We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retraction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #57 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had previously written a review below. However after speaking to the Comptroller, Michael H.from Humphrey's corporate office. He has assured me that all of my experiences will be addressed in a timely manner. I was extremely please with the outcome of my conversation with him. I would then advise anyone to give Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites in San Diego a try knowing that Michael H. would have my concerns corrected and that they care enough to make all of your experiences with them a very pleasant & memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at Humphreys for one night and it was great. We took advantage of the restaurant which was pretty good with a great view of the harbor. We went to the evening nightclub and had a great time listening to music and dancing. The hotel is across from the beach and we had a great walk both on the day we arrived and the morning before we left. The staff were very friendly too. Our room had a great view of the harbor and was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The end suite is very nice but the balcony is really small...no problem for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay at Humphrey's. It has a resort-like feel and all of the staff are very accommodating. The rooms are nice and I also was able to visit one of the suites which was very spacious and had a beautiful view of the sailboats in the harbor. The prices are average and I thought worth it. There are several restaurants nearby, and I recommend Miguel's Mexican and Nellie's Deli.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Upon entering the check in desk the attendent was very nice but I was not taken over by the dark & dimly lit lobby. It was not welcoming at all. It was mid afternoon so I'm not talking about dusk or evening. Then we got to our room & the first thing we noticed was how dark it was. We put all the lights on but the wattage was 25 so it made no difference. The walls were dark paneled & the ceiling had dark beams. The only helpful light was when we opened the shutters onto the private patio. The patio was nice but we had a room facing the parking lot. That was no big deal as we were out everyday. But when we returned in the evening, reading was not pleasant because of the lighting. They give you a 'passport' booklet with numerous discounts that really do not ad up to any great bargain. Also even if you read the piece of paper ( that was never handed to us. I saw it upon check out) that explains that there are offers given to you for local patronage locations. One of which we learned about through Trip Advisor is the complimentary sample appetizer when dining at The Brigantine Restaurant down the road. The food was delicious especially the comp appetizer! Pricey but worth it. Now back to the room. It was very very clean. The bathroom must have been remodeled recently & it was pretty. Except the faucet was hanging by a thread & when we called to tell them, their response was "do you want us to come to fix it?" On a second call to them to see if we could get higher wattage light bulbs the wonderful Fabio came with the same wattage! That's all they have there is 25W!!! So while he was there we showed him the faucet & he tighten it within 1 minute! As for having breakfast the prices are high, the food is only average at best & the coffee is HORRIBLE! Go the the fancy McDonals on Rosecrans if you want good coffee. Then I paid cash for the meal & I stupidly wrote my last name on the check & the waitress not only took my cash but then the same amount got charged to my room. I had thrown away the receipt but upon check out the manager believed me. So if you're paying any other way cash or credit do not put your name or room # on the check. Also, we had at least $36 in charges that were not on our original bill prior to staying here. We expected the parking charges & the entertainment as well as state tax but they hit you for another fee. We traveled from San Diago to San Francisco and no others had added on any other fees & by far I had prettier rooms, views & experiences that were wonderful over Humphreys. Try the Kona Kai it's a really nice place as we walked there & took a tour of their property & rooms & they were much nicer. I wish we had stayed there instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great stay there. The room was beautiful and clean. We had dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and although a little expensive it was worth it. I would definitely stay there again. Not a far drive from anything San Diego has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Its amazing, and romantic and I wish i went there with a boyfriend :( :DD Anyway, the hotel is like a dream-house or something like that- the pool is especially remarkable, totally going to have my honeymoon there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariq D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I actually stayed here a couple of years ago. And wish I had stayed there again this trip. The property has a lovely feel with their plant lined walkways. The room was nicely laid out and had both a fridg and microwave. Everything seemed to be well maintained with no foul odors or the need for cover up scents. I did have an electrical problem with my first room which caused the breaker to trip. Their maintenance worker resonded quickly and tried to fix the problem. When that proved unsuccessful Front Office promptly swicthed me to another room, and provided someone to help me relocate my belongings. Very curtious and responsive to the customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#49 of 278 in San Diego
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £103 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing