We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #69 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Solana Beach, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Bed was excellent, room was very good and the free breakfast was great. Overall I was very satisfied with my stay. I'm having to add a few words because, apparently, my review is too short! Good grief, still too short. How many bloody words do you need!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    233
    86
    34
    22
See reviews for
231
143
53
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just got back from a family trip to CA, we spent most of our stay in west Hollywood (just outside of Beverly Hills) and 2 days in San Diego. We had a great room in WH, but our room here was bigger, nicer and about $100 cheaper. It is also in a nice neighborhood and included a hot breakfast and free parking. The hotel just finished renovations, we had a suite which included 2 bathrooms (one full one half) a separate living room with pull out sofa bed and tv and double doors you could close for privacy, and also included a mini fridge microwave and sink area. It gave our little one plenty of room to run around. I love that the bedding is cleaned every day for every guest, and they leave a little post it on your headboard to let you know your sheets and blankets are fresh for you.
The staff was very accommodating, our daughter is 16 months old and they were happy to track down crayons and paper for her. The breakfast selection included scrambled eggs, delicious sausage, make your own waffle station, and all the rest of the staples (bagels, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal & pastries).
I only wish we spent more of our vacation here, we will definitely book here again if we come back to San Diego!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehcdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The staff was very helpful in guiding us in our inquiry on the Coaster, San Diego's commuter train. We had an accessible room with great shower options on the first floor. Complementary breakfast had a large avariety

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Pleasantly surprised! I'm usually a Marriott person since I'm a member and I would've stayed next door at Residence Inn. But this time, I stayed here since I used Hotel Tonight. I'm a Hilton HHonor member as well but Hotel Tonight doesn't really honor that. I couldn't even get a receipt from the front desk upon checkout. Oh, after the hotel tonight credits, (look online, there are ways to get free credits upon signing up) I was able to book a room here below $60. The bad thing about hotel tonight is that you won't know how many rooms they have available or how much it costs.

Anyways, this place is close to the freeway but not so close that you can hear the traffic. It is right by the 805 and 5 split. So if you like North County SD like I do, this is the perfect place.

The rooms here leftover for Hotel Tonight are king bed rooms. I was a little hesitant at first but it was large and comfy. It's a little on the softer side but it was stiff enough to get a good night sleep. I've stayed at other hotels with king beds and this was one of the better ones.

The room comes with an electronic thermostat. It works very well when you want the room cold. It also comes with a small fridge (no freezer) and a microwave and a 32" LCD (BTW , I had to play engineer to get the TV to work) 1/2 the shows were in HD and the other half were like watching snowflakes. Good thing I can live on HGTV and Foodnetwork.

The shower amenities are Neutragena. There are enough handtowels for a small army. There is a sensor light to the bathroom which I find was a nice touch. .

The free breakfast here was above average for average fare .You have your typical make your own waffles, oatmeal, 3 kinds of cereal, juice and coffee bar, hot eggs and turkey sausages, fresh fruit, hardboil eggs (which was not fresh, you can so tell when you try to peel into one of these) , mufffins and breads, yogurts.

The workout room is small but better than most small ones I've seen. 2 treadmills and a elliptical with a TV and some free weights. Behind it is the pool (which is dirty on a Sunday. You can see bugs floating)

Wifi for the day (24 hours) is free, you just have to enter your name and room number.

Parking, you will need a slip of paper from the front desk to put on your windshield. You can also park below the hotel grounds. It's between the hotel and AM /PM / Taco Bell. I do see street parking as well in addition to the outside lot.

Checkout is 12pm. Keys are magnetic so you don't have to insert in and out when you don't have the patience when you're half drunk. Highly recommended to stay here. It's clean, quiet, and you'll get a good night rest.

Room Tip: If you have rooms on the bottle 1st floor with even numbers like I did, it's right by the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nospace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Hotel is perfectly positioned between LEGOLAND , San Diego , lots of great beaches close by. Nice rooms , great new updated facility , great free parking around facility and underneath parking garage . Breakfast standard Hampton Breakfast with something for everybody .Vons Grocery store as well as Restaurants close by .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bubbles123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Bathroom toiletries were left from the previous guest. Overall room and facilities in good shape, just not appreciative to find already used bar of soap in soap dish. Location is somewhat cumbersome since the property is setback from the main road. Luckily, this was a return visit to the hotel. Otherwise location is good for meetings in the Torrey Reserve/Del Mar area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pros: 1) Clean and decent rooms 2) Supportive staff 3) Good and healthy breakfast 4) Nice swimming pool 5) 24 hrs Internet connection 6) Nice location (You will find lot of restaurants, grocery stores near by - walkable distance) Cons: 1) Coin Laundry is missing 2) Internet connection needs to be reset with your checked-in room credentials every 24 hrs. This will be a painful if your connection gets disconnected in between the meetings as part of 24 hrs duration.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anil_atp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#87 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing