We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Haven Memorial Day”
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #128 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach Haven Memorial Day”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the 4 time i stayed here & it is nicer then ever. the staff was very friendly & helpfull,
especially Holly at the front desk. My son & I barbaqued at the pool which was a loy
t of fun. Also we were only about 200 yards from Pacific Beach Beach. The water was warm & the weather was great. I will definitly be going back. Thank you.

Sincerely
Ray Michelson

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Mr. Michelson,

We are so glad you continue to return to the Beach Haven allowing us to accommodate you on your visits to San Diego. Holly, our Front Desk Agent is a true asset to the Beach Haven staff. The proximity to the beach is just a block away. Thank you for the complimentary review and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    73
    21
    16
    22
See reviews for
80
48
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
la verne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stumbled upon this place as a last minute trip. We ended up staying a couple extra days we loved it so much. Beds were more comfortable than most 4+ star hotels we have stayed in. Great location just off the beach and an easy walk to a lot of restaurants bars etc. Nice little kitchen and a BBQ onsite if you want to stay in. Can't wait to go back again and again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Your kind comments about the Beach Haven are much appreciated. We’re so glad you “stumbled upon us” and even stayed an extra 2 nights and mentioning our proximity to the beach and plenty of restaurants in the area. The kitchens along with the BBQ really are a plus and increase your dining options. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to accommodating you again very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Brilliant location, there are funky bars, great places to eat and the beach all nearby. Fantastic value, hard to believe some of the hotels on the same block are nearly five times the price just to be beach front. The studio room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a stylish standard I hadn't expected for a US style motel. Great bed. Stylish bathroom. The whole place spotlessly clean. I. Iked the additional touches decent quality bathroom products, generous numbers of clean towels. The studio has a small kitchen and dinning area and a sofa. Quite a bargin. The noise from the road and other guests was apparent but in fact didn't ever bother me and certainly didn't interrupt my sleep.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review about the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for your comments about the location, the room, and the rates. Your apt description of the room is something we might borrow from you, with your permission, of course. The housekeepers are always pleased when a guest mentions the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathroom amenities provided. There are many fine dining establishments nearby to choose from or use the grill and barbeque, sitting poolside to enjoy your prepared meal. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you soon!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great service! Great location near beach. Room had fully equipped kitchen (pots pans utensils glasses even a corkscrew!). Outside they have a pool, a BBQ, and free parking.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. With our location only one block from the beach is one of the Beach Haven’s many fine features. The fully equipped kitchens are one of our many popular guest amenities. Plus as you mentioned there is a BBQ grill in the inner courtyard near the swimming pool and spa for guest enjoyment. We are also one of the few remaining properties with free parking and free wifi. Thank you again for your nice comments and we hope to accommodate you on any future trips you make to San Diego.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I booked a beautiful (according to the pictures) one bedroom suite for 6 nights online. Unfortunately, the suite they had for me was at the end corner of the building, which means right by the sidewalk, a few feet away from the busy/noisy Mission blvd. You open the door to your suite and you step right on the sidewalk... So I asked if I could have another suite, away from the blvd. They found one on the first floor; a much older one. The first floor feels like a basement suite and you can hear your side and upper neighbors quite well. On the living room side, I could hear the guy next door talking on his cell phone and I'm sure he could hear my TV. On the bedroom side, I could clearly hear my second neighbor snoring all night long. As for upstairs, on tile floor, you hear steps, moving chairs, etc. The bathroom had no fan, so you have to decide between opening the first floor window (back alley with many people walking by) or to steam up your suite for quite a while. The mini fridge had no shelves at all (even on the door), so I had to pile up the food; quite inconvenient...
On the bright side, the bed was very comfy, the suite fairly clean, the heating system in good working condition (but in need of cleaning) and the hot tub and pool quite nice.
Overall, the place is okay but I paid way too much for it and I would probably not stay there again. For the same price, I would try a different motel/Inn.

Room Tip: Second floor a must for privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmga2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the Beach Haven Inn.
The majority of our suites have been remodeled. The initial suite we reserved for you was located on Mission Blvd. It is a major street and I can appreciate you wanting to relocate further away from the street. The 2nd suite you occupied has had some renovation done as well. It has a walk in shower, a new pillow top mattress and box spring and, since your review, we have replaced the mini refrigerator. The property is mature but it has does have, as you allude to, an outdoor heated pool and spa in the middle of the complex which are quite nice.
Thank you again for reviewing the property and we hope you will reconsider and make a return trip to the Beach Haven Inn.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Haven Inn. The room was very clean but in serious need of renovation. The weather was particularly cold in San Diego a few weeks ago while we were there which was a problem, the room didn't have any heat. The hotel provided a small space heater but it didn't work well enough to warm the room. However, the bed was very cozy. The wall are very thin to the point where you could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. All in all I think I will reconsider staying at the Beach Haven Inn again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you have working AC or heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for the generous comments about the housekeeping staff, they work extremely diligently to make sure all guests have a clean and comfortable room upon check-in and throughout their stay. I do apologize for the primary heater not working in the room. The renovation process is an ongoing one and the staff tries to make every guest comfortable. I hope you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and provide a more pleasant stay. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calexico, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I had 2 rooms over the weekend for my daughter's birthday. Rooms were nice for our large group and included a kitchen which helped keep eating out to a minimum. Holly at the front desk was very helpful on the phone and ever better in person. Was there at our checkin and checkout and she was the only pleasent encounter we had with staff. The manager was extremely rude. Other than that we had an awesome weekend and will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Beach Haven. As you mentioned in your review, Holly is truly an asset to the Beach Haven family. The rooms you reserved with 2 queen beds and a kitchen in each room can accommodate 4 adults comfortably. It is unfortunate you considered the manager rude as he was only trying to remind your daughter and her friends of the quiet hour policy. Thank you again for writing the review and we hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#209 of 278 in San Diego
443 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 278 in San Diego
670 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#223 of 278 in San Diego
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#164 of 278 in San Diego
331 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,044 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, Beach Haven offers a family-friendly hotel experience that puts the best of the Pacific just outside your door. Enjoy an easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, and of course, the beach. Surround yourself in a sun-drenched, easy going, beach hotel experience inside and out. Enjoy the surf, stunning sunsets over the Pacific, and everything the neighborhood has to offer right here at Beach Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing