We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Western Inn
Ranked #131 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed here and chose this hotel because it was a good price. It isn't anything flash, but the rooms are clean and air conditioned, the staff are friendly and breakfast is included. It is a great location in old town and has a car park so for a small fee you can park your car off the street, which we found helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Western Inn and found it quite acceptable for us. This is our fouth stay in the Old Town area of San Diego for the ComiCon Convention. The location is good in that the trip to the convention is a simple ten minuted walk from the hotel and a ten minute ride on the trolley train. The train stops right in front of the convention center at two at either end of the building. Now for the uninitiated, there are NO inexpensive hotels stays during the convention. We knew this and Western Inn was one of the least expensive. There are few amenities there. They have a SMALL continental breakfast and wifi in the rooms. The wifi was pretty much overloaded in the early evening so don't expect a lot. The room was VERY clean and the beds nice. The bathroom had plenty of towels (4). There is a refrigerator and TV in the room but we did nt use them. It was quiet for us. The air conditioner worked and was reasonably quiet. We had a slight problem at first getting into the room. A maintenance person had to come out with a special device to reset the locks. It took little time. There is no bathroom in the lobby. The staff is friendly we tipped them well when we left. A tip for breakfast: Right across the street in a Courtyard my Marriott with a Extended Starbucks inside which serves breakfast. We used their restrooms as well. For breakfast, I had fried eggs, bacon, toast and potatoes with my coffee. My wife had the fruit parfait yogurt. Breakfast was delicious. There are lots of other restaurants nearby as well.

Room Tip: I am not sure. There were rooms on the other side that had exterior tables and chairs. The nearby fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gus and Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a family owned and run hotel in a great location in Old Town San Diego. Perfect for walking to the many restaurants and shops. Large rooms, very clean and comfortable.
Could use a little updating but all in all the staff were very friendly and our stay pleasant. A free continental breakfast in the lobby was provided.

Room Tip: I only saw our room so have no comparisons. It seemed that all the rooms have that air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chacha298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I did not expect the rooms to be as big and clean as they were. I was very pleased with the room and how clean it was for the price we paid. They charge for parking so we parked on the street which was fine because it was a quiet street. The man at the front desk was very nice. The bathroom could have been cleaner. Good location for a short walk to Old Town. May visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Don't book through Expedia. hotels dot com was 60 bucks lower. For prices shown on Hotels dot com it is a good deal. it is an older hotel, but the room was quite large and also clean. Great water pressure in the shower. Friendly employees. The location is only a few blocks from Old Town. they do not have an airport shuttle and there is no lounge, but the Courtyard by Marriott is across the street and has a small bar an food during specific hours. .The Courtyard employees were also very nice. I promised to tip the driver $10 and they let him shuttle me to the airport.

The important draw back for me was there were far too few electrical outlets, especially near the desk. I also prefer more light in the room, but the windows have great slat blinds that do brighten the room. The ironing board is one of those small ones with 6 inch or so legs, but there really is nowhere to put it at a reasonable height if you are using the desk.

Pretty good value for the money. If spending more is in the budget then you might like other hotels more, but I was good with my 2 night stay there.

Room Tip: They have both smoking and non-smoking as well as an out door smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank randyabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There is no wifi on the 3rd floor and the only thing that your smart phone or iPad will get for the wifi id is "Stayoffmywifi". If you want to save $$$, don't pay for parking, because there are curb side parking spaces around the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerninn, Manager at Western Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hello

We are sorry for the problem you had for the wireless problem on the 3rd floor, we did find out that our access point went down but we are able to take care of that problem. Once again we are sorry that the wireless did not work while you were staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have been here twice and never was told they had a pool and fitness center.I mainly chose this hotel because it is near the freeway and Old town San Diego and relatives to visit and to take the Trolley Tour

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn

Address: 3889 Arista St, San Diego, CA 92110-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#31 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Inn And Suites
Western Hotel San Diego
Western Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing