We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like family”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Just like family”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Location, location,not just location but clean,clean not just clean but also reasonably priced. Not a 5 star more like staying with family you may even here your neighbors a little. This little gem is 10 minutes from everything. Lets see priced right, clean, free parking, free light breakfast, 24hr desk, friendly owner operator. I will stay there again. I love the idea of using all white sheets and blankets they just looked and felt clean and fresh.

Room Tip: i like looking into the habor but I don't think there would be a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greghoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Many thanks to these nice couple for writing about us.
As a modest family-owned, family-operated motel, we treat all our good guests like family
If the request is not over the top, we would go out of our way to get for you
Don't want to mention anything specific but yes, our hard-working owners ensure all our guests get the individual attention they need.
That's one of our strong points for being a little motel.
Much of the personal touch comes from our lack of being owned by a corporation/franchise
Hope you come back to San Diego in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    316
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
197
497
117
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Dolphin and we were very pleased with everything. Like everyone already said, it's immaculately clean and everyone is very friendly. The location is super convenient to everything San Diego has to offer, beaches, Downtown, Coronado, all within a short drive. If I could mention anything even slightly negative, it would be that the rooms are really only meant for sleeping, since the space is small. There are lots of patio tables and chairs in the courtyard during nicer weather, but in the winter that isn't always an option. Still, that minor problem doesnt take away from the 5 star review. We will stay there again next time we have the opportunity

Room Tip: stay upstairs if possible, the view toward the marina is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
My goodness! We are so thrilled to hear from you guys!
How was the flight back from Oregon to Seattle?
You guys made our owners & staff so happy, it's such a pleasure to have stay at our little motel for last few days.
I remember talking to you guys in the office the night before while printing boarding pass (free service at the front office)
You also mentioned the weather up their was very cold as of recent, here in San Diego it is considerably cold compared to the rest of the year (but like you mentioned warmly to me, we have it easy down here in Southern California)
Thank you for writing about our owners & the property, please don't hesitant to write us an e-mail sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've been staying here during the week for the past few months, after checking out many hotels in the 100 and under price range. This is the best! Family-run, friendly, absolutely clean and convenient - just stellar.
Across the street from Point Loma Seafood (excellent sushi), sportfishing docks, easy am run to Shelter Island. They've even kept my car and belongings when I've flown in and out of S.D. This little place is a gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you dreedy for writing about our motel
Our heartfelt appreciation for your patronage here
This is the off-season so prices are relatively cheap
Coffee & breakfast starts every morning 6:00am - 10:30am, and its great that we are conveniently located near your workplace
Yes, we do offer limited parking services when you left for a week to visit your family.
All in all, we continue our routine of offering budget-friendly accommodations to local & far away visitors. Hope everything is well with you, and see you next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Dolphin in San Diego was a find:

PROs: Clean. Great owner and staff (thanks Steve). Good location on the harbor. Startlingly cheap.

CONs: The rooms are tiny. A Navy base is across the harbor, so there's noise. Had I just seen it from the street, I would never have stopped.

BOTTOM LINE: Almost no amenities officially, yet the people there continually went above and beyond in ways that few places in any price range do. Go figure. Would I go again? Definitely,

Room Tip: Top floor, facing harbor. (If you need a beach towel or sunscreen, just ask Steve.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myles19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Steve sends his regards! Most appreciative of you guys for sharing your recent trip to all future readers on tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Alan and the entire staff at the Dolphin Motel make this an unusually great find. Beyond the staff's warmth and professionalism, the entire motel is spotless. I also felt quite safe as a single female traveler. You also can't beat the location or the price. Forget the big (cheap) chains - stay at the Dolphin and you will be thrilled!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Our heartfelt thanks to you ljc212
It is all possible with the help of our good guests who recommend our little motel to their friends & family
Alan & our staff are so happy to hear these words of praise!
I absolutely agree with what you said! Isn't it strange the top ranks are no budget-friendly places?
Does paying more mean getting more?
Our owner summed it up on our billboard "Why pay more?"
Come back & see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Smaller rooms. Must be quiet after hours, as you can hear quite a bit. Great staff, super assertive about helping you plan your visit and maximize your San Diego experience in a very friendly way, offering tips and advice at the free breakfast in the morning that consists of muffins bananas coffee yogurt and juice. Still giving this super clean and quaint place two thumbs up.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you Daniel for sharing your recent stay at the Dolphin with all future tripadvisor readers.
Our owners Alan + Holly send their regards and appreciate the personal courtesy you have extended to us
Being a budget friendly motel, we cater to many of our guests who visit San Diego for brief business trip, or a few days extended vacation
As the weather is almost always sunny, our biggest compliment comes from giving our good guests the 411 on local sights & attractions
Do not hesitate to shoot us an e-mail in the future if your planning to visit our corner of America,
we would still be around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We needed a place to stay with a budget in mind so we checked on our phones reading reviews and the Dolphin Motel popped up with soaring reviews with good pricing most motels now these days cost over $150 and since being here for one day its an awesome place quiet and serene placed in the best spot so most things you need are close including the attractions. The staff here are real nice guys amazing people willing to go out of their way to help you and they provide 24 hour security they also provide a free breakfast in the morning outside that's nice and calming to enjoy cable is provided and free wifi the rooms are clean. This is a respectable establishment with honest working people running it. I will tell my family and friends about this place whenever they want to see San Diego.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Droidekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We're so glad you found our motel based on tripadvisor!
Thank you for sharing your recent stay to all our future guests
Hope all goes well with your new deployment in Pendleton, please drop us a line some time when your in the area for the weekend
Once again, thank you very much for giving our motel a try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing