! They also have beach cruisers that you can use to ride around the island. (very fun)

Room Tip: This resort has concerts in the Summer months, If you go during that time make sure you ask about wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Room was fairly standard, however the hotel is in a fantastic garden setting, with a great pool. Fun to watch the planes landing at the navel base across the bay! Only down side was the party in the room next door on our last night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekyd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Request rooms in the back of the Resort off of the street. It gets noisy on the street (traffic, parking lot, hotel guests etc). I was surprised at how much traffic there was being that the street is a dead end. Rooms are cozy, with comfortable beds/bedding and each room has a wet bar with microwave, fridge & coffee maker. Upstairs units do not have patios, at least the ones that face the parking lot do not. Room service was great! It was delivered in less than 30 minutes. We ate at Humphreys for breakfast one morning. The Restaurant is nice with a great view of the marina. The food, coffee & service was great. Prices are also reasonable. Mimosas & Bloody Marys are offered in the AM. The location of this Resort is great, as it is within 5-10 minute drive to practically everything (Seaport Village, Sea World, Gas Lamp, Shopping, Restaurants, Liquor/Gas,). Pool towels are provided by the Resort however they are very tiny and OLD. I would suggest to bring your own if you like plush, full size towels. Pool area is nice, pool is heated and they have a small hot tub. We will stay here again in the Winter months since it is offered at a discounted rate.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cruzanrumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Half Moon for a family reunion with about 20 other family members who came from all over the country. First, it was easy to find even though San Diego streets are not the easiest to navigate. Close to Old Town with a scenic view of the downtown skyline in the distance across San Diego Bay. On the back side of the resort us a marina with just enough activity to be enjoyable and interesting. Our stay was short, but fun. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#49 of 278 in San Diego
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,042 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#125 of 278 in San Diego
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £102 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing