We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had called front desk spoke to Gia about closet door latch and soon as I hang up the phone in less than 10 minutes maintenance was knocking at door. Breakfast was great as well, location precise nice quiet. In the evening we did not want drive anywhere so we asked front desk about near by restaurants they recommended Tio Leo which is beside the hotel and front desk gave us a 10 percent coupon to eat at restaurant. I will come and stay again for future visits to California.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    229
    85
    34
    21
See reviews for
225
140
52
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was comfortable and clean. Loved the complimentary breakfast! The hotel was close to a shopping center with Starbucks and gas station. Carlsbad outlet stores, La Jolla and downtown San Diego were all within distance of approx. 18 miles or less.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank trop86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Not located downtown, but only 15 minutes from most everything. This is a lovely little hotel, the suite with separate bedroom and living room (sleeper couch) worked great when traveling with adult daughter. Free parking which is locked at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very accomodating for big groups and Great hotel with excellent service. Hotel was nice, large shower, clean room, fast elevator. Perfect location and access to freeways. I recommend for Soccer groups.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jairo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was appalled at their policy of washing sheets every night. Not even an option to opt out of this program. Everything else about this hotel was really nice but please don't stay at a Hampton Inn until they change this policy. Especially in California where we are in an extreme drought. NOT a green hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank doreenb669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drehobl, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regards to our sheet washing policy. We apologize that you weren’t satisfied with this and we invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawndale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Paid $250/night to stay here for Comic Con. The room was average and was a 20 minute drive away from the convention center. I would rather pay more and stay in the Gaslamp district next year. Not worth $250.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spent 4 nights at this hotel during Memorial Day. Everything went smoothly, from check-in through check-out. The hotel was busy, but it never felt crowded. I appreciated the nightly secured parking, the complimentary breakfast and the vicinity to few restaurants when I did not feel like taking the short drive to the center of Del Mar.
I travel to San Diego/Del Mar often, and this is my first choice it will not cost you a fortune.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabioc795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#86 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar

Property: Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Address: 11920 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hampton Inn Del Mar
San Diego Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing