We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice staff with clean but outdated rooms and very hard bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Western Inn & Suites
Ranked #139 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Very nice staff with clean but outdated rooms and very hard bed.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The room was large and accommodating and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great once you learn your way around the city. A GPS would be helpful. The window shutters were inadequate and curtains would be most beneficial. The bed size was great but it was not comfortable and the hotel as a whole could use some updating.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    111
    57
    23
    24
See reviews for
105
99
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place has an amazing price being that it's summer and in the middle of the historical park museum. 4 min away walking distance to all restaurants and museums and bars. PERFECT!!!! Our room included microwave and fridge and coffee maker. King size bed for an amazing reasonable price. And they also give you a small but generous complimentary breakfast ticket for cafe coyote restaurant. Only negative I would have to give this hotel is that they charge $8 for parking in the hotel premises.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YariandArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy Old Town without driving their and walk back to the hotel. As you know all of our room comes with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and wireless internet without paying extra. We hope you see you again when you come back to San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After spending so much time researching the best place to stay in San Diego but at a sensible price I finally chose the Western Inn.

The location was very good, around a 10-minute walk away from the Old Town Transit Center which is where most of my public transport needs were for the Trolley, Coaster, Pacific Surfliner and buses.

The room on the third floor was very spacious with a king size bed, desk and chair, a fridge/freezer, microwave, air condition unit, television, carpets were a bit worn and walls could do with a paint job to brighten the room up. The bathroom was in good condition, a bath and shower combination with hot running water every day.

My only aggravation was the abysmal advertised Wi-Fi. I had 3 devices capable of running wi-fi, but the reception was absolutely terrible and barely usable. You certainly couldn't get a signal in the room anywhere other than the bathroom or sitting by the entrance to the room !!! Even then the output was so poor it took forever accessing the internet.

Aside from the wi-fi issue, I enjoyed the stay in a very quiet peaceful road away from Old Town. The Freeway does run close by the hotel, but once you close your window any noise from that is blocked.

If I return to San Diego I wouldn't have any hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest. Thank your for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Western Inn Old Town. We are very delighted to hear we that we are Good value for the money. We are sorry for your internet signal. Our staff work hard in providing excellent experiences to our guest and hope next time you come we can get a 5 star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Western Inn was clean and tidy. It is however a budget/discount hotel. The amenities are very limited, (no desk chair, ancient TV, external noise from freeway)but if you are looking for an inexpensive place to "crash" this place will work. Proximity to Old Town a plus. Would not recommend families.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMac31752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Valid Guest.

We are surprise that you were able to hear the highway noise because the hotel right next to us sit right on the highway and block all the noise because are are on the side street. We do have great rates and all of our rooms comes with coffee maker, free wireless internet, microwave and refrigerator without any extra cost. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've stayed here before several times over the past 10 years and it's the only hotel I stay in when I visit San Diego. Staff are friendly and the rooms are more homely looking. You can walk to Old Town from the hotel. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valid Guest We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and guest like you who keep coming back to us showed that we providing great service. Our staff looks forwarding in seeing you again when you come to Old Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

An older hotel that could do with an overhaul externally, but once in the room, very spacious and well appointed, and very good value for money. Sanjay on the front desk went out of his way to give great advice and assistance. The "Old Town" was quiet, but the tram service into downtown San Diego is fast and efficient.A larger hotel but at motel prices, and quiet location may well suit after the "bustle" of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicenigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka,In
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Record heat in San Diego and the Western Inn saved us. The front desk mgr.let us check out the room before we stayed. Older hotel in the Old Town area with renovations being done. The room was ok and the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was cold,ahh. Fridge and microwave in the room. The manager went to Purdue and you would be hard pressed to find a man with a better attitude. We will stay again when we visit family and look forward to the updates. Also the hotel has a parking garage and a small breakfast.

Green Features: Hotel supports the environmentally- friendly practices with message card placed in the bathroom and on the beds.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaJoe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn & Suites

Property: Western Inn & Suites
Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located walking distance to OLD TOWN, Trolley line and close to all major attractions. All rooms comes with free wireless internet, Continental breakfast, coffee maker, and iron. You can walk out and explore over 150 international shops, historic landmarks theme restaurants and art galleries. The San Diego Convention center and Gaslamp is only 10 minutes from the hotel.The Western Inn is just 3 miles from San Diego Airport and 1/2 mile from MCRD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Western Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing