We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nicely renovated, great staff - LOVE Pacific Beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Haven
Ranked #125 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, nicely renovated, great staff - LOVE Pacific Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was not sure where to stay upon planning my trip to SD as we had never been there before. I just knew I didn't want to stay among a million chain hotels with no personality near the freeway just to be a few minutes closer to SeaWorld ect. We had arrived after the front desk had closed (10 pm) but they left the key exactly where they said they would. They also left the lights on for us. It was a fine room. The kitchen was well equipped for what we needed. We just really needed a fridge, sink and coffee maker, but there was lots more. We had a one bedroom suite and that bed was very comfy. The bathroom was large and well equipped as well. My kids slept on the living room couch/bed. The place was overall quite clean, I would say that perhaps they should have purchased couches that were easier to clean. Ours was a little dirty, like just some food stuck on, nothing major. You have to remember that this is an older motel that has been nicely renovated, so there is a lot of layers of paint on the walls and the odd chip showed it. The staff was great. If you needed anything from housekeeping, they would give it to you. If housekeeping was gone, then the front desk would give you anything you needed. The motel is located in a fantastic area! Lots of great restaurants, the beach was a block down. Grocery stores, coffee shops ect all within walking distance. Really a great place all around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellingmommy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your fantastic review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Haven Inn.
We value the feedback from our guests and are happy to hear guests enjoying the hotel.
We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    72
    20
    16
    22
See reviews for
75
45
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here last year and after searching for days for a hotel we found this. I even cancelled my reservation at the Catamaran for it. Only because the costs were much cheaper here and the rooms were bigger! And I didn't regret it at all. The room was well maintained, I'm a very clean person and for a hotel it was very clean. The bathrooms were nice, lots of towels, the bed was nice and comfy to sleep on. And so was the pull out sofa, it was nice to have a kitchen and extra space. It was right off the beach. Lots of places within walking distance fun things to do. I will be staying here again for sure, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the five-star review and we are so proud to have provided you with an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The staff works very hard so our guests have a memorable stay and it is a joy for them when our guests post heartfelt experience.
We all look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The reviews hold true. Friendly staff great location. You can see it is old and needs work ours really needed a new bathroom, but it fit our needs for our trip perfectly and it was in a good spot to home base and tour San Diego. The only let down was the cleaning staff need a little bit of a brush up as we had one decent room make over in four days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We value the feedback from our guests and are happy to see people enjoying our hotel. We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

On a roadtrip through San Diego and needed somewhere to stay. Only a couple of hundred metres from the beach and with a hottub and swimmingpool this offered an ideal solution and within a few minutes walk from some great bars and restaurants.
Offering good value for money the rooms were clean and tidy. Although the decor could do with a few touch ups the remainder of the room was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a pleasant review for the Beach Haven inn. The staff and myself are pleased you found the accommodations to your liking and found the property a good value for your money. The swimming pool and spa, and the property location are all major assets of the property. We have renovated a number of our guestrooms since your visit and we encourage you to come back and see what we have done. I think you will love it!
Thank you again for your review!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We read all the reviews and yes this is the best bargin in the area. Staff was great, room was clean, roomy, and had all the basics. Location is A1 half a block away from the beach, short walk to all sorts of bars, restaurants, food and other shopping. EVERYTHING YOU'LL NEED IS IN WALKING DISTANCE. BEST PERK; "FREE PARKING"

Room Tip: What ever you're looking for ask the staff they know best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LarryandChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of the Beach Haven Inn. The staff and myself are pleased you considered the property a good value for the money. The staff takes pride in making each and every guest feel comfortable and welcome. As you mention, the location is a truly big asset to the property. All the necessities are at your fingertips and besides free parking we offer free wi-fi, and free laundry facilities (self-serve.) The staff and myself hope you will once again choose us for your accommodations on your next visit back to San Diego.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am from Pacific Beach and moved away (sadly) 5 years ago. On a trip back to see family, I chose to stay at the Beach Haven Inn. I've walked past this place a million times since it is across the street from what is arguably the best Taco Shop in all of SoCal (Taco Surf). This place reminds me of one of my first apartments in PB, no fancy cards to get into your room, they have keys...and deadbolts. You can clearly see that this place was not intended to be a hotel but was converted to one. That is it's charm. Rent a room, grab your board and go hit the beach. You will get a feel for what it is like to be a local. This place is a few blocks from anything you will need in PB. If you need to be pampered and have valet parking and 5star dining room...go elsewhere. If you want a nice semi quiet place to shack up while you hit the surf, sand and bars, this is the spot!

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 2nd floor. The floors are creaky so if you are downstairs, you might hear it, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vis78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome you back to Pacific Beach and appreciate your kind review of the Beach Haven Inn. We have done some upgrades to the property and will continue to do so, but the staff and myself believe the property will continue to maintain its cozy atmosphere and charm. It would be our pleasure to accommodate you again the next time you visit family and friends in your hometown of Pacific Beach. Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you soon!

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is really an amazing place. The rooms are terrific because they're all studios, which gives you a separate place to eat, sleep, watch tv or visit with guests. In addition, their prices are the lowest in the area--and their location is unbeatable: on the beach block at the most beautiful, scenic, and convenient area in Pacific Beach. Finally, the staff is exceedingly pleasant, helpful, courteous, and personable. I have stayed there for the last four years (always from Xmas through the first week of the new year) and have been consistently delighted by the location, rooms, and the way I've been treated. The only problem is that sometimes other guests are drunk, noisy, loud, and obnoxious--and their presence can certainly impair, if not altogether ruin your time there. All the rooms are in a courtyard with the pool in the middle, so if guests in the pool are loud, it's as if they're right in your own room with you. Otherwise, though, this place is an outstanding value in a great location with wonderfully hospitablel staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Beach Haven, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We really appreciate you compiling such a compelling argument for staying at the Beach Haven when visiting San Diego, more specifically Pacific Beach. A majority of the rooms do have a separate bedroom and the location is quite good! There is a terrific view at the end of the block on the boardwalk. Being elevated (on a cliff) makes for a great view to watch sunsets. The staff is interested in the guests and takes pride in making sure each and every guest feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for the generous review.

Bill Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#147 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#106 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#149 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Property: Beach Haven
Address: 4740 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Haven Inn is located in Pacific Beach just 1 block from the breathtaking Pacific Ocean. It is an ideal location for those who want to center their stay around the sun, surf, and water sports that surround our Pacific Beach hotel.We offer affordable double queen and studio rooms, plus one bedroom suites. The studios and suites in our hotel in Pacific Beach have fully equipped kitchens and are perfect for families. Our pool and spa are conveniently located in our center courtyard and our barbecue area offers an outdoor charcoal grill. Take advantage of our free high speed internet in our lobby while you enjoy the comforts of beach living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel San Diego
Beach Haven San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing