We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for a decent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harborview Inn and Suites
Ranked #234 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price for a decent stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The first thing I will say about the Harborview Inn & Suites is that it is perfectly adequate for a stay in San Diego. It's situated in Little Italy and about a 20 minute walk to Downtown depending on your pace. The price is good, but you get what you pay for. Room is a little dated, linens have that pilled effect like they have been washed too many times, and there was a bit of a stale smell to my room which I couldn't air out since the windows don't have screens. The family that owns the property were friendly enough.

The good: Location is good for anywhere in San Diego, there was free, limited onsite parking, not a lot of noise between rooms, tv worked. AC worked and wasn't noisy. Mini-fridge and microwave worked, though the microwave door was broken.

The bad: It is located right near the freeway and on a busy street (Grape St.) so very loud at night. Also directly under a flight path, but that is most of San Diego anyway, so planes going overhead every 10 minutes or so. The elevator is tiny and very old.

The REAL bad: I don't think the hotel is very secure. There are two unmanned entrances into the hotel. The hotel has a lobby, but you do not go through the lobby to get into your room. You leave the lobby, return to the street, and enter through the next door. This door was not secure, even though there was a keycard slot. There were guest rooms directly off this door. It seemed unsafe. There is also an entrance off Grape St. that was not always secure even though it also had a keycard slot. I think some of this had to do with guest improperly securing the door, but the door should close of its own weight. Also, there were two guest rooms accessible directly from Grape St. You didn't even have to enter the hotel proper to access these doors. Given the amount of homeless and mentally ill people in San Diego, I think safety should be any hotels utmost concern.

Room Tip: I don't know if there were any quiet rooms in this building. For safety, choose something on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    47
    49
    20
    91
See reviews for
34
73
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 days , Oct 7 to Oct 12, 2013 and we were surprised how wonderful this hotel is after reading some of the bad comments. Do not be mislead as we stayed in a 3rd floor room with 2 queen beds,which was a rather large room on the maib street. Noise no problem compared to hotels we have stayed in DC, New Orleans and Seattle with similiar locations and priced much , much higher. Wounderful beds, large TV, A/C, refrig, M/W, and all new bath fixtures. Room appears to have been recently updated and room service was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful staff and directed us to closeby Little Italy places to enjoy great food at reasonable prices. Try "Mona Liza" only 2 blocks walk and very busy. Highly recommend the hotel with great location.

Room Tip: Best rooms on 3 rd floor as recently remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed just one night. Nice and easy to find, had no problem parking, friendly check in staff. Hotel decor a bit shabby, rooms dated, but clean. TV, microwave, table, chairs, fridge. Windows only single glazed, we did sleep, but the noise from the street and airport were constant, but it did just become a white noise, so we slept well!!! Pastries and coffee were available in morning for breakfast. I have given a good rating as we did actually sleep well and it was very cheap. One block to little Italy for a nice meal.

Room Tip: I would imagine they're all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Was here for a conference - stayed 5 days - pretty good. Food and service couldn't be better, staff very good (and very friendly to British). On site pub/bar a bit expensive - but, that's what you expect in a hotel. very handy for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Price was OK. Room 207 was OK. Double Queens bed was great. AC was working fine. But: it's right in the lane for the flights from SD Airport. Very, very noisy. Breakfast was lousy. Room needs cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It was an affordable hotel with a great location. It was great to walk outside the hotel and be so close to the harbor and Little Italy,

A little disappointed with everything else. We kept thinking Pensione or maybe like staying at an elderly relative's house. Hotel is pretty tired around the edges (tear in bedspread, missing sink stopper) We just went through a remodel, and hate to say, our house BEFORE probably looked better. That said, you have to think about the price to value ratio. We paid low out of pocket for great location. We traveled with our two 14 year olds - luckily we are a close family because our room (two doubles) was pretty tight ...maybe 12'x17'

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Their advertisement and website is filled with misleading information. The free parking mentioned is on the street, if you can find it. The bed was fine (pillows were not!) but the paint was peeling, the windows barely opened or shut, there was nothing on the walls (seriously, not a single picture) and unlike what is stated on their website, the TV was an old non-digital, non-flat screen, non-LCD tube TV that turned on, but only to static. It is next to the highway/freeway and directly under the landing path of airplanes.
Overall, the interior of the building and the room was dirty, unattractive and unpleasant smelling. We paid way more than this hotel is worth.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms- my tip is stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYmaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#172 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#132 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborview Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn and Suites

Property: Harborview Inn and Suites
Address: 550 W Grape St, San Diego, CA 92101-2207
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in the Downtown district of San Diego on the corner of Columbia and Grape street next to "Little Italy". We are a limited service hotel. This hotel has an older look to it as the building itself was built in 1901 however it has been renovated, the rooms are updated and cozy as the bulding offers 42 rooms. We have Singles, Double and Suites. This hotel is undergoing a complete management change. You will enjoy the location as well as the price come stay with us at the Harborview Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harborview Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing