We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Ranked #33 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My daughter's wedding reception was at the Diamond View Tower Sky Box very close to Hotel Indigo. Our family and most wedding guests stayed here. We had blocks of rooms/suites, the Presidential Suite and hosted a Sunday brunch on the 9th floor patio. The hotel has a wonderful downtown, urban edge to it with a very friendly environment. Every hotel staff member we had contact with was friendly and accommodating--from the group reservations coordinator, to the front desk, to the valet, to the catering staff--everyone went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are modern and clean but cozy and many have great views of downtown--and bonus, we loved the Aveda bath products. The 9th floor patio (which is a bar at night) was a wonderful setting for our wedding brunch. It is in a very good location and I have already recommended Hotel Indigo to friends--you should stay there for a great San Diego downtown experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room--fantastic views of San Diego and the Coronado bridge. The suites are exceptiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Jeana P,

I am so happy to hear that you chose our Hotel Indigo to celebrate the wedding weekend! I will ensure that all my staff hears back about the wonderful feedback you left about our property. It is great to hear you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and our Aveda products. We cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nice, boutique hotel. Stayed here in mid-June for a few nights and really enjoyed it. Our room was on the 9th street side on the second floor and was a bit noisy the first night. They gladly changed us to a room on the inside of the block on a higher floor and it was much better.

The breakfast was good and the furnishings in the room were very nice and modern. I'd choose this place again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the block are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

4ubrey,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Indigo while in San Diego and leaving such wonderful feedback about our property. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to outside street noise, but I am relieved to hear we were able to remedy the situation and move you to a different room to better suit your needs. I will ensure my staff hears back about your wonderful feedback and we cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I loved staying here. The best part was all of the dogs that were there. If you like dogs, this place is for you! They have regular happy hours for dogs on the rooftop patio. I loved my room and how comfortable it was. The only issue I had was that there must have been a dog who shed a lot in my room before me because there was a considerable amount of dog hair on the floor. If I had an allergy it would have really bothered me. Luckily I love doggies. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Everything about it was lovely.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do not get a room on the floor with the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Rslats,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving such wonderful feedback about our Hotel Indigo. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our pet friendly property. I apologize for the inconvenience of the dog hair in your room; I will ensure my housekeeping department is aware to provide 100% clean rooms for all our guests.

Again, thank you for stopping by and writing a great review and we cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, San Diego was the last stop on our tour of California. The hotel is in an excellent location, we were upgraded to a suite the room was beautiful, really clean and modern we had an amazing view of PetCo Park. We were accommodated in every way with a very early check in, the staff were great at providing local knowledge and recommendations. Being in the Gaslamp Quarter you are in walking distance of most areas for food, drink and shopping. We look a bus easily enough from a few blocks away to San Diego Zoo. The rooftop bar was great we could snuggle up by the fire pits and drink a cocktails whilst listening to the buzz of the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again should we ever be back to San Diego.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KempersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

KempersUK,

It is wonderful to hear you chose our property to enjoy part of your honeymoon. I am extremely thrilled to hear the location accommodated you and that you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace. I will ensure my staff hears about the fantastic feedback you left about our property. We cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Last minute trip to San Diego on July 15 to pick up my son at the airport, so bid on line at Priceline and got a good deal on this hotel. Priceline only guarantees one bed, but I called and asked if we could possibly get two beds. No problem they said. Then I was even pickier and explained that although I know this is a pet friendly hotel, I was unaware of that at the time that I booked the room and my daughter has allergies. No problem they said! They put us on the third floor in a room that doesn't usually have pets and made a note to make sure that it was completely cleaned of an pet odors, etc. From the minute we arrived with valet parking to the man at check in and then the lady at check out, everybody was super nice and accomodating. My daughter and I ordered room service, very simple, a sald and buffalo wings. The food arrived in twenty minutes - WOW - that's fast for room service and the food was delicious. We needed extra towels, no problem, they arrived within five minutes of us calling the front desk. I will absolutely be back at this hotel. What a pleasant surprise and is certainly a great boutique hotel!

Room Tip: We were on third floor, elevator was quick this way and seemed very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergioVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

SergioVazquez,

Thank you for leaving such kind words about our property. I am thrilled to hear you and your son enjoyed your time at our property. I will ensure my entire staff hears back about this wonderful feedback you shared. We cannot wait to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel has a great location in downtown San Diego. It is a great location for baseball fans, only two blocks from PetCo field. Request an upper floor room - I was on the 8th floor. The front desk and valet staff were helpful. The rooms are nice and bathroom/shower is spacious.

There was a slight "clean dog" smell in my room (the smell your dog has after coming from the groomers), but it wasn't overwhelming and was to be expected in a pet friendly hotel.

Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor room. Be aware of cost of parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Bqa,


Thank you for stopping by and writing a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in San Diego! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and that both our Front Office team and Valet team were able to assist you while here.

Again, thank you for writing a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were on the 10th floor and had a gorgeous city view. Loved the huge window to look out over the city. Beds were comfy with lots of pillows. Room was very clean. Loved the modern look to the room and the big shower stall in the bathroom and Aveda bath products. Staff was very friendly and helpful when asked about places to eat. Location was awesome as we were going to see a ballgame. Roof top bar with it's gas fire pits was a great way to relax after the game. We were surprised that last call was called at 12:30am. We were 4 blocks away from the main street in the Gaslamp (5th ave.) so it was an easy walk to the restaurants and entertainment. Our coffee maker did not work in the morning, and when we called the front desk they said someone from maintenance would come up, but nobody came. That was the only irritation we had with our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaMarciaMarcia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

MarciaMarciaMarcia2,


I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in San Diego. Thank you for taking the time and writing such a lovely review about our Hotel Indigo. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our Level 9 Terrace and you loved the views from your room. I apologize that you experienced problems with the coffee maker and we were not able to remedy the situation.

I hope to see you again in the future the next time you are in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,459 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#37 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-7213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £99 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or and enjoy breathtaking views of Downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower. You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed West Bean coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing