We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of PB”
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #137 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This ADORABLE little Inn right by the beach in PB is the perfect pick for a cozy beach getaway. The rooms are large, clean and the bed was heavenly. We had a big kitchenette which comes in handy for meal prep for a day at the beach.And a large living room for lounging and having cocktails post beach.
The staff went above and beyond to help with travel plans getting to and from the city. Very knowledgable and willing to assist. We are already planning our next trip back with the family!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We appreciate your kind words and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The kitchens units are very convenient especially when staying for an extended period of time. Thanks for the kind words regarding the staff and their assistance in helping you with your itinerary. We look forward to your return trip.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

When you first get to the room seems really nice. then you notice things like only one plug is newer so every outlet you try to plug into just falls out. other issue we had was we were on lower level next to the street. Which wouldnt be a problem if the blinds were long enough. felt like anyone could look into our room. also ac thermostat was not accurate at all it was warm but wouldnt come on unless I set it to low 60s so then got way to cold. other then tese issues it is great location, good staff, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VegasTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here for one night before the Rock n Roll marathon. I was a bit worried about getting a good night sleep before an early wake up but the bed was quite comfortable and the highlight of the room. The room was simple and clean and I didn't have any use for the kitchenette, but the location is outstanding. In walking distance to great restaurants and bars as well as right by the beach. The night manager was also very helpful as we tried to get our travel arrangements set for the next morning. He was able to advise us on some options as well as give us directions to the Old Town trolley station.
So overall a great location, friendly staff, decent rooms with a great bed...was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKerabatsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the 4 time i stayed here & it is nicer then ever. the staff was very friendly & helpfull,
especially Holly at the front desk. My son & I barbaqued at the pool which was a loy
t of fun. Also we were only about 200 yards from Pacific Beach Beach. The water was warm & the weather was great. I will definitly be going back. Thank you.

Sincerely
Ray Michelson

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Mr. Michelson,

We are so glad you continue to return to the Beach Haven allowing us to accommodate you on your visits to San Diego. Holly, our Front Desk Agent is a true asset to the Beach Haven staff. The proximity to the beach is just a block away. Thank you for the complimentary review and we look forward to seeing you very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stumbled upon this place as a last minute trip. We ended up staying a couple extra days we loved it so much. Beds were more comfortable than most 4+ star hotels we have stayed in. Great location just off the beach and an easy walk to a lot of restaurants bars etc. Nice little kitchen and a BBQ onsite if you want to stay in. Can't wait to go back again and again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Your kind comments about the Beach Haven are much appreciated. We’re so glad you “stumbled upon us” and even stayed an extra 2 nights and mentioning our proximity to the beach and plenty of restaurants in the area. The kitchens along with the BBQ really are a plus and increase your dining options. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to accommodating you again very soon.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Brilliant location, there are funky bars, great places to eat and the beach all nearby. Fantastic value, hard to believe some of the hotels on the same block are nearly five times the price just to be beach front. The studio room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a stylish standard I hadn't expected for a US style motel. Great bed. Stylish bathroom. The whole place spotlessly clean. I. Iked the additional touches decent quality bathroom products, generous numbers of clean towels. The studio has a small kitchen and dinning area and a sofa. Quite a bargin. The noise from the road and other guests was apparent but in fact didn't ever bother me and certainly didn't interrupt my sleep.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review about the Beach Haven Inn. Thank you for your comments about the location, the room, and the rates. Your apt description of the room is something we might borrow from you, with your permission, of course. The housekeepers are always pleased when a guest mentions the cleanliness of the rooms and the bathroom amenities provided. There are many fine dining establishments nearby to choose from or use the grill and barbeque, sitting poolside to enjoy your prepared meal. Thank you again for the wonderful comments and we hope to see you soon!

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great service! Great location near beach. Room had fully equipped kitchen (pots pans utensils glasses even a corkscrew!). Outside they have a pool, a BBQ, and free parking.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radelowgittins, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Haven Inn. With our location only one block from the beach is one of the Beach Haven’s many fine features. The fully equipped kitchens are one of our many popular guest amenities. Plus as you mentioned there is a BBQ grill in the inner courtyard near the swimming pool and spa for guest enjoyment. We are also one of the few remaining properties with free parking and free wifi. Thank you again for your nice comments and we hope to accommodate you on any future trips you make to San Diego.

Bill Nelson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#210 of 286 in San Diego
182 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 286 in San Diego
721 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#176 of 286 in San Diego
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#150 of 286 in San Diego
371 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#145 of 286 in San Diego
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £86 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of San Diego's Pacific Beach neighborhood, Beach Haven offers a family-friendly hotel experience that puts the best of the Pacific just outside your door. Enjoy an easy walk to shops, restaurants, parks, and of course, the beach. Surround yourself in a sun-drenched, easy going, beach hotel experience inside and out. Enjoy the surf, stunning sunsets over the Pacific, and everything the neighborhood has to offer right here at Beach Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing