We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Little Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Very nice, clean and quiet room (adjacent to the parking lot). Helpful staff. Great location in Little Italy with many quaint cafes and restaurants to dine at. Reasonable rates. Dogs are allowed at a fee of $25.

The mattress was super hard which I didn't like. The room was a bit small for the 3 of us.

Room Tip: The room was a bit small for the 3 of us but I believe there are larger rooms with 2 queen beds in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DiscoqueenMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdharborview, General Manager at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Yes this hotel is a smaller hotel and we are limited with our rooms as we have 42 rooms. We do fill up fast and sometimes this makes it difficult to switch our patrons to a different rooms that may be better accommodations for them. Sorry for the tight squeeze! We appreciate your business and hope that you will come back to stay with us in the future. Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

I would not stay here or recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, acceptably smelling hotel to stay in. Not clean, not clean or nice smelling, and has holes in the walls. only thing decent was how close it was to the nice Little Italy restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdharborview, General Manager at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We are very sorry for any inconvenience you encountered while staying with us. I have personally surveyed these rooms on a regular basis and they are kept clean and cleaned each and every time a guest has stayed. Our guests have asked for renovations and we are happily accommodating them, We have updated our bathrooms with very nice new tile and new carpets in the rooms and comfortable beds etc. We do survey the hotel often and make any repairs we encounter. There is no good time for renovations and we are doing our best to make this hotel as comfortable as possible. Our website pictures are reflective of our rooms. We are very sorry your expectations weren't met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I am a travel agent and without knowing, I booked this hotel for my clients. What a mistake. They told me that it was very dirty and smelly. The weekend they were there, there was also lots of construction going on. They told me they would never stay there again. I know the price is reasonable, but there is no excuse for this. I also, will make sure that I never book this property again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karinpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The owners were very helpful and kept guests happy. The hotel is conveniently located in Little Italy, a short walk from Downtown San Diego and if you are playing a gig or attending a show at the Casbah, it is literally right around the corner

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SeannyGetsDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

There was value for the location if you want to save money on a stay. It was comfortable and the bathroom was recently updated. If you want to be pampered in lavish surroundings this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I never saw a bed bug so when i found a dead one(red flat disc bug) and brought it to the managers(male& female "indian appearance) they said it was from the tree. Tired & too trusting I stayed in the room. In the morning i noticed blood stains on the bed sheet. The housekeeper never came to clean the room for the following day. I had to request and told the female manager w/the nose jewlery. Upon return to the room the bed had been changed but when i looked closer i saw two more dead bed bugs and tiny ones that exploded with blood when i picked them up & crushed them in a tissue. I noticed a few mattresses in the hallway too but thought nothing of it. I placed the bugs in a plastic cup and brought them to the male indian manager. First he tried to say i brought them but i corrected him by reminding him about bringing the dead one i found on the bed upon arrival and showed to him. Suddenly he said he wpuld refund my money and drove me to Motel 6. I am pregnant and only now that im home I am noticing bed bug bites all over that itch terribly. Thing is these lowlifes knew exactly what it was and instead of shutting down the hotel they pass it off on the guests just to make a buck. Disgusting & criminal.San Diego doesnt even have the proper health dept to deal with this or anything it seems.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gretchen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

1st room did not have double beds as requested & was the size of a shoe box with a torn shower curtain. 2nd room was located adjacent to extensive renovations, including paint & carpet fumes. Attempted to check out after 2 nights of torture & was refused any refund for remaining 4 nights. 3rd room was further away from the renovations but subjected to an orgy that night & again next morning--despite complaining. Also found the quality of everything to be shoddy. Suspicious stains on the carpet, including a bright red one in 3rd room, paper thin & small bath towels, torn curtain linings, iffy cleaning, a ridiculous excuse for a continental breakfast, and the most incredibly small elevator (hard to fit 2 people & 2 suitcases). Staff was inefficient & unprofessional. Is close to Little Italy but should only be rented by the hour!

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side have significantly less noise than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdharborview, Manager at Harborview Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

We are very sorry your stay was not what you expected. This hotel is a family owned & operated establishment, We listen to our guests and their reviews which is why we are still doing our best to upgrade and are in the process of renovating the last 4 rooms of this hotel. Again we apologize and understand that there isn't ever a good time to complete renovations. This hotel was built in the early 1900's and has a bed and breakfast feel, some of the rooms are small and we do our best to accommodate everyone but we do have a limited number of rooms to choose from and on New Years Eve we were booked. In regards to refunds if your room is booked through a third party we cannot refund you third party money. We are doing our best to make this hotel a great place to stay. Generally our guests are pretty quiet, but on New Years Eve the biggest party night of the year it is difficult to keep all of the guests quiet. Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 278 in San Diego
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2207
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £46 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing