We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #61 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“San Diego”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel is well sited, with stunning views. The rooms are large and well equipped. The pool is excellent and well worth a visit, as is the bar in the evening, both are friendly and welcoming. The reception staff are experienced and professional and helpful at all times.

The hotel is well within reach of local attractions and is worth a visit. The only down side is the breakfast is finished by 9 am, this means for jet lagged travellers and those wishing to have a lie in, it is often over by the time they get there. There is an excellent breakfast/ restaurant within 500 yards. Called the red sail, we found ourselves eating there by choice as it is friendly and the food is truly excellent.

We were given a ground floor room, which had no net. Rut aims or decent blinds, this meant the world could see in as we where placed on the main path around the building, the room is very dark with the curtains drawn. It also meant we could not have a window open at night as it wasn't safe.

Room Tip: Do not take a ground floor room, as there are no net curtains, the world gets to watch you, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    507
    189
    97
    62
See reviews for
431
589
60
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a welcome rest from the hustle and bustle of LA and Las Vegas. Beautiful location, fabulous staff, only too willing to help. So very clean. Rooms are fabulously spacious with a welcome cosy feel. Very child friendly. Great heated pool. I will now relax and enjoy my second week of our road trip in this fabulous setting. Thank you so much for the upgrade, we love it! Definitely recommend this amazing holiday retreat.
Love the Hobbs family x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Humphreys San Diego is a great place to get away, yet be close to all San Diego has to offer. Throw in the live concerts in the summer months and friendly staff and you will see why we enjoyed ourselves so much. Rooms could stand a little updating, but are very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are going to a concert, you need to book early. If not going to a concert, be sure one is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim4FallbrookRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have stayed here many times and there is no place like it. The view, the live music the food and the staff are all wonderful here. I cannot say enough good things.
Do yourself a favor and check it out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We checked into the hotel and we're greeted by friendly staff. But, when we went to park, the parking lots were small and cost $10 a day. We went into the room and saw a nice clean room. When we went to the bathroom, there were pipes sticking out and the paint on the front door was peeling off. Also, in the bathroom the sinks were not glued down properly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I like the ability to get away to a little slower pace every now and then. This is the destination for those not looking to be right in the middle of San Diego. The property is older but very well maintained. My one complaint was that our A/C unit was extremely loud but other than that we really enjoyed the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor, we stayed up front and wished we would have booked a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved this hotel located on Shelter Island. Easy to get to, low price. Clean rooms,exellent shuttle bus. And the room there was very comfortable, spacious, I even had an illusion that I had stayed in a hotel of four stars or five stars.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiwei h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing