We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #67 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend this property”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great service, staff and facilities make this one of my favorites in the country. Definitely marked as one of my favorites among Doubletree properties. All of the staff seemed to always have a smile-- not something I'm normally use to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    369
    125
    58
    49
See reviews for
376
263
69
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff was very helpful and it is at a good location. The excessive room is adequate and the machines all worked. It is close to dining if you have a car. The room was very good and had all the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Awesome hotel that offers all the amenities you need on a business trip or vacation with the family. From a resort style pool and friendly bar you can't go wrong with the Double Tree in Del Mar, and I know I sound like a spokesperson, but I'm not getting paid. I love this Hotel and have stayed here over 8 times in the past 2 years.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My department booked me at this hotel while i attended a training class. I arrived unknowingly a day late and was told that they were booked. I would have to find another hotel and my department would be out of $850.00! I was confident that wasn't going to happen lol! The clerk behind the desk, (God I wished I remembered his name) was fantastic. That's why I was confident that there wouldn't be a problem. He reassured me that he'd get me a room and he did. Right next to the conference room where I would be attending class, down the hall from he fitness room where I'd be working out and not far from the pool. He assured me that I'd love it. Quiet. Not too far from my vehicle... He was soooo right. Loved my king sized bed, flat screen tv, beautiful bathroom, sitting area and desk. Free wifi! Happy Hour from 4 to 7 and a great bar staff (Hi Christy the bartender). The restaurant was nice, pricey but the food was fairly good. My room was cleaned everyday and COOKIES! The pool is only 5' deep but it'll be nice when I return with my wife and kids. Outdoor seating with fire pits and TV's I was truly relaxed and enjoyed my stay. The gym was great for the average guy or gal, with upscale dumb bells up to 50lbs. Two treadmills, three elipticals, mats, balls, Precor equipment ya know. Close proximity to stores and other restaurants. One negative? There was this awful sewer, methane gas smell that would seep through the first floor conference area. They fixed it. Plumbing problem they say but I did smell it again two days later. All in all I'd stay there again. Did I mention the FREE parking?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pike Road, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I were in the San Diego area for business a couple of weeks ago and chose this hotel after our trip was extended one night longer than we had booked in our original hotel. The location isn't bad, and the staff were attentive and helpful. However, our room was...bizarre. There were two adjacent doors, so there was access to our room from each room on either side of us -- which I've never encountered before. The bed was against the wall, facing the window and there was a couch beneath the window, and the TV sat on a desk in the room's left corner next to the window. It was uncomfortable to watch TV from the couch, unless you're OK with craning your neck and turning your head 90 degrees to see the screen. We tend to TV watchers from bed, especially in hotels, and the TV placement relative to loungers in bed was awkward. If my husband moved his legs at all, it completely blocked my view of the screen...which prevented me from engaging in whatever program was on (and got me wondering why he kept moving his legs so much). However, the room's weirdest and most challenging feature had to be the pocket door to the bathroom. It was enormous. And heavy. Competitors for American Ninja Warriors or World's Strongest Man could include opening this door in their strength training. Typically, pocket doors are thin and light (it goes in a pocket!) - this one was easily 2-3 inches thick and solid, with an incredibly shallow handle...again, strength trainers take note. Visiting the restroom, I had to make the unfortunate choice between privacy (closing the door all the way and possibly not being able to open it again) and a relatively assured means of exit (leaving the door slightly open so I could save my fingers and bypass the useless handle by pushing the side of the door open). This was an interesting night, and I'm glad the majority of our stay in San Diego wasn't in that room. Again, the location was pretty good and the staff were great, but the room had its challenges. Bring a book (skip the TV) and a crowbar (for the bathroom) in case you end up in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUTigerLily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I will begin by saying that this hotel appears to have a fairly nice patio and pool area. There are quite a few families here with kids, and as long as they're not paying too much, they're probably enjoying it well enough.

I am here on business with a large corporation that has a contract rate with this hotel, although I may suggest they revisit that arrangement. Room: average. Breakfast buffet: below average (food not replenished immediately and ran out of items on 2 of my 4 mornings.) Internet: poor (speedtests consistently showed down<=1.5Mbps, up<=500kbps.) Laundry: poor (asked for starch and boxed shirts--received neither; 1 pair jeans, 3 shirts, 3 sets underwear = $70! Feels like London prices.)

I have stayed in this immediate area before at the Hilton Garden Inn and for business travel that was much better. I may try this place one more time in the future... maybe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice hotel, great pool area with plenty of space and able to order drinks, comfortable bed and pillows, nice shower, very good rate in a great location, cookie at check in was a nice touch! I don't know what else to say but I have to write at least two hundred characters!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 278 in San Diego
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#95 of 278 in San Diego
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing