We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Ranked #62 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We love Humphreys! It is not in the middle of downtown so it is very quiet! Yet it is still close to major attractions! The grounds are very tropical and gorgeous. Our room was done up in a spa motiff, so it was very relaxing. We will definitely be staying at Humphreys whenever we getaway to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCmomof2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    502
    187
    95
    61
See reviews for
424
580
59
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

Check-in went ok although thought receptionist a bit cool. Had to ask for restaurant discount coupons. First impression of our room was that it was dingy and so dull. Well in need of a makeover. Really liked the private patio area though that faced over the San Diego Bay area - ideal for morning coffee. Interior grounds and gardens were beautifully kept and very lush. Found the water in the pool to be quite cold for our liking, just managed to have a quick dip and out. Hotel is a bit isolated but the bus stop is a good 7 minute walk away if you prefer to leave the car behind. We paid $10 a day to park which is a rip off really as where else can you park? There is free street parking but it has time limits to it.

The view across the bay from our room at the front of the hotel was beautiful at night with San Diego all lit up. By day it was possible to see the USS Midway with binoculars plus the ferries and cruise ships.

Found the bed to be really comfortable but the pillows thin and full of lumps! The top of the plug plunger in the washbasin kept coming off and the plug hole looked a bit rusty. More then time for a complete makeover.

John Legend was in concert whilst we were here although being Brits we had never heard of him - it was possible to sit round the pool and listen to the concert for free. Would we come back again? Yes for the actual grounds and views, no for the rooms, even the carpet was 'walking' near the bathroom entrance - very easy to trip if you were a bit unsteady on your feet.

Overall sorry to say, the hotel left us a bit cold. A bit of a disapointment.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

This is a lovely hotel in a great location on Shelter Island. The grounds are fabulous planted like a tropical paradise complete with humming birds. Great pool 25m for a proper swim but loads of shallow end for kids to play. Recommend a "view suite" which will either give you a garden or Marina view. These rooms are clean, large and well equipped. Our rooms decor was a little tired but they are working through upgrading them. The concert venue is unique as a hotel guest you get to eavesdrop on the concerts and they are always over by 10pm so it is not a noise nusiance. Parking is $10 a night so budget for this as there is no alternative overnight parking in the area. You do need a car to get the most from San Diego. We stayed for 2 weeks in the Humphreys and had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIHARDEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Stayed at Humphreys with Virgin Holidays for 11 nights with family consisting 13 and 14 year old daughters and we all loved it. We normally travel independently and probably would not have chosen this one given mixed reviews. All I can say is that a few must have have had isolated problems or enrealistic expectations. The hotel has a nice pool and is a good location for visiting San Diego and its environs.

You need a car as the hotel is off the trolley route. Also on concert evenings make sure you are somewhere else or you like the band performing - it's loud!

We would stay again and I recommend it. However, as indicated by others push for a good room on the pool or green side. They do upgrade people on longer stays but may be harder on one/two nighters.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

My family has stayed at Humphrey's for years. We always have a great relaxing time. What makes Humprey's our choice is the suites. We have and teen and elementary girls and two 2 year old twins. A standard room just doesn't cut it anymore. Having lots of room and a full kitchen makes for a much more pleasant stay.We booked a Grand marina suite for the first week of August. When we arrived, the room was a mess! The carpet was dirty and there were several large red stains (looked like spilled drinks). The patio was covered in mashed in bread and food, and there were half empty water bottles and dozens and dozens of cigarette butts. Okay, dirty floors and cig butts and not cool when you have two toddlers! We called the front desk and someone came and cleaned up some (not all) of the mess outside. I talked to someone at the front counter who sounded sorry, but didn't really do anything. She said she would tell the manager. The first night was awful. My wife walked around in white socks and after a couple of hours the bottoms were BLACK. It was so bad we talked about leaving the next morning and just going home.

That night I read the postings on tripadvisor and saw that Dawn Sanders responded to a few. The next morning my wife and I asked to meet with Dawn in private. I explained what had happened and our disappointment in our favorite hotel. Dawn was genuinely concerned, explained that the suites had not yet been renovated. I told her that the room was okay...it just needed a real good cleaning and that the cleaning staff didn't seem motivated to fix problems that were pointed out. Dawn understood and asked for a chance to make it right or send us to another property for the rest of the week.

While we were out Dawn had our carpets cleaned with a "dry foam" that made a huge difference. The red stains were all but gone and out feet stayed clean when walking on the carpet. I think they should clean the carpets at least once a week. Here's the nice part. I specifically told Dawn that the money really wasn't the issue for us...we just wanted a nice vacation in a clean hotel with our kids and we would pay more to stay elsewhere if need be. But after the room was cleaned to our satisfaction Dawn knocked half off our first night's stay. And then send a nice fruit/cookie/coffee platter to our room one of the nights (a REAL hit with the kids). They also sent a note offering us a free in room movie that week. All in all, Dawn KNOWS how to take care of customers. She couldn't make the room perfect (it is older...) but she went above and beyond in making us feel liked valued guests.

I ate at the restaurant a couple of times with the older girls that week...a bit pricey, but really good!

On our last day we checked out and Dawn was there. I asked for another 25% discount voucher because we were going to grab a quick lunch with all the kids and then drive home. After settling the bill, Dawn gave me a certificate that paid for lunch for everyone. We already were happy with the hotel...we already paid the bill. But Dawn bought us lunch on the way out anyway. Again, Dawn Sanders is a great asset to Humphrey's! We WILL be back!

The moral of the story is this: if you have ANY issues, don't complain, don't grumble, and don't keep it to yourself. Let Dawn know and I guarantee she will do everything to fix the problem and make you feel valued as a customer and guest.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socalbc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Loved it! the hotel is laid back but still has a five star feel. Rooms are large, make sure that you are not over looking the car park, we paid an extra $10 per night and upgraded to a lovely garden view. The staff are friendly and eager to please, the pool was lovely and relaxing, with a great pool bar and jazz being played. The restaurant is amazing and well worth paying a bit extra for, and the back stage bar is great fun, with happy hour and live music. Hotel guests do not pay to get in. Would defiantly go back there for longer that the 4 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We were in room 439 and it was not like the positive writeups and pictures. We were in a cramped, old smelling, dirty and outdated room. The surfacing on the stairs leading to the room were peeling and there was rotted sections of wood. Gum was stuck on the patio floor. The windows were dirty with greasy fingerprints from a previous traveller. The bathroom tiles were moldy and the grout had seen better days. The bathroom fixtures were worn and rusty. The airconditioning vent had thick black gobs of dust. The carpet was old and stained. We don't even want to know what was in the fabric headboards. The curtains were stained and dirty. We tried to switch rooms but they were booked full. We paid $10/day for parking and had ants in the rental car when we had no spills or food in the car. My children had noticed lots of ants in the parking lot the previous day. We stayed 3 out of 10 nights and then switched to a different hotel at a different location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbkbcbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#54 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Property: Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites
Address: 2303 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3109
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complemented by arching palms and gentle ponds are Humphreys’ beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Many of our accommodations offer patios or balconies with stunning views of San Diego Bay or the dramatic skyline. All the amenities that you would find at a luxury resort are offered at Humphreys Half Moon Inn and Suites. Thoughtful conveniences include 42” HD flat panel TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, hairdryers, iron and boards, pay-per-view movies, in-room safes and free high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphreys Half Moon Hotel San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suites
Hotel Humphreys Half Moon
Half Moon San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn And Suite San Diego
Humphreys Half Moon Inn Suite
Humphreys Half Moon In San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing