We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Ranked #62 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I found a great deal for this hotel on Living Social which is like groupon. It looked wonderful from the pictures and it gave the best price for that location. It was so close to the bay, everything around it was so beautiful, and coffee shops within .6 Miles of the location. Restaurants were close as well...my only recommendation is that you should rent a car rather than using a taxi (depending on how far you want to go.)

There was an employee named Bryan at this hotel, he delivered such amazing customer service to us, I'll be visiting this hotel again in the future. The pool & hot tub at night are just amazing, the landscaping makes you feel like you're in a tropical paradise.

One of our lights went out and after we told housekeeping in the morning they had someone come to the room within 10 min to replace the bulb. That's awesome service there, they were all courtious and friendly.

I usually don't give an excellent rating unless it truely was one, so rare for me to do so. I love this hotel though! You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade, choose the tropical view rooms...on the first floor (you get a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninjaeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    496
    186
    94
    61
See reviews for
418
578
58
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just got back from a family vacation to San Diego and we stayed a couple of our nights at Humphreys. It is on Shelter Island which is about 5 min. from the airport (but you don't hear any of the noise) and is very close to restaurants and the beautiful marina. Our room was in section A (this is fine as long as there are no shows going on that night as our balcony faced the outdoor stage where they often have performances) and it was clean and well maintained. The bathroom looked recently redone with granite counters and there were plenty of clean towels for the whole family. The shower temperature was a bit temperamental but otherwise, fine. The beds were comfy and there is a safe and a small fridge in the room. They have a lovely little pond with fish and turtles in it as well as 2 beautiful large parrots sitting around in the open area (my kids loved it). The heated pool is huge and warm (83F) with lots of comfy seats around it and there was also a hot tub. Even in the cool evenings, you can swim in it! We never tried their restaurant but apparently it's decent. You are right on the marina so you can see the open water and lots of boats (lovely sight!). They do charge you $10 a night for parking and $9.85 a day for resort fee but the grounds are well maintained and they do offer free bike rental (2 hours) if you want it. I needed some directions and tourist info and the front desk was very helpful and friendly. They also have a computer station with a printer which I used for free to print out our boarding passes for our flight home. All in all I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a early sleeper or there with little kids during their concert season, do not choose sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn-world-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

the rooms were big and clean, the bed was wonderful and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed three days and cant wait to go back in the summer and enjoy an out door concert on the stage. The bar had great food and the live music we had the best stay and the best time. At breakfast the tables by the window make you feel like your sitting over the water.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Island, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were clean and the grounds were immaculate. The girl at the front desk was very helpful providing us with coupons for area attractions. The resort was conveniently located for us to get any where we wanted to go. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

this place is by the ocean, so as all ocean front the wood gets worn quickly, but there are people everywhere making sure everything is clean and maintained. I walked the grounds because i did not have a chance to spend much daylight hours at the resort, I kicked myself for not booking an extra day for some R & R. Since it was 75 degrees and I was leaving for -10 degrees in the morning. I did eat in lounge, sit at bar , and listened to the nightly entertainment, which again i kicked myself. I will return, I will schedule more time, so I can enjoy the area and resort.

Room Tip: Second floor may have a better view, but first floor outside rooms have small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamLake_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a great find! After reading some of the reviews I was a little unsure of what to expect. We could not be happier! This is a beautiful property in a great location! The majority of the rooms have a pool or bay view. All rooms have a patio area for sitting outdoors. The landscaping is lush and we'll cared for! There is even a pond with koi fish, turtles and during the day tropical birds! Love it!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddandTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. We got two rooms. Both overlooked the venue where they have concerts etc. And got to view a show bill cosby was putting on. We had no idea!! The girl at the front desk seemed a little unsure of things, but I think it was more that she was new than accommodating. Our rooms were incredible and the views are to die for. Go to San Diego anyway, and when you do, stay here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hoteltravels818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#50 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing