We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Point Loma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Point Loma
Ranked #213 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had to make a reservation for a place to stay literally last minute, and we found Pt. Loma. We loved it! Room was recently remodeled and looked great. Full size fridge(w/ freezer) and sink. Had microwave and stove. Floor was some kind of hardwood and tile hybrid. customer service was great. Don't expect a full breakfast. You may have to find parking a couple streets away in residential as the parking lot was crazy packed. Overall we loved it. It was one of the cheapest in San Diego, and we enjoyed our stay much more than we have with "more expensive" hotels we have stayed at in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    53
    27
    17
    29
See reviews for
41
59
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I enjoyed my 3 night stay. It's a small hotel, not a lot of rooms. Parking is compact but manageable. Be sure to ask about late parking. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to satisfy my requests. The rooms are average but clean and comfortable. Location is awesome! I love to walk so getting the stores and restaurants without a car was a treat. It's also very close to attractions in a car. Didn't see any breakfast although I was only awake early enough one of the days. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I liked my room but was curious about the rooms with the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yemaiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brawley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were @ the hotel for 2 nights on 7/31 & 8/1/14. Our stay was nice, the hotel is in a great location, restaurants and businesses within walking distance. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Parking is very tight. I read reviews where people complained about the continental breakfast. What needs to be remembered is that it is COMPLIMENTARY...not required. We felt that coffee, juice and a muffin were fine to get the day started. Desk staff and Cleaning Personnel were all friendly and helpful. We would stay again if in that area.

Room Tip: The upstair rooms are the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
492 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our first impression of the motel was strange due to the "high" manager. We are not experts but something was not really normal with her. All information that she gave about "not smoking in the room" and "not using towels to remove make-up" was reasonable but too much repeating for a non-smoking and non-idiotic couple.

The second impression (that was also negative) was about parking. When we arrived, there was no space available for us. We told her about it, so she took out her car away from the street near the motel to make an available space for our car. The same story happened during next evening, but this time, the manager let us wait till some car left the motel's parking.

A small tip from us would be that you need to make sure to arrive early because the manager leaves the check-in area before the midnight.

Our room supposed to be fully renovated, and it looked like that at first. The walls were fresh painted, and there were new furniture. However, the fridge was not working. Another surprise for us was the clock of the room. It was like a horror film scene, when the clock started randomly "singing" and showing different numbers. None of the buttons worked to stop it, so we needed to unplug it. In the morning, we asked the reception to fix both fridge and clock for us, and they did by the time we returned to our room. Another big complain is that rooms have very few plug-ins. Finally, there was expired (since 1 year) free tooth paste.

The breakfast was nothing really special. It was served at the already very small check-in area with no space to sit. It contained 2 types of juices, coffee, some eggs and muffins.

The location of the motel was quite OK but a bit creepy during night. Nothing bad happened but it gave a weird feeling. Near the motel there is a huge port but it doesn't look like a very touristic area. On the other hand, you can find many restaurants around and during very late, like Denny's.

We paid aproximately 100$ per night (including taxes) and it seems that this was the cheapest deal in the whole San Diego locationwise and seanonwise.

Room Tip: Make sure from the beginning that all devices are working in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaki-Papaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write this review. We love and value every opinion of every guest.

I first would like to let you know, that it is standard at all of our hotels to inform you of potential smoking and damage fee’s that could happen during your stay, in order to help avoid those unnecessary charges.

Thank you so much for noticing our renovation. We are a small family owned hotel who tries very hard to keep our hotel updated and relevant with the times. This includes brand new furniture in the rooms, as well as amenities like refrigerators and in room coffee pots. Thank you so much for notifying the staff when certain items in your room did not work, I am so happy we were able to respond and fix those issues for you so quickly. Excellent customer service is yet another standard at all of our hotels.

I wish to thank you also, for mentioning our great location. We are located in the heart of Point Loma next to many very amazing restaurants and attractions. There are so many great things to do just minutes away from out hotel and we love being able to provide that hassle free feeling because we are so accessible to many great places like SeaWorld, The San Diego Zoo, the Gaslamp quarter and so much more!

Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit San Diego.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times. Price is very reasonable for San Diego but the location (for us) has been the real benefit. We are shopping for a boat and being near Shelter Island, the airport, Harbor Island, and Point Loma has worked out well. We enjoy walking the dogs and the surrounding area provides pathways and open spaces. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby...if you aren't into fancy but like good food, give Red Sail (around the corner) a try.

Parking is tight and the street out front is busy, the room is basic and the 'breakfast' isn't much but for the price? Decent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a kitchen... bigger and save some money by bringing your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write this review. It makes me so happy to hear that you like and continuously visit our hotel and I thank you for pointing out our great location. It was one of the many reasons we picked this hotel.

We are surrounded by attractions and wonderful restaurants that one would hardly have to venture too far from the hotel room in order to experience a true San Diego vacation. And, with our new, recently renovated rooms with all new furniture, it would be easy to not want to go anywhere at all. We too recommend out rooms with kitchens, they come with all new appliances and make your stay that much more enjoyable and hassle free because we are surrounded by many local grocery stores as well.

Thank you also for mentioning our rates. We are a small family owned business and try to keep the rates as best as we can for our guests.

We look forward to your return and again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Good things are not cheap and very rarely are cheap things good...however, in this case this was a really good deal. Okay, so the place does not have a view or really lush grounds (neither do their neighbors either though), but for what I paid, I got a very clean room, with a nice hot shower, Rose was terrific and very helpful. I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Point Loma. Look, it's not a resort, but it's a wonderful deal compared to their neighbors.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for 2 things: 1) A newly renovated room, and 2) an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenician602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to thank you for the time it took out of your day to write this review. We love hearing what our guests have to say.

Thank you so much for mentioning Rose and the great customer service she provides. Excellent service is a standard at all of our hotels but I am extremely glad to hear how helpful she was.

Thank you also for mentioning our recently renovated rooms. In our quest to provide the best stay ever we have recently updated our hotel to include brand new furniture, new refrigerators, new kitchen suites, new in room coffee pots and much, much more.

We so do hope that you come back and stay with us on your next trip to Point Loma. Again, thank you for your review.

In the highest regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

They advertise hot breakfast, but it's just mini chocolate-chip muffins and cold hard-boiled eggs. The coffee is hot, though. A bit noisy, as they had some 'undesirables' next door, who finally left after a few days. I stayed for a week, and told the front desk every day about how there was no hot water in sink, but nothing was done. Room was relatively clean. I did love the area, and the place had what I needed for a decent price. Nice personnel, although the hot water in the sink should have been fixed. I dislike how they take a $50 dollar deposit for 'incidentals', and even though I knew there wouldn't be any incidentals (single traveler, very clean & quiet), I felt some anxiety that maybe they'd keep it and make up a story of some sort. That didn't happen, or else I'd still see it on my Debit account. I shouldn't have to feel that way, though, until it's removed from my account. I highly doubt I will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDept, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Point Loma, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your thoughts about our hotel as it allows us opportunity to grow as a hotel and a customer service provider.

First, I would just like to thank you for mentioning our breakfast. Because we know you, as travelers, may not have a lot of time to eat we try to provide items that you can essentially “grab and go”. Thank you for mentioning our coffee and mini muffins though. We find that we receive many compliments on those two items and our kool aid, especially from families traveling with children.

Thank you also for mentioning how nice our staff is. We think they really are the best and they try to help with every problem that may arise. For example, I know the hot water in your sink didn't work and we thank you for calling that in, however, we did inform you that, upon inspection, we realized it was a bigger project that would require an empty room. We did inform you that while you continued to stay in the room we could not fix the problem. We also asked if you would like to be switched to another room, to which you replied no. So, I am a bit confused as to what other options were left.

And, just to clear things up. We very rarely charge our guests that $50.00 hold and we never just keep it. This hold is intended to dissuade guests from smoking in our non smoking rooms, that would also disrupt our non smoking guests in adjoining rooms, and to dissuade damages to our hotel supplies.

Thank you for mentioning our affordable price and our great location. We find our hotel to be the most convenient one around and are so glad you felt the same way too.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

In the highest regard,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.2 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#182 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#161 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#140 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#111 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Point Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Point Loma

Property: Hotel Point Loma
Address: 2933 Fenelon St, San Diego, CA 92106-2718
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Point Loma 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful southern California while staying at Point Loma Inn and Suites. Just steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bay-side near the landings and marina boardwalk. You will be minutes from the lush beaches and bays of San Diego's coast, filled with the world's most exotic yachts. Point Loma Inn is only a few short minutes from the San Diego Int'l Airport, near the Gaslamp Quarter and local tourist attractions. For those looking to enjoy a night out on the town Gaslamp provides restaurants, nightclubs, winery, shopping museums, and more. The world renowned Sea World is located just ten minutes away, as well as the Liberty Station, which also includes restaurants, shops, a historic golf course, and is home to over 48 museums. Point Loma Inn offers a high standard of service and facilities to meet the individual needs of each guest. Call today! Southern California await you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Point Loma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Loma Hotel San Diego
Point Loma Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing