We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot and concert venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Ranked #58 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice spot and concert venue”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were only there for one short night, but Shelter Island is nice with lots of boats. Feiendly staff and nice room. If you can catch an act at the concert venue, it might be fun to watch from your balcony - if you book one of the rooms that overlooks the stage.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flag_AZ_Snow_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    514
    190
    97
    62
See reviews for
441
600
62
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family of 6 (2 adults + 4 kids) had a view suite overlooking the pool. The room was well equipped with hob, microwave, fridge freezer and all utensils so was great to be able to whip a quick snack for the kids or to make breakfast. Plenty of space to relax with balcony overlooking pool a bonus on warmer evenings. Large LCD TV in lounge and another in master bedroom. Bathroom was a decent size for our large brood and double sinks was a blessing with 4 girls to cater for. Housekeeping everyday and really kept room clean and tidy. Pool area was always clean too, and gardeners were constantly out keeping the gardens immaculate. The hotel is in an ideal location for all San Diego has to offer, about 20 mins from the Zoo and SeaWorld and about the same to gaslamp quarter or centre of town. We also went to the Fashion Valley mall which was about 25 mins. Our only small gripe was that on concert nights, security made us walk a long way round to our room even though it was quite obvious we were not trying to sneak into the concert. Overall a great experience and would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: View suites are I ideal for larger families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was great in a great location we only stopped one night and it was realy good. It had a ballcony with chairs so we sat out at night and ate a take away and drunk wine to relax after driving and just chilled in the middle of a hectic driving holiday. The marina was at the back and the shore line at the front we got the shore line best one in my view. There was an air force base near by so fighter jets fly over and army helicopters are about all the time it was like eating a take away in the vietnam war top marks. They have a big stage at the back for concerts but the one that was on when we stayed the fighter jets and helicopters drowned the noise out

Room Tip: Be aware they hold concerts and shows and theres an air force base near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We usually stay at a nearby place and this day was the first time we could not get a room, due to the holiday traffic, we we get real lucky and the Humphrey Half moon inn had a cancellation. This is a truly wonderful place good food good music and great people. Andy at the front desk made sure to stay past his work shift to make sure to keep the Morlan couple from being outdoors tonight Thank you Andy!!.

Room Tip: get the pool side room you can get a concert in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place was great! It was clean, not too much stuff in the room. Up to date.
The place inside and out was definitely taken care of. Flowers, gardens manicured. Paint was kept up on.
The Staff was so nice! Seemed like everyone liked their job.
Pool area/hot tub was clean!
We had a GroupOn for this place and it was well worth it.

And I know this isn't really the hotels fault but walls alittle thin. Could hear neighbors shower and the neighbors liked to slam their doors and talk loud outside. oh well.. that's just ignorant people..

But would stay again!

Room Tip: Buildings face all different ways- street, pool or harbor. No elevators to 2nd floor - in case of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVandoloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We always stayed here when in San Diego. We will not be back! Loud concerts, blocked access to the pool and laundry. Drunks yelling late at night and oh well, sorry from the front desk. We were charged to park in the parking lot and were even locked in with all the traffic trying to get to the concerts. We were not told that our room was going to loud and the traffic was going to be an issue.

Room Tip: Check into another location. If you want to sleep, sleep somewhere else! $9.95 a day extra for the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a Polynesian style hotel, all the doors open to the outdoors. There are no long dark corridors here. You walk through tropical gardens and a big pool area to get to your room The highest you will be is on the 2nd floor. The suites are spacious and generously appointed, our suite even had a full kitchen in it. We had a completely separate living space from the bedroom and even had a large dressing area complete with makeup area. This is the advantage of staying at an older hotel, the rooms are reminiscent of what suites really used to look like. The disadvantage is that you are in an older hotel and the decor is dated. NOT the fixtures, the bathroom was updated and attractive, but the decor, furniture and such is not the most exciting to look at.

The staff was helpful and inviting. We couldn't get the a/c to work and a technician was at our doorstep within 5 minutes of our call. Of course there was nothing wrong with the unit, we just didn't understand how to get it to stay on. Our bed was comfortable and the 2 large flat screen tvs didn't hurt our stay either.

We came here for a concert and this worked out amazing for us. We were able to enjoy ourselves and not have to rush home after. We also were able to thoroughly enjoy drinking since we weren't driving anywhere. I did realize though that for the hotel guests that were not going to the concert, they would get to listen to the music whether they liked it or not. This may be too loud for guests wanting to get to bed early.

We however will be coming back to the Inn, we really enjoyed our stay and there's a lovely restaurant attached for your meals.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the marina, this way you look out over the bay and you can enjoy the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABadu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#51 of 278 in San Diego
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing