We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible night sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

noisy room all night. we requested specific room or nearby location. despite early arrival and request on our reservation, the assigned room was in a different inferior hotel location. noise kept us up all night. very unhappy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Win H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drehobl, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Win,

We appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel.We apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations and that noise kept you up all night. While we strive to meet every room type request, we understand that it can be difficult when the request is not met. We invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We chose this hotel as it is very close to medical offices we were visiting. All things considered, it was a good value and we would stay there again. The only downside was the noise from the air conditioner and the refrigerator, both of which kept waking us up throughout the night. In the future, I would cool the room down before bed, then turn the air conditioner off. As for the refrigerator, I would just unplug it. The beds were very comfortable, and the room clean and safe. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and the free parking was a welcome surprise considering parking in San Diego can be pricey.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ciaogirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

With so may choices around this hotel for other hotels, I urge other travelers to pay extra and not stay here. The room was filthy and stinky. The AC was loud and barely worked. The walls were thin and could hear every noise around us. The bathtub had rust stains and the staff did not fix the problem. We paid over $800 for 4 nights - incredibly overpriced and disgusting accommodations. Other than dry cereal and whole fruit, breakfast was not eatable. I wouldn't stay in this hotel, let alone a Hampton Inn, again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
4  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drehobl, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Jenny,

Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I understand that the appearance and condition of your room was a concern. We are working to correct the A/C issue and we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our breakfast experience. I do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I came to town for a conference. Although I wasn't super close to the event (due to last minute planning and lots of local events going on that week) I was completely satisfied. Initially, I was so upset to find that the Hilton was booked and my travel agent was trying to sell me on the Hampton Inn. I was forced to take this room. And after all the whining and complaining, I ended up loving it. I came in very late after visiting friends in LA. it seemed very SECLUDED, dark and a little scary. But once I got to the hotel I realized it was clean, up to date, stylish, trendy and the staff was extremely nice and accommodating. I was able to earn Hilton Honor rewards points. The breakfast was FREE and actually pretty good. Housekeeping was thorough and kept my room well stocked. While staying there for 4 days, I've came across several staff members, all just as nice, and helpful as the next. I would say I received just as good of service and the room was just about as nice as the Hilton Pasadena that I had just spent the previous nights at. But with this hotel i paid slightly less, i didn't have to pay for parking (but missed the valet) and did I say FREE breakfast. No stale donuts. I'm talking fresh pastries, hot and cold cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, waffle maker, fresh fruit and assorted juices and more. AMAZING! I would stay here again if I had to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location: quiet atmosphere but very close to freeway and shopping. The fourth floor room was very quiet, clean and beautifully decorated.
Plentiful breakfast with a number of hot items and cut fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blut M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this HI over the Memorial Day weekend and was not disappointed. Last time in the area we stayed at the Residence Inn located right next door. This was clean, comfortable, coffee/tea all day long, nice pool (but no jacuzzi), and great breakfast. Easy to get to Padres game & Old Town San Diego, & no craziness of "no parking available". Great area & just up the street movie theatres, shopping, & restaurants. Makes for a relaxing family weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked one night for Sunday Memorial Day weekend, we found the lowest rate $110/night for holiday weekend compared to surrounding comparable hotels. The Cons: Hotel is oddly located behind the Residence Inn, across from the Doubletree, right next to the 56 freeway, gas station and Taco Bell, very small workout room and pool. The Pros: The outside appears bland but clean, the large inside lobby has a very relaxing welcoming set up, plenty of comfortable nice looking furniture seating areas, with roomy space and layout. Free Coffee and tea available all day in the lounge/breakfast area. Professional, welcoming customer service at check in and out, we were allowed to check in early about 0100. The included breakfast was very good, fresh and plenty of nice choices, great deal to be included in the nightly rate. There was eggs with ham, thick potato wedges, fresh fruit, tasty breads/muffins, fresh oatmeal, yogurt, cereals, juices, coffee, tea. Our room was roomy/clean, the ac worked well, bed felt great, nice linen/towels, freeway noise not too loud, good internet connection included. Free parking available in their lot and underground parking also. Within 15-20 mins. to La Jolla and downtown San Diego, very close to beaches. We were very happy and impressed with the service, our room, the hotel's large welcoming lobby setup, the wonderful breakfast, the great rate and relative proximity to other San Diego locations. We will definitely recommend and return to this Hampton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the freeway and top floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimeFourFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
#106 of 278 in San Diego
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#107 of 278 in San Diego
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £98 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing