We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place was brilliant - the location, the price and the clean comfortable rooms. But the best thing, better than almost everywhere else I've stayed in the US, was the service and this is saying a lot as we've stayed in some great places. Every member of staff was really helpful and friendly - full of great tips and generosity - and we just felt so welcome. This, added to the great facilities they can help you with - photo book of local places, a hair dryer, laptops, bag weighing etc - just meant that this experience was really special. If you want great service but don't want to pay the earth for it - this is the place for you. Fantastic - thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C_Crane_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Its good to hear from you again C_Crane_333!
You are absolutely right, you meet friends no matter where you go.
From looking at your other reviews, all the other places will agree, you are such a nice guest to have!
Your most generous review of our motel will help other tripadvisor readers determine if our motel will fit their needs.
Although the competition is tough around town, we hope you will visit San Diego again in the future.
Our motel will hopefully still be around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked the Dolphin whilst travelling down the Pacific Coast Highway in September 2013. What a find clean, comfortable, friendly, inexpensive and a fantastic location in Point Loma. Had a great 5 days in San Diego all while staying at the Dolphin. Only downside, noisy fisherman getting up early, but hey what are holidays for if they are not meant for adventure so get up and go explore! Grab your morning coffee from Starbucks with your everything bagel, head to the Habour Town Pub for a meal anytime but in particular have breakfast on a Sunday morning with the locals, best Pub EVER! We even managed an invite to the San Diego Yacht Club, beautiful. A lot of fine eating places in Point Loma.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a room next to any fisherman that may be staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shi48233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you shi48233 for sharing on tripadvisor your recent stay at our motel.
You are absolutely right! Fishing season is here & almost every boat has been full from going out tuna fishing.
We apologize about the fishermen being noisy, they do arrive in big groups & very excited.
We do our best to keep the noise level down, and yet it doesn't stop the excitement running around early in the morning!
However, we do thank you for staying at our modest old-fashion motel. Your patronage is very important to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had to get reservations on very short notice for our third stay at the Dolphin Motel and they were able to accommodate us yet again. We cannot say enough good things about the Dolphin. Clean, quiet, wonderful and attentive staff and a free breakfast that puts most chains that we have stayed in to shame. As we may have said in the past, you are doing yourself a disservice if you don't stay here while you are in San Diego. The rates are amazing and it is worth so much more. Right across from the sports fishing and harbor yet so, so quiet. Plenty of good restaurants nearby, try Point Loma Seafoods or the Red Sail. About a 10 minute drive to the beach. All the attractions of San Diego are so very close. Stay here once and we know that you will return as we have again and again. Thank you again to all the staff at the Dolphin. You all made our San Diego vacation all the better and we hope to see you again in the spring.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor harbor view room. They are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you Mr. & Mrs. N. for returning to our motel time & time again!
I remember talking to you guys in the office & it was such a pleasure to hear from you guys again.
Our hard-working owners come down to the business everyday to keep everything in order.
They do run a tight schedule, but have maintained a tradition of a modest family motel environment for the last 38 years.
Most importantly are good guests like yourselves, who keep our place alive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 and really enjoyed our visit to San Diego.

We found that the Dolphin Motel was a great base to explore San Diego and we loved it that much we extended our stay. The motel has a number of great restaurants nearby including the amazing Mitch's Seafood, which do some outstanding Fish Taco's along with some HUGE beers!

We wandered around locally and it's seems to be a pleasant neighbourhood with a few shops and a great harbour which if your their early enough you can come across sea lions and the mornings catch from the overnight fishing trips.

The room is basic in that it has everything we required for our stay in such a great city and we loved every minute. The bathroom was pretty cosy along with minimal places for unpacking but this didn't trouble us. The breakfast again is basic affair of muffins, yoghurts, coffee and juice but it's enough to set you up for the day.

We found it really easy to park at all times and felt really safe as we knew the motel ground were monitored 24 hours a day by some great and highly knowledgable staff. One member of staff gave us some great locations to visit which we would have never have come across without recommendation.

Overall we had a wonderful our stay here and in San Diego and would happily return tomorrow (we wish!)

Room Tip: Get over to Mitch's Seafood, eat on the terrace and watch the sea lions come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you Ben for sharing our motel on tripadvisor.
You are so generous to us!
We are glad you enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, service, breakfast, free amenities we have to offer
It is true the old saying "you get what you pay for", the owners and our staff are glad you would return next time to our humble little place
Rooms do fill up rather quickly during the busy summer months
Prices are higher due to busy summer season.
We hope all our future guests will read about us, and determine if we are the right fit for their needs.
We highly recommend a rental car to see all the places in San Diego, although public transportation is the most economical

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The neighborhood is really good and this is definitely the best place around for the price. They served breakfast, great room service! Being able to borrow a laptop and access wifi for free were among the other facilities that set them apart from the other places we have stayed at before. Tom and Steve were extremely welcoming, they helped us with planning the our stay at San Diego and we had a good time! Thank You guys!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. they even let you check them out before you can rent them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Soni8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you Soni for sharing your recent stay on tripadvisor.
Hope things are well with you & your friend.
You are too kind to us, would love to have you come back to visit San Diego in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a wonderful deal and we are so happy we made this choice. Will definitely stay again! Upon arrival, the night manager (Tom or maybe Tim?) was extremely accommodating and helpful. He went way out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed during Comic Con and the Motel was busy, constantly receiving drive up requests to accommodate unplanned parking for non staying parties as the area was packed. We sat outside on an agreeable weather night and watched the show. The answer was always no, and even though the recipient didn't like the answer (and often times gave the manager some gruff), the answer was given with a smile and suggestion for other options. With all the pressure the facility was under, he was very professional and courteous to inquirers. It was a surprising pleasure to watch him work with a smile.The rooms are small in size but very clean and comfortable. Which is exceptable since we do not plan on spending extra time in the room. The bathroom was spotless and updated. We usually stay at a chain establishment across the street but due to Comic Con and availability we were unable to book a room for the night before our long range fishing trip. We are thankfully glad for that and will stay at the Dolphin on any future San Diego adventures. Great job Dolphin Motel!!! Also, love the evening neon lights and 50's motel style.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you veeeeeery much Mr. & Mrs. F for choosing our modest motel during the busy summer season.
Yes, if I remember correctly, you guys stayed with us then went fishing for 2-3 days.
During busy summer season, across the street at HM Landing is very very busy.
And from what I heard from our friends across the street (Captains & deckhands) fishing hasn't been this good in years! They said the water is warmer which is bringing in great catches!
On a personal note I thank you guys for choosing to stay with us over the others.
Our prices are competitive as we are a budget motel, we may or may not have the accommodations everyone is looking for.
We encourage future guests to inquire if we have the right stuff.
Most important of all is good guests like you guys, whom we depend on as a family-owned business.
THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Point Loma is my choice for a perfect blend of access!shops!great fresh food and affordable lodgings just a block from the sport fishing harbor.I had a four day quick visit suddenly available and I watched hotel prices zoom from a city average of 200 to 385 <per the newspaper) with Pride and Comicon<150,000 visitors) in a couple of days.a friend recommended dolphin hotel ( $70-110 and I remembered Point Loma-cheap renta car is preferred. There is a bus. But airport is 5 min. Midway and museums ten and convention center is ten min!! What could be better..yes the dolphin is simple. Great simple yogurt and banana free breakfast...very clean rooms. Think red roof but clean. And every staff member is super attentive and knows your name..what could be better.. Everything you need. Clean value priced and nothing you do not need. And simple parking. Lot full but staff always finds you a spot. Do not panic they will get you parking...not using big lots in city-major construction has eliminated most city hotel lots-not only saved us $20 day but saved us an hour on each end of trip. Not to mention that dolphin was one third or less the price of the city hotels just a mile away. I'll take simple with a great staff every time. Particularly when I saved almost $1000 using the dolphin vs the marriott on a four day trip. I travel 60 nights a year and til now I never came home saving hundreds on food parking and lodging. Thank you dolphin and after son owners and staff. Semper. fi

Room Tip: No elevator. Not needed 2 story. Upper floor has breezes and views. But a heavy bag might be a chal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinMotel, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you bill for taking the time to share on tripadvisor your recent stay at our motel.
Comic Convention is always the best (and worse) time to stay in San Diego: best in that it is the busiest & most fun. Worse in that prices are at their highest!
I agree with you: as an avid traveler, you know very well how far a dollar can travel.
It is also important to find a place that provides cleanliness & comfort, but at an affordable rate.
Our family-owned, family-operated motel provides a need in a "competitive & corporate dominant" industry. We consider every guest just as important to our business!
I recently read an article on the internet (and do agree!), finding a little family-owned place may be a better deal, as chains may not provide little extras, or be willing to give discounts.
Once again, it comes down to all future guests, who read tripadvisor & take some time to research their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#146 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#46 of 278 in San Diego
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
2.4 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#10 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#180 of 278 in San Diego
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 2912 Garrison St, San Diego, CA 92106-2770
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly Rated - Very Reasonably Priced - American Owned and Operated Budget Motel since 1976. Budget very clean rooms with top rated beds, refrigerators and great showers! Best Price! Budget Value! Great location - one block from San Diego Harbor and minutes from the Airport - Seaword - Downtown - Zoo - Beaches and more! Friendly - professional staff ready to help with directions - boarding passes, etc. Every morning say hello to our staff over continental breakfast. - Please see over reviews. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel San Diego
Dolphin Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing