We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, easy walking around.”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is walking distance to the activities, restaurants, and shops around Old Town also the MTS tram that brings you downtown. We planned to park our car at the hotel (it's $8 for guests) and access Old Town and Downtown on foot and that worked out as planned. We got a great deal per night for staying two nights which was fine considering there was much to do and see over the Cinco de Mayo weekend. Check in staff was very friendly and helpful. They brought extra pillows up to our room after check-in, noticing it was listed as a request. We appreciated that all the rooms have a microwave and refrigerator to save our yummy Mexican warm ups. My only complaint would be the noise. Walls seemed to allow sound to pass through fairly easy between neighbors to early morning housekeeping. The toilet also was randomly filling with water through the night but we just closed the door to the bathroom. Also, the noise and light through the windows with only shutters facing the street made it hard to stay asleep early in the morning. Overall for the price I got the quality I expected, but I missed out on some sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the street had a lot of street noise and light come through, but I did see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

nice little hotel close to everything fair priced due to remodeling going on staff very helpful rooms and hallways being upgraded, be.lieve 6 months will rate very good to excellent rating, need to improve breakfast menue

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was not expecting much, especially given the low price on Easter weekend, however I was pleasantly surprised. For the price, the room was very clean and there no "extra room guests." I checked that RIGHT away! lol The only negative I would mention is that there is an unmentioned $8 per night parking charge that was not mentioned anywhere. That tacked another $28 onto the room once they got done taxing it. Otherwise, pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great hotel only 2 blocks from old San Diego, The price was was very reasonable. The desk clerk was great and always available to help us get cab and give advice. Just a great place to stay.
There is also free wifi and contentail breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I've stayed here twice and been very happy both times. We had a family room for four of us this time. Three beds, plenty of room. There is free wi-fi and a buffet breakfast. Great value. Recommended. You are in the middle of Old Town which is a good base with lots of restaurants and good access to transport via buses and the Trolley.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

evidence of leak on ceiling - black stain could have been mold; peeling wallpaper; skimpy continental breakfast & no place to eat it in the lobby, and only 1 lopsided office chair in the room, so one of us had to sit on the bed and eat. would not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank mrsafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We asked for a nonsmoking room but the room smelled like a smoking room. Our luggage and clothes now smell like stale cigarette smoke. The worst smelling room we have ever stayed in. Woke up with a terrible sinus headache due to the smell. Manager would not move us to another room and we were not offered a refund. I would never stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolrs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are sorry that you were unhapply with your room. We are a 100% non smoking hotel and are sorry that your room smelled out smoke we did run Ozone machine in your room and the front desk did inform you that when you come back let us know if it stilled smelled like smoke we did not hear from you and when we removed the machine the smoke smell was removed. When you came back to your room if you had called us we would have refunded your money but you never told us for a refund and we could have also help you find something else in the area.
Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#10 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#30 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £57 - £748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing