We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$1,332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$1,331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$607
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$592
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$653
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
42
16
5
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
16
5
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiestorrey pines beachfront office managerbusiness parkdiamond memberscorner suiteworked greatbusiness triproom was clean and comfortablethird floorgreat place to stayan upgradewould stay againbreakfast buffeteasy accessbeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had such a great experience at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Everything was very clean including the rooms. The outside pool area and dining is fabulous. Location is also amazing close to freeway, beach, and Del Mar. I will definitely be staying again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank katiedavis0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It pleases us to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here at the DoubleTree Del Mar, and that you took advantage of our relaxing resort-style pool area. It is one of our best features, though our location close to all the sights and sounds of Del Mar doesn't hurt much either. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to the San Diego area for my daughter's wedding. Needing to find a place to stay overnight, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Double Tree Hotel close to San Diego and within 30 minutes of my daughter's wedding. The price was fair and the beds were extremely comfortable! My friend and I were very happy for the chocolate chip cookie surprise also! :)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff welcoming and personable. Room always clean and very comfortable. Pool looked inviting, but never had a chance to enjoy it! Was invited to patio party being held for summer solstice courtesy of the hotel, great event to see the service team in action.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank AMTRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us for our summer kick off event! We greatly enjoyed welcoming our guests to check out our newly-renovated Mosaic Restaurant and its recently-introduced menu. You'll have to come visit again so you may take advantage of our resort-style pool and get some R&R. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my boyfriend was very disappointed in our stay at your Doubletree Hotel San Diego/Del Mar. We had arrival very late almost midnight and check in process was standard on June 22nd, 2018, with a checkout at 12pm (noon) the following day. However, our keycard was not working. We had to go back to the lobby and ask for new keycard. This incident was fine and we are aware that some keycards may not work right away. However, we had wished the front office clerk had told us and warned us that there would be a fire alarm testing being done on that Saturday morning. Without any warning except for a piece of paper stuck underneath our door, we were not prepared for the fire alarm in the morning. In addition, when we enter the room there was a bitter odor. We had to go back into our car and get an air freshener to remove the odor.

Having to travel and checking in late, we were awakened by the alarm the next morning. This woke us up and so we were fine with it. Then around approximately 1130am we had a door knock, my husband was showering and I was getting ready for checkout, instead of waiting for us to open the door and let him in, your hotel engineer, was about to come into our room without our approval. I had to tell him to give us a few minutes while we get ready and checkout. This is very unacceptable, and we feel that it violated our privacy.

We had wished that your hotel employee services would be more professional. What he could have done is check to see if the room was occupy. We had not check out and were not scheduled to be out until noon. If he knows that the room was occupy he could have at least call the room and let us know that he was doing a fire alarm testing check in the room. In addition, just because he knocked on the door does not mean he can enter the room right away.

Overall, I thought the customer service at the hotel was very unsatisfactory. The clerk could have warned us that there be a fire alarm testing. The hotel engineer should not have entered our room without our permission. He should have called to see if the room was occupied (checkout) and if it was occupied he could have called our room to see if anyone was in the room and let us know that he was coming into the room.

We would not recommend staying at this location.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank lynlytran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your candor in providing this feedback, and we're sorry to hear that the fire alarm test proved disruptive to your experience here. While it was a necessary test, we certainly did not intend to put any of our guests in uncomfortable situations. We hope you accept our apologies.

Please reconsider your stance against recommending us and come on back to visit, so we may craft a more positive experience together. Should you decide to return, please reach out to me at jordan.hovis@hilton.com. I would be more than happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip and had a great stay! Everyone, and I mean everyone, from front desk, restaurant personnel, housekeeping and managers provided excellent service. I have stayed at various hotels for business trips and this hotel probably has the best food. I even got to meet chef Carmelita to send my compliments. Freddie, also from catering, took great care of our group and was super friendly. I will definitely stay here again for business and for our weekend getaways to San Diego.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank MB20girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. Truly a pleasure to see one of our guests recognize our sous chef, Carmelita, and our banquet server, Freddie. Both work their hardest to ensure our guests receive the quality service they expect, and set the example for our team here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews