We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Comfort and Value in the heart of old town"”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #135 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jacinto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Comfort and Value in the heart of old town"”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Western Inn is an older hotel in a great location and because it is a smaller hotel I always feel safe and secure.Easy walk to the center of historic Old Town but far enough away to avoid the noise.The rooms are clean,the beds comfortable and the staff always friendly and accommodating.Easy access on and off the freeway is a definite plus! I have stayed at this establishment on several occasions and have recommended this hotel to both family and friends .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    112
    58
    23
    24
See reviews for
108
99
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, co
Level Contributor
251 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Probably the least expensive place in Old Town. The room I was in is good sized, clean and comfortable.

Walking distance (~4 blocks) to San Diego Avenue, where the main part of Old Town is located.

No pool or anything like that, just a clean, comfortable room.

The only minuses are I heard other people clunking around the room above me early. I happened to get the room right next to the elevator, so a bit of noise from that, but not too bad.

Overall, a good stay for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agolddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope next time you come to San Diego we can earn a 5 star. We hope you enjoyed our great city and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The room was very clean and super quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located at walking distance from the historic Old Town and fine dining and very close to Sea World and the San Diego Zoo. I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Every room seems to be well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthro4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is clean and nice, the staff is friendly and it is very well located, so for the price I paid it was more than fine. However, the breakfast included is limited and you'll have to go back to your bedroom to have it because there's no space in the lobby. The bedrooms are quite dark as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had to be in San Diego for business and stayed at Western Inn & Suites. The service was great and the room was clean for a great price. I got business done during the day and walked over to Old Town at night. I would recommend this to anyone looking for something clean, good service, good location at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schuey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Western Inn is a good value for the money. It is in a great location near historic Old Town and the surrounding restaurants and the Trolley line. The staff were friendly. The rooms were basic, but clean. The beds were comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesquite
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Manager was polite. room was clean. It was comfortable. Easy place to walk to restaurants. Bathroom was clean and shower. Breakfast was pretty simple only sweet bread and coffee.
Good place to stay to sleep and relax. They have so many Mexican restaurants a little hard to find American food. second day we just order pizza.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Property: Western Inn
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing