We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Ranked #60 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Slow Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We signed up for a room with two Queen beds. We got a room with one Queen bed and a sofa pull-out. We called down and were told there were no King beds or two queens available now but a room was being cleaned and we could get that; that we should leave our bags in the room and the luggage would be moved when we got back.

We had to attend a function so when we got back 5 hours later; a little before 11pm, we checked with the front desk. Our things had not been moved and there was no obvious room available. The guy at the front desk hemmed and hawed and finally offered us two rooms. "Oh, you are married? " He said. "I guess then I can offer you a king size bed in the Junior Suite." So we dragged our own bags from our old room to the new room.

Meanwhile, at the from desk I noticed that a woman with a small child who showed me her printed Expedia confirmation, was being held up by another front desk woman who had said she had no listed reservation despite the confirmation. She had actually called Expedia, been put on hold, left it on speakerphone at the front desk and walked into the backroom leaving the front desk unmanned for the whole time we were there. It was almost 11 at night and this poor woman and a child were being held up because of this. Poor form.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    358
    114
    47
    44
See reviews for
352
252
66
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed here over Memorial Day Weekend, so the hotel was fully booked and we were aware that our kids would have to share a sleeper sofa. We were however a little surpised to find that with the sleeper sofa open- it was pretty much wall- to - wall beds. Whoever was sleeping on the outside had to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom since there was no walking room. This was definately the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in.

Also, the queen bed (not the sleeper sofa) was in need of a new mattress. It was so "sinky in the middle" that two people are very, very uncomfortable.

The hotel was at least very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDelMarGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
I am sorry to hear about your challenge with the room type. At the DoubleTree Del Mar we value guest feedback and take pride in providing a positive guest experience. The next time you are at our property please try our rooms with 2 quuen beds, as I am sure this will provide a mcuh improved experience for you and your family.

Thank you

Richard Sandoval
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel has adhered utterly to the letter of the law in creating a wonderful visit. From the easy parking to the high ceiling entry and in and outdoor pools all will satisfied the traveler….. or will it? The Bar alone will harbor 75 visitors and the elegant restaurant just across draws one endlessly to drink from its bounty and linger into the night with conversation. For those looking for the best made industrial resting spot, you have arrive at your destination. But it’s not how great it looks but how it makes you feel. It’s the spirit of the place. The warm attentive reception, the energy in the bar, the uplifting of the spirit and anticipation of a lovely experience. The latter weary travelers need not apply here but those needing to look good rather than feel good, enter her gates with joy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sl1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm desert
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Nice beds, linens & great towels. Located near beaches, shops, restaurants. Free warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolpalmdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeDelMarGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
I am so glad to hear that you had a good stay at the DoubleTree Del Mar. We think we have a great location with east access to the 56 and 5 freeways. I hope when your travels bring you back to San Diego that we are your hotel of choice.

Richard Sandoval
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Nice grounds, nice pool. Front-desk receptionist Marianna was smug, very rude, and began to speak in another language to herself when she was upset that we wanted a handicap accessible room. Otherwise, great value. Besides the Marianna experiecnce, this 3 star seemed like 3 1/2.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel was fine in a lot of respects. Clean, very nice pool area, easy access from the highway and close to Mission Bay.

They were in the process of painting the dining area which was fine really. The breakfast is pretty pricey at 15 bucks per person - go to the Denny's that is near by. The air conditioner worked but was on some kind of timer so we woke up in the middle of the night because it was hot.
Also the comforters are down which would be very nice if it was cold outside, but really in San Diego you just don't need down.

Biggest problem was the size of the bed. They claim it was a Queen, but there is just no way that it was. It was a full . My husband is 6'6" and the bed was too short and not wide enough for both of us. I felt like I was sleeping on the edge of the mattress all night and so did he. We will not stay there again because of the beds.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travelinmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

I really liked this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, for a sports competition and it was fantastic. Because the hotel was accosiated with the competition, we got free breakfast (which had great food) and a discount on the nightly rate. The rooms were very clean and organized, and the tv was very nice. We got plenty of channels and were thouroughly entertained when we weren't at the competition. It was very close to the beach and Torrey Pines state park. The only cons I have, are that its a tad bit far from the San Diego Airport, but it wasn't too bad. Also, the dinner was a bit expensive, and it took about 45 minutes to make a ceasar salad. But overall, this was a GREAT hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GymTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#88 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing