We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #17 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Four of us stayed here for two nights. We had two rooms, but it was still a great value. It was easy to find, convenient to all attractions. The motel has restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable. The Continental Breakfast was good, and it was nice sitting outside. We had a room on the second floor with a nice view of the marina.

The best part about this place is their service. There's nothing that they won't do!!!

Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in San Diego!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks to your wonderful family for making our motel a part of their recent visit to California.
From looking at your profile, you guys have been everywhere!
Our hard-working owners Alan & Holly are so pleased to read your generous review on our behalf.
They keep to heart every input from our guests because they actively make the most of the limited resources available. Being an older motel, are fully aware of our limitations and we hope all our guests will see our motel for what fits their needs. Your wonderful review will help future guests get a good idea of what we have to offer
We hope all our future guests will inquire about our accommodations and see if we have the right accommodations for their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    317
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
198
500
118
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This motel is the best little motel in the city. It is close to the water across the road from marina. There is no pool but close to the beach. The gentlemen who run this motel are amazing. They provide everything you could need: towels, maps, free breakfast, wi fi, etc. Rooms are very small but extremely clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We thank you Becky for recommending our motel to all future guests
It is a pleasure to have you guys visit this corner of North America
Our hard working owners & staff want to see all our guests enjoy their stay no matter how simple our motel accommodations are.
We treat our guests like family and 99% of our guests say our value (what you pay vs what you get) is the best in town!
As a small family-owned buiness, we have to give individual attention to our guests as we count everyone equally important.
We do our best to keep the peace as noise travels through the walls
with every smiling face that walks through our door, it gives us a sense of immense satisfaction that we made their visit memorable.
San Diego has alot to offer in terms of sights & sounds, and we sincerely hope all our guests are just as generous as you guys; willing to give our small motel a chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We paid $80/night for our two night stay here. It's across the street from the marina and near some good places to eat. I rated it as excellent because it is an excellent bargain and they give you exactly what they say they will.

If you're looking for more than a bed and a bathroom, look elsewhere. This place provides you a comfortable,quiet place to sleep and a place to shower/shave/etc. and change your clothes. That's all you need when you're in town to see the beauty of San Diego. If you want luxury, head to the downtown or Harbor Drive area.

My wife and I enjoyed this place because it was exactly as advertised - a cheap, basic place to sleep and clean up. There is nothing fancy here and we were perfectly fine with that.

They do have great wi-fi and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. One other note: This place is VERY CLEAN. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would choose an upstairs room in case there is noise from people walking above you. I did not sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you cbozman for choosing our little establishment for your recent visit to California.
We also thank you guys for sharing our motel to future readers on tripadvisor. We are under the opinion that tripadvisor is the best way for all travelers to research on place that fit their needs. Be it budget or luxury.
Last weekend, there was a Thoracic (Lung Cancer) Convention in downtown. Everyone was looking for a room last minute & the phones were ringing non-stop. You guys were very good & booked way in advance & didn't have to drive around.
We hope you will come back to San Diego in the future, the fine weather always brings our friends back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very central location on the water near the airjport. Small and very old family run motel. The buildings themselves are very old and plain.. Staff is well trained and family is involved in daily operations. Location is quiet and rooms are neat but minimal. Breakfast is outdoors on the property under umbrellas This is strictly a budget motel - if you are interested in prestige or luxury this is not for you. Probably best bargin in central San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you hamiltonbergen for choosing our motel out of the many others in San Diego. You must have read about us from tripadvisor, and now verifying what other travelers have experienced.
We are a budget-friendly motel for budget-minded travelers, with excellent value vs accommodations ratio.
Our owners & staff put effort as their commodity, so we would show our sincerity to all our customers.
We hope all our future guests are just as nice you you guys & can see this & would choose our motel.
It is what has kept this family-runned business going for 38 years.
We all share the vision of our owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent three nights at the Dolphin and all I can say is: GREAT! Free wi fi, free breakfast and wow the delicious muffins (you got to try them)! The staff is really friendly and super kind and they answer emails quickly, the rooms are basic and clean!!
I will definately stay here again when I will return in San Diego!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorenzi_el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Dolphin Motel for 3 nights. The service level of the staff was excellent all the way. The quick reply on my emails regarding the room, quick check inn, the free water bottles when my friend got sick.

We stayed in Room 28 and it had a patio with chairs and table.

This motel comes highly recommended and i will stay here again

Room Tip: Room 28 had a patio with chairs and table
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
You came through for us Petter! I can't stop complimenting you for taking the time to write about our motel.
It will be seen by all future guests looking for a budget friendly place in San Diego!
Like yourself, most of our guests know our rooms by number and request it year after year.
Be it within local (California/Arizona) or international (Europe/Australia) we will always appreciate return guests like an old friend coming back.
I'm sure our hard-working owners will read this & thank you guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was awesome! Complimentary internet and breakfast. The room is very simple but comfortable. If you are planning to stay out most of the day and want to save money on a hotel definitely come here. Plus it is pretty close to many things in San Diego (right by the water too).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzurra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you guys for finding our motel among the hundreds of others.
We aren't necessarily the priciest (luxury hotels) or cheapest (international hostels).
I would describe our motel as a balance between price (what you pay) versus accommodations (what you get).
Across the street from Fisherman's Landing & Point Loma Seafoods, the best way for sightseeing from our location is by automobile.
Your review will compliment to our unique motel image and our owners' dedication to keep it running.
It is wonderful guests like yourselves that keep our business alive
We thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 278 in San Diego
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing