We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborview Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #233 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Coos Bay, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

I had a great experience, rooms were comfortable and clean, staff was friendly, great location, great restaurants in the area, we ate at Little Italy and it was awesome. Great rates and I will definitly recommend a friend.

Room Tip: This hotel is a small independent hotel all the rooms seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    47
    49
    20
    91
See reviews for
34
73
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

I read a lot of the reviews and a lot of them were bad, but I was tremendously surprised with how clean and quiet the property was. I love the fact that it wasn't a chain hotel, it had an independent feel it was quaint. I was in town for the weekend because of a conference. The hotel was only about a mile and a half from the convention center, and I'm used to walking, so this is no problem for me; it also allowed me to experience the wonderful San Diego weather. The hotel was really close the airport which is convenient because although they didn't offer a shuttle, the price of the cab to go to the airport was really cheap about $10.
They offered a free breakfast every morning. Coffee and toast, With a little butter or jam they also have these little Eggo's which were good but I prefer the toast. The amount that they serve for breakfast was perfect for me because I usually eat light for my first meal of the day anyway. But I could see why a lot of people complain about the breakfast.
Lila who worked there at the front desk couldn't of been more helpful. She provided me with an iron and ironing board upon request And gave me plenty of suggestions for things to do while I'm in town. It just reminded me of an old world style inn where The people running the hotel really care about their guests and it's not just some employee with a name tag getting paid hourly to sit behind a desk.
On my last day at the hotel I met Andrew who also works at the front desk. He was such a such a funny guy made me laugh so hard. And he was really helpful in assisting me by calling a cab to take us to the airport. That guy deserves a raise!

Also Andrew recommended a great place to go for a italian food, since Harborview was in Little Italy, And there were tons of italian restaurants in the area, very nice part of town, very safe.

Go to Mona Lisa's they have delicious sandwiches in their deli area, and the best part it's right around the corner from The hotel.

- Max F

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxFox86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

No parking space, small and dirty room and seems bed bugs live there!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RealGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdharborview, Director of Sales at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
While we cannot please every traveler we do try our best. At this location it is downtown San Diego and we do have street parking available and we do provide free parking, however we only have a limited number of free spaces in our lot, so its first come first serve.
Our hotel rooms are cleaned after each use as compliant by any health standards. We do not have bed bugs. We use Dewey Pest Control and our hotel is maintained regularly. We simply do our best to provide our guest with a comfortable stay. Please accept our apologies for your unsatisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I do not know where to begin, this was the worst hotel/motel experience we have ever had. The room was dirty, DIRTY, dirty, there was supposed to be a kitchette, that was a joke. The refrigerator wasn't cold, the sink was filthy, & the floors were terrible! There was a 14inch or so step up to the toilette & the towels were full of holes. The windows didn't have locks & the door lock didn't work correctly. I am just hitting the highlights of how nasty this place was, take my word for it, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdharborview, Director of Sales at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We are very apologetic that your stay was less than satisfactory. This Hotel was built in the early 1900's and while we have renovated this hotel we do have a few rooms with kitchenette's that are the older rooms it sounds like you were in one of those rooms. Unfortunately with a hotel such as this we do occasionally have trouble with a lock or in room Fridge. We are undergoing training at this time with our staff to be better sensitive to our guest's needs such as simply replacing your fridge or towels upon request. We are still making changes and renovating at this location. In addition we are updating our breakfast with more choices. the pictures on our profile and on our website reflect the hotel. Please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is one of the worst hotels we have stayed in. They need to improve or get out of business.

Not very friendly personnel, not very clean, and very noise.

Breakfast was a joke - - - we had an urgent package delivered to us - and stayed at the reception for several days - when we had already checked out we went back to the reception and asked for it - the: oh, yes.

Very strange

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Little Italy and Starbucks around the corners. Nice staff and helpful with directions. Room was small with 2 Queen beds but managable. Bathrooms clean and so was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was toast or eggos waffles and coffee but restaurants offering breakfast were close by. Little Italy was lively, and we got use the to the jets landing at the nearby airport. Walking distance to harbourfront to pick up trolley tour that took us everywhere including Coronada Island Fare was $39.00 for the day. WIFI connection. Parking was available most times and limited. No prblem if you you didn't drive there.

Room Tip: This hotel is a cab ride away to the Convention Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

rooms were not as advertised online, was attacked buy BEDBUGSm thank god they didnt eat me alive. Bedding was dirty and old, bed very uncomforatble and parking is limited. HarborView would not work with me on discounting me with the BEDBUGS so i took matters into my own hand. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL>

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaystraveling66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#114 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Property: Harborview Inn and Suites
Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing