We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fat Tuesday landing”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #11 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeside, CA
2 reviews
“Fat Tuesday landing”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Dolphin after going to the Fat Tuesday celebration in the Gas Lamp District in San Diego. We knew that we would not be able to drive back home in San Diego east county afterwards, so we checked in early Tuesday and took a cab downtown.

The Dolphin is a nice clean family run motel in Point Loma just across the street from the Sportsfishing Marina. My wife and I have stayed here before when we have gone to the Gaslamp for concerts and other activities. As usual, the motel was clean, quiet and staffed by friendly people. The car was safe in their parking lot while we were gone. The price at $55 for the night is a bargain for the area, Plus, they serve up a nice continental breakfast of coffee and delicious blueberry muffins.

I recommend this motel if ever you just need a nice, quiet, clean place to sleep a night or two while in San Diego. When you go, don't forget to say hello to Holly, the owner. Real nice gentleman.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are great. Love the smell of the sea air. Stay in the building where the office i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks you guys for staying at our modest motel few days ago.
This review sure brought a smile to the owners! You must have met him during morning breakfast.
They sure do put every effort into this place, they are an inspiration to all our staff here as well
I haven't been down to the Gaslamp area in a few months, don't know what has changed.
Concerning vacancies, the weekends can be a bit hectic, but weekdays shouldn't be a problem.
As always, our budget-friendly motel is suitable for all budget-minded travelers, we hope all our future guests will inquire if we can fulfill their vacation/business travel needs.
And we hope you guys choose our motel next time you visit the downtown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    316
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
197
499
117
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks in February after finding this little spot on the internet. It had excellent reviews and did not disappoint. For $50.00 per night it was a real bargain....very clean, friendly and attentive staff, free bottled water and a continental breakfast. Location was great. We took the bus all over the city and up the coast. The bus stop was right on the corner. The motel is close to good restaurants and the sport fishing docks across the street, where seals and pelicans hang out. The staff told us about the Intrepid tuna boat coming in one morning and we watched for four hours the unloading of hundreds of yellow fin tuna. It is less than ten minutes away from the end of Shelter Island where the sunset is incredible, as are the views of the city. We saw the cruise ships go out in the evening from the upper deck. Located in a very safe area. A good place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you guys for giving our motel a try, and for taking advantage of these off-season rates which are affordable for visitors & government workers staying a little longer.
Our modest accommodations may not suit everybody.
But we do hope all future guests will contact us and inquire if we have the right accommodations
These rates do start to change around May & beyond, because that is the beginning of the busy summer season
We hope you will visit this part of the U.S. if you drive down the Las Vegas -Hollywood - San Diego ring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I knew there had to be a Motel some where in San Diego that is clean, cute, convenient. The one thing you have to remember is that this is NOT a Sheraton guys... it's a Motel. And for a Motel it's adorable, built in the 1950's, very clean, very welcoming staff, family owned, and there's a nice continental breakfast. Don't expect a phone, clock, hair dryer, ironing board... not there. Parking is free, and the location is wonderful. The restaurants nearby are Point Loma Fish Market, Miguels and Pizza Nova.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We thank you so much for your positive & unbiased review about our motel Pam
We wish all our guests are as kind as you
I'm glad you chose to stay with us for a brief weekend visit
Being a budget location, we are perfect for single travelers or couples looking for an affordable, clean, down-to-earth location.
Hairdryer, Iron, alarm clock, phone can be loan out here in the office.
Every morning say hello to the owners Alan & Holly who diligently go back & forth preparing breakfast for our guests. At anytime, our guests can stop by our 24 hour office for recommendation, tips, or a friendly chat; our doors are always open. Hope you come back whenever you drive down from Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you read their description, you know what to expect. Clean, small, bare bones. You can borrow a hairdryer. Bring your shampoo and lotion. The staff is personable, the continenental breakfast adequate....and if you eat all fresco, its an added bonus. We unfortunately hit the big storm, so hustled back and forth hauling it to our room. That was awkward, because there are no tables or desks. But a folding chair with folding TV tray came in handy.
We had no noise issues, probably because our room was next to a closet. Perfect! Its an easy location as far as getting there from the car rental place, as and as a starting point to the many San Diego attractions.
We spent the money we saved on nice meals out.
Good value for the good price!

Room Tip: We were in the part away from the parking lot. Would assume that the building there will be noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
You guys came during the big storm, and boy was it pouring! We hardly get any rain throughout the year in San Diego (the state was going through a drought) and suddenly it all came down during the last 3-4 days!
We do offer umbrellas & raincoats to our guests
We appreciate you sharing positive feedback about our motel.
All future guests will read about our motel and see if we are the right fit for them.
As a whole we get majority budget-minded travelers because that is our strong point, we offer limited affordable accommodations & work with the limited resources we have.
Hopefully all our future guests will inquire about our motel and see if we have what they need in terms of accommodations
Our owners do put so much work into the business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Dolphin was due to be the 1st stop on a motor cycle holiday for my husband and a friend last year until the friend dropped the bike on his leg and broke it and so the booking at this well looked after motel had to be cancelled. Very kindly they gave us a credit which was valid for a year and to be fair I don't think we ever expected to use it but after deciding at the very last minute to go to Los Angeles for 16 days we decided to head for San Diego on the spur of the moment.
As our phones did not work and lacking any wifi access we just tipped up at the Dolphin to see if they had a spare room more in hope than expectation.
I am delighted to say that they did have but I would recommend that you book something before you go as they are very busy, but if you are in the area without a reservation do give them a try.
Very simple but exceptionally clean the owners and staff take pride in what they have achieved with the motel, from the engaging Thomas to the charming father and son that were there in the morning helping us plan our day and even giving us a guide book to take with us.Breakfast is simple and filling we ate ours outside but I am sure that you could take it to your room if you wished. We had a very good nights sleep as it is very quiet there. Free parking and wifi is fantastic as there are so many places that want to charge you for both - the Dolphin doesn't charge so a massive thank you for that. There are a few restaurants near by within walking distance so need to take the car out in all a perfect place to be.
Keep up the good work guys and if we are ever back in San Diego we will definitely be staying with you again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably a good idea if available especially the one on the end with the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseybean50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
This reservation was a year in the making!
Our hard-working owners Alan & Holly send their warmest greetings to you guys; so glad to hear from you again from the U.K.
I was pleasantly surprised you guys were finally able to visit Southern California!
The night we spoke you guys were tired from a long drive! (and what a long flight to the U.S. from all the way across the Atlantic!)
You had a pleasant small town charm which I found most gracious
We're so glad things have settled and we hope you would find more time for traveling to the U.S. in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location close to the Marina, very clean accommodations, staff very courteous Father and son are owners and where there onsite. You could tell they really care about their guests. They are very helpful with directions to the many hot spots in the City. Minutes from downtown, and Little Italy my wife and I will suggest this get a way spot to all our friends. Will be back again.
Jim and Clare

Room Tip: Second level view of the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you Mr. & Mrs. C. for giving our motel a chance
We're so glad you took a short trip down here to the "old San Diego region"
Being a San Diegan yourselves you would agree with me, the warm weather here brings many visitors from around the world. The beaches of Carlsbad all the way down to the Mexican border area supports a vibrant culture of beachgoers and relaxed living.
Once again, we're grateful you guys gave our motel a chance & got to talk to our hard working owners in the morning.
Hope you will return for a short weekend getaway in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The air quality is the best. The rooms are supervised by the family lifestyles. This is a family hotel that has survived the lifetime of cleanliness. There are no bugs or bed ones, The staff is very professional. i have stayed here many days and nights. They support quality time from within. Walking distance to everything you want.. I have personally stayed with all ambiance. The rooms are family style with a great hometown mornings. They continue to give love and happiness. This is a home away from home and they make me feel very welcome and safe. No need for safe deposits as your room is completely secure. Leave your windows open an smell the air. Accessibility to all needs are impressive.

Room Tip: 200 yards from the pier. Only a family company can provide what is here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makitharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a pleasant surprise! The owners, the staff, we are all so happy you wrote about your stay here at our modest budget motel
You have been so kind to us Mr. T.
Being close to the water, we're glad to have you onboard
and take advantage of our low extended stay rates which comes with the off-season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing